You are not logged in.

#1 2007-06-25 14:32:45

SirShaggy
Member
Registered: 2007-06-25
Posts: 6

New install, need a little help.....

I just installed 2007.05 on the system in my signature. I think I may have chose a bad repository for pacman.  I can't seem to download any packages. I can ping google and qwest, my ISP, so I know
networking is working. I installed the bare minimum off the install CD so I could build in just what I need and want. I chose "ftp-linux.cc.gatech.edu" as my mirror. Everytime I try to get a package, I get:
"error: failed retrieving file 'alsa-lib-1.0.14rc3-2.pkg.tar.gz' from ftp-linux.cc.gatech.edu : file unavailable (e.g., file not found, no access)    I get this message for every package I try. I'd like to change mirrors to just see if this is in fact my trouble or if I have something else going wrong here. What file do I need to change and what is another mirror? I am sure I can get this to run if I can just get a working mirror.

Thanks for your time....

SirShaggy


Arch PC: Abit NF7-S v2 motherboard, AMD Athlon XP-M 2800+ CPU, Thermalright SI-97 heatsink, Corsair XMS Twinx-1024-3200-C2PT ram (2x512MB)
XFX 6800GT 256MB 8x AGP video card, Sound Blaster Live 5.1 sound card, Seagate 7200.10 300GB ATA-100 hard drive, D-Link DWL-AG530 a,b & g wifi PCI card.
Currently using Ubuntu Feisty 64 bit, Sabayon 3.3 x86_64, and Zenwalk 4.6 i686 on other PCs.

Offline

#2 2007-06-25 15:00:23

fancris3
Member
Registered: 2007-03-18
Posts: 67

Re: New install, need a little help.....

Offline

#3 2007-06-27 05:29:40

SirShaggy
Member
Registered: 2007-06-25
Posts: 6

Re: New install, need a little help.....

EDIT - UPDATE After typing this post, I got to thinking and just added the resolutions for this monitor and changed/added a few things. Then saved the file, typed startx and IT WOKED! I am now moving on, I may be back.....



OK, I have made it as far as installing the Nvidia driver, modifying /etc/X11/xorg.conf, modprobe nvidia, and then tried startx. What I get:

Fatal server error: no screens found. XIO: fatal IO error 104 (Connection reset by peer) on x server ":0.0" after 0 requests (o known processed) with 0 events remaining.

Thing is, I didn't set up anything about my screen in /etc/X11/Xorg.conf myself yet, the ArchWiki didn't tell me to or say anything about that.....
It still says this:

Section "Screen"
           Identifier    "Screen0"
           Device        "Card0"
           Monitor      "Monitor0"
           Subsection  "Display"
                      Viewport 0 0
                      Depth     1

over and over for each depth, i.e. 1, 4, 8, 15, 16 & 24.

This is where I got lost the last time I tried to do this. I found no information on how to set this part up.
I have a Hewlett Packard HPw19 19" widescreen monitor. I know the native resolution is 1400x900 and refresh is 60HZ. That is all I know.........:(

Can anybody spare the time to get me through this?? I really want to run Arch, everything this far has been pretty easy, just time consuming. I had it
setup on an old PC before, I had trouble here and a room mate got it up while I was working. Now it's just me! I know how to edit the file and what file to edit,
just not what I need to write.

Thanks, SirShaggy

Last edited by SirShaggy (2007-06-27 22:14:06)


Arch PC: Abit NF7-S v2 motherboard, AMD Athlon XP-M 2800+ CPU, Thermalright SI-97 heatsink, Corsair XMS Twinx-1024-3200-C2PT ram (2x512MB)
XFX 6800GT 256MB 8x AGP video card, Sound Blaster Live 5.1 sound card, Seagate 7200.10 300GB ATA-100 hard drive, D-Link DWL-AG530 a,b & g wifi PCI card.
Currently using Ubuntu Feisty 64 bit, Sabayon 3.3 x86_64, and Zenwalk 4.6 i686 on other PCs.

Offline

#4 2007-06-27 09:34:39

Login_Here
Member
Registered: 2007-06-27
Posts: 24

Re: New install, need a little help.....

Check this ArchWiki entry if you haven't already, more specifically section three, "Configuring Xorg", there you'll find information on how to make the initial configuration.
I usually just run xorgconfig, but that's obviously up to each user what he or she prefers.
Just a minor note if you're planning on taking the xorgconfig route, check what your monitor's vertical and horizontal refresh rates are, that took me by surprise the first time I installed Xorg, so I just guessed, there's no harm in that obviously (as long as you don't exaggerate the refresh rates, at least), but it's still better to know them beforehand (or at least be able to check them during the install) so you get the correct refresh rates for your specific screen.

Offline

#5 2007-06-27 22:13:21

SirShaggy
Member
Registered: 2007-06-25
Posts: 6

Re: New install, need a little help.....

Login_Here wrote:

Check this ArchWiki entry if you haven't already, more specifically section three, "Configuring Xorg", there you'll find information on how to make the initial configuration.
I usually just run xorgconfig, but that's obviously up to each user what he or she prefers.
Just a minor note if you're planning on taking the xorgconfig route, check what your monitor's vertical and horizontal refresh rates are, that took me by surprise the first time I installed Xorg, so I just guessed, there's no harm in that obviously (as long as you don't exaggerate the refresh rates, at least), but it's still better to know them beforehand (or at least be able to check them during the install) so you get the correct refresh rates for your specific screen.

Yes, that was part of my trouble. I didn't know the refresh rates. I got the info though. HP is good about that sort of thing. I set it up and it works! I booted straight to login, signed in and had a desktop!
Pretty cool. I have a few issues to work out, many are easy, one may not be, just don't know.


I looked at my fstab, it shows all of my devices including the cdrw drive and the dvd+/-rw drive. Thing is, K3b says that I have no drives installed. I am not sure where to start on this one.....
I chose to install a gnome desktop and gdm, but I really like K3b so I installed it. Maybe that's the issue???!!!

SirShaggy


Arch PC: Abit NF7-S v2 motherboard, AMD Athlon XP-M 2800+ CPU, Thermalright SI-97 heatsink, Corsair XMS Twinx-1024-3200-C2PT ram (2x512MB)
XFX 6800GT 256MB 8x AGP video card, Sound Blaster Live 5.1 sound card, Seagate 7200.10 300GB ATA-100 hard drive, D-Link DWL-AG530 a,b & g wifi PCI card.
Currently using Ubuntu Feisty 64 bit, Sabayon 3.3 x86_64, and Zenwalk 4.6 i686 on other PCs.

Offline

#6 2007-08-06 17:43:01

SirShaggy
Member
Registered: 2007-06-25
Posts: 6

Re: New install, need a little help.....

Well, It looks like I get to do it all again! I saw on Distrowatch there was a new version and started the download..........My hard drive died! Completely gone!! I have a new 300GB to install that I bought and never put in. I just struggle with the Xserver screen settings. That is my only real trouble at this point. I may be back for a little help today.........
SirShaggy


Arch PC: Abit NF7-S v2 motherboard, AMD Athlon XP-M 2800+ CPU, Thermalright SI-97 heatsink, Corsair XMS Twinx-1024-3200-C2PT ram (2x512MB)
XFX 6800GT 256MB 8x AGP video card, Sound Blaster Live 5.1 sound card, Seagate 7200.10 300GB ATA-100 hard drive, D-Link DWL-AG530 a,b & g wifi PCI card.
Currently using Ubuntu Feisty 64 bit, Sabayon 3.3 x86_64, and Zenwalk 4.6 i686 on other PCs.

Offline

#7 2007-08-06 20:00:15

Misfit138
Misfit Emeritus
From: USA
Registered: 2006-11-27
Posts: 4,170

Re: New install, need a little help.....

Stick with it, there's lots of people here who are able to help. Setting up xorg shouldn't be too bad, once you find the correct video drivers for your card and tweak xorg.conf

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB