You are not logged in.

#1 2004-05-18 09:57:38

mzruya
Member
Registered: 2004-05-14
Posts: 20

sound problem from before

hey .. thanks for all your help guys..
but i still can't get sound working ..
althogh there is some improvment .. i read all the manual's, especially the WIKI one.. alsa is working i can tell you that.. kde isn't giving me the error from before when starting it.
i added permission from the sound group and i can't even hear sound as root, i set all the volumes to 100% using alsamixer.
but nothing.. no sound, my chip is the CMI9739A, the alsa website doesn't have anything about it so i used alsaconf to configure..
my sound module is snd-intel8x0.

when trying to play something with xmms i get :
Message: fmt 5, channels: 2
and no error message..

i know my sound card works because in knoppix i could use it easily..

please helppp, thanks alot!

Offline

#2 2004-05-18 12:33:22

IceRAM
Member
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2004-03-04
Posts: 772
Website

Re: sound problem from before

Are you sure there's an alsa driver for your chipset?
I've checked the Alsa Project page (search link) and I can't see your chipset there. Maybe I'm missing something.

You might also check
http://amlug.org/new-projects/hwd/hwd.html

Latest pack (I think):
http://amlug.org/new-projects/hwd/packa … pkg.tar.gz
Download and install with "pacman -A pkgfile"

You can run afterwards "hwd" to detect your correct drivers.

(forum link)

Offline

#3 2004-05-18 15:23:59

mzruya
Member
Registered: 2004-05-14
Posts: 20

Re: sound problem from before

i used hwd and i told me to : modprobe snd-inte8x0..
and i didn´t find an alsa module as well but alsaconf find´s something...

Offline

#4 2004-05-18 15:56:30

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: sound problem from before

what says

more /proc/asound/module 
more /proc/asound/pcm

?

is your xmms set to use ALSA or OSS?
if OSS, what says

 more /proc/asound/oss/devices

?


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#5 2004-05-18 15:58:33

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: sound problem from before

mzruya wrote:

i set all the volumes to 100% using alsamixer.

are they muted or not? when i first time used alsamixer, i didnt realized that the MM up on the bars means muted and you have to press m to unmute it


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#6 2004-05-18 16:05:19

mzruya
Member
Registered: 2004-05-14
Posts: 20

Re: sound problem from before

[mzruya@zruya mzruya]$ more /proc/asound/module
/proc/asound/module: No such file or directory
[mzruya@zruya mzruya]$ more /proc/asound/pcm
00-00: Intel ICH : Intel ICH5 : playback 1 : capture 1
00-01: Intel ICH - MIC ADC : Intel ICH5 - MIC ADC : capture 1
00-02: Intel ICH - MIC2 ADC : Intel ICH5 - MIC2 ADC : capture 1
00-03: Intel ICH - ADC2 : Intel ICH5 - ADC2 : capture 1
00-04: Intel ICH - IEC958 : Intel ICH5 - IEC958 : playback 1

i´m using alsa in xmms, but i wouldn´t mind using oss if it worked ... the problem is not specific to xmms, i can´t play sound anywhere ..

[mzruya@zruya mzruya]$  more /proc/asound/oss/devices
  0: [0- 0]: mixer
  3: [0- 3]: digital audio
12: [0-12]: digital audio


and the sound isn´t muted becaue in the manual i set the volumes using a command with set to 100..

Offline

#7 2004-05-18 18:03:13

yak8998
Member
Registered: 2004-03-01
Posts: 143

Re: sound problem from before

try

 cat /dev/random> /dev/dsp

and see if that produces any noise, because it looks like an XMMS problem if your not getting any errors...


"Ignorance is bliss, for stupid people."
"open-source is [...] programming Darwinism."
Vaughan-Nichols

Offline

#8 2004-05-18 18:16:01

mzruya
Member
Registered: 2004-05-14
Posts: 20

Re: sound problem from before

doesn´t  produce any sounds

Offline

#9 2004-05-18 21:03:49

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: sound problem from before

mzruya wrote:

doesn´t  produce any sounds

no errors?

is there maybe anything interested in dmesg?

[mzruya@zruya mzruya]$ more /proc/asound/module
/proc/asound/module: No such file or directory

where do you load your sound-modules? in MODULES in /etc/rc.conf ? can you post that MODULES=() here?


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#10 2004-05-18 21:14:59

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: sound problem from before

Double check this one:

dp wrote:
mzruya wrote:

i set all the volumes to 100% using alsamixer.

are they muted or not? when i first time used alsamixer, i didnt realized that the MM up on the bars means muted and you have to press m to unmute it

It sounds (no pun intended) as though you have stuff playing, but the sound isn't getting through...

Dusty

Offline

#11 2004-05-18 21:23:58

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: sound problem from before

Dusty wrote:

I always blame hardware first, because GPL'd software is so reliable.  :-)

maybe here also the case? :-)


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#12 2004-05-18 21:51:00

mzruya
Member
Registered: 2004-05-14
Posts: 20

Re: sound problem from before

here it is :
MODULES=(!usbserial !ide-scsi 8139too snd-intel8x0 snd-pcm-oss nvidia )

Offline

#13 2004-05-19 01:12:14

lanrat
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2003-10-28
Posts: 1,274

Re: sound problem from before

Please check bug tracking and mailing list archives from alsa project page like:
https://bugtrack.alsa-project.org/alsa- … id=0000110
http://www.mail-archive.com/cgi-bin/hts … s=CMI9739A
http://www.mail-archive.com/cgi-bin/hts … s=CMI9739A

It really sound's like hardware/alsa specific problem. I think that if you won't find an answer you can send them another bug report.

Offline

#14 2004-05-19 07:30:15

mzruya
Member
Registered: 2004-05-14
Posts: 20

Re: sound problem from before

i have an idea ..
like i said before, distroś like knoppix automaticlly configure my sound .. so maybe if i boot them i could steal some config files that will help m e ?

if so which files should i copy ?

Offline

#15 2004-05-19 07:57:03

mzruya
Member
Registered: 2004-05-14
Posts: 20

Re: sound problem from before

this is what hwd gives me :
Soundcard  : Intel Corp.|82801EB AC'97 Audio Controller driver: snd-intel8x0  Alsa: No

Offline

#16 2004-05-19 11:56:12

kpiche
Forum Fellow
From: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Registered: 2004-03-30
Posts: 246
Website

Re: sound problem from before

What's the output of lsmod and amixer?

Offline

#17 2004-05-19 18:14:56

yak8998
Member
Registered: 2004-03-01
Posts: 143

Re: sound problem from before

aren't you supposed to load snd-pcm-oss before snd-(DRIVER) ???


"Ignorance is bliss, for stupid people."
"open-source is [...] programming Darwinism."
Vaughan-Nichols

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB