You are not logged in.

#1 2004-05-15 18:40:17

kleptophobiac
Member
From: Sunnyvale, CA
Registered: 2004-04-25
Posts: 481

I can start twm, but nothing else

Well, I can start twm with no issues, but switch over to kde, and it doesn't work. I run startx, get a blank screen, and a kickback to the console.

Here's the output from the command:
Release Date: 29 February 2004
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0, Release 6.6
Build Operating System: Linux 2.6.5 i686 [ELF]
Current Operating System: Linux T41p 2.6.6 #1 Sat May 15 13:26:52 EST 2004 i686
Build Date: 26 April 2004
Changelog Date: 29 February 2004
        Before reporting problems, check http://www.XFree86.Org/
        to make sure that you have the latest version.
Module Loader present
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
        (++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
        (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/XFree86.0.log", Time: Sat May 15 13:29:27 2004
(==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/XF86Config"
Could not init font path element /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/local/, removing from list!

XFree86 Version 4.4.0
Release Date: 29 February 2004
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0, Release 6.6
Build Operating System: Linux 2.6.5 i686 [ELF]
Current Operating System: Linux T41p 2.6.6 #1 Sat May 15 13:26:52 EST 2004 i686
Build Date: 26 April 2004
Changelog Date: 29 February 2004
        Before reporting problems, check http://www.XFree86.Org/
        to make sure that you have the latest version.
Module Loader present
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
        (++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
        (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/XFree86.0.log", Time: Sat May 15 13:33:20 2004
(==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/XF86Config"

Could not init font path element /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/local/, removing from list!

Funny. The top one works fine. The bottom one doesn't work at all. Can you tell the difference? The xfree86 log is no more illuminating.

This is on an FTP install of arch that I did this morning. I'm using an IBM Thinkpad T41p. It has an ATi FireGL T2-128, and I'm using the DRI drivers.

Offline

#2 2004-05-15 23:21:38

zeppelin
Member
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2004-03-05
Posts: 807
Website

Re: I can start twm, but nothing else

kleptophobiac wrote:

Well, I can start twm with no issues, but switch over to kde, and it doesn't work. I run startx, get a blank screen, and a kickback to the console.

not sure but pacman -Sy kde xfce4 [because it's small download] and you can try if latest kde is ok with you.
if not pacman -Su

I can't find any problems in your log.
and if twm starts and works ok, then the problem is not in the Xserver [IMHO]. btw get X.org server [in testing]

didn't you hear the Xfree86 is dead?

Offline

#3 2004-05-16 03:16:24

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: I can start twm, but nothing else

zeppelin wrote:

didn't you hear the Xfree86 is dead?

I never heard that... did they close the project?  no news on their home page...

As far as Arch is concerned, Xfree86 is currently "more supported" than X.org. That's why X.org is in testing and Xfree86 is in stable. Having said that, there is a good chance they will be trading places. smile

Dusty

Offline

#4 2004-05-16 08:18:31

zeppelin
Member
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2004-03-05
Posts: 807
Website

Re: I can start twm, but nothing else

what I meant by dead, is that noone uses it. except from SlackWare that soon will also switch to X.org

well I'm not sure why it's in testing, but I can tell you that it works.
I think that X.org pkg doesn't provide the xf86config script, but you can save you XF86Config file and just use that one

Offline

#5 2004-05-16 14:27:45

kleptophobiac
Member
From: Sunnyvale, CA
Registered: 2004-04-25
Posts: 481

Re: I can start twm, but nothing else

I already have fluxbox, kde, and xfce4 installed from pacman. None work. Only twm will actually result in a successful start. I'm not so dumb as to try and run something that I didn't install... tongue

Offline

#6 2004-05-16 15:17:28

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: I can start twm, but nothing else

how do your
/etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc
and
~/.xinitrc

look like?


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#7 2004-05-16 16:47:16

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: I can start twm, but nothing else

zeppelin wrote:

what I meant by dead, is that noone uses it. except from SlackWare that soon will also switch to X.org

I'm using it.


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#8 2004-05-16 16:53:42

zeppelin
Member
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2004-03-05
Posts: 807
Website

Re: I can start twm, but nothing else

Xentac wrote:
zeppelin wrote:

what I meant by dead, is that noone uses it. except from SlackWare that soon will also switch to X.org

I'm using it.

I'm fine. "how are you?" (tm)

kleptophobiac,
ok I never said you were a dumb. I just find it weird that all but twm don't work and I proposed to you to get the latest pacman -Su

anyways.. good luck solving this out.

Offline

#9 2004-05-16 22:26:08

FireTalon
Member
Registered: 2004-05-11
Posts: 10

Re: I can start twm, but nothing else

same here

Offline

#10 2004-05-16 22:58:04

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: I can start twm, but nothing else

Xentac wrote:
zeppelin wrote:

what I meant by dead, is that noone uses it. except from SlackWare that soon will also switch to X.org

I'm using it.

me too.

Offline

#11 2004-05-16 22:59:09

kleptophobiac
Member
From: Sunnyvale, CA
Registered: 2004-04-25
Posts: 481

Re: I can start twm, but nothing else

I don't have any init's in my home, but my xinitrc ends in "startkde&" and it fails. when I revert to twm, it works fine. I'm so confused.

Also, since it was a fresh installation, I had the newest everything.

pacman -Syu yields nothing new right now.

Offline

#12 2004-05-16 23:24:50

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: I can start twm, but nothing else

Try not starting it in background; my xinitrc says:

startkde

and I think it worked... been a long time since I used either xinitrc or kde though.

I don't know how this would work, but would it be possible to capture the output of the kde command to see what error you're getting (besides with X...)? Something like this in your .xinitrc:

startkde 2>&1 > ~/kdelog

Or is that right? damn, I can't remember where the & goes in those stream redirections!

Are you testing as root or normal user? If it doesn't work as root it must not be a permission problem.  Good to know *some* problem that it *isn't*! :-D

Dusty

Offline

#13 2004-05-17 01:34:35

kleptophobiac
Member
From: Sunnyvale, CA
Registered: 2004-04-25
Posts: 481

Re: I can start twm, but nothing else

tried as root, no dice. sad

twm starts as background, so I figured that it had to be right.  :?:

Offline

#14 2004-05-18 23:07:16

kleptophobiac
Member
From: Sunnyvale, CA
Registered: 2004-04-25
Posts: 481

Re: I can start twm, but nothing else

Interesting, backgrounding it was what was breaking it. Why does it work for twm?

Offline

#15 2004-06-07 16:27:53

bogomipz
Member
From: Oslo, Norway
Registered: 2003-11-23
Posts: 169

Re: I can start twm, but nothing else

kleptophobiac wrote:

Interesting, backgrounding it was what was breaking it. Why does it work for twm?

Because in the default xinitrc twm isn't the last thing to be started. When the xinitrc script ends the X server goes down, so in the default setup (which is really just a stupid example to show the concept, i mean it starts three xterms!) you close down X by logging out of that last xterm. Normally you want your WM to be on the last line and everything else to start in the background before that point.

And btw; exec means replace the current process image with a new one, so that's nice to use on the last line of xinitrc, because you'll then end up with one process less than if you spawned the WM as a new process.


All of your mips are belong to us!!

Offline

#16 2004-06-08 00:21:34

lanrat
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2003-10-28
Posts: 1,274

Re: I can start twm, but nothing else

There are also other ways to start wm (and not only) from xinitrc/xsession. If you are interested read last post in skippy's thread http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php? … highlight=

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB