You are not logged in.

#1 2007-08-21 19:39:07

MetalRandomist
Member
Registered: 2007-08-16
Posts: 30

"[Package] Is Not Availible for the 'i686' Architecture"

Is there either a fast way to insert "arch=('i686')" in every PKGBUILD that doesn't have one or make srcpac ignore that error and just assume "i686' if there's not an an 'arch' in the PKGBUILD because I want to rebuild the whole system (or at least most of it), but don't want to have to bother trying to find each and every single installed package that won't compile because of that error and edit them one by one.

Offline

#2 2007-08-22 07:10:47

drakosha
Member
Registered: 2006-01-03
Posts: 253
Website

Re: "[Package] Is Not Availible for the 'i686' Architecture"

You can use some scripting. For example if the PKGBUILDS are in directory "dir", you can use:

for f in `find -name PKGBUILD dir`
do
echo "arch=('i686')" >> "$f"
done

or something similar

Offline

#3 2007-08-22 15:21:35

mac57
Member
From: St. Somewhere
Registered: 2006-01-06
Posts: 302
Website

Re: "[Package] Is Not Availible for the 'i686' Architecture"

I just ran into this yesterday, attempting an AUR build of camstream (a webcam test program). Why, oh why, would someone put something into AUR that was lacking this basic line? Arch is supposed to be 686 optimized. That is one of its "selling points".


Cast off the Microsoft shackles Jan 2005

Offline

#4 2007-08-22 15:41:48

shining
Pacman Developer
Registered: 2006-05-10
Posts: 2,043

Re: "[Package] Is Not Availible for the 'i686' Architecture"

mac57 wrote:

I just ran into this yesterday, attempting an AUR build of camstream (a webcam test program). Why, oh why, would someone put something into AUR that was lacking this basic line? Arch is supposed to be 686 optimized. That is one of its "selling points".

Because this line wasn't required when these PKGBUILDs went in.
It was added after for making the i686 / x86_64 distinction

Last edited by shining (2007-08-22 15:42:24)


pacman roulette : pacman -S $(pacman -Slq | LANG=C sort -R | head -n $((RANDOM % 10)))

Offline

#5 2007-08-23 19:33:32

mac57
Member
From: St. Somewhere
Registered: 2006-01-06
Posts: 302
Website

Re: "[Package] Is Not Availible for the 'i686' Architecture"

Ahhh.... that makes sense. Thanks shining!


Cast off the Microsoft shackles Jan 2005

Offline

#6 2007-08-24 01:16:23

stonecrest
Member
From: Boulder
Registered: 2005-01-22
Posts: 1,190

Re: "[Package] Is Not Availible for the 'i686' Architecture"

It makes sense why the lines don't exist in the PKGBUILDs, but it doesn't explain why someone didn't just run a little bash script on all the PKGBUILDs back when the new pacman was released. Clearly all PKGBUILDs up until this point were i686 compatible.

Last edited by stonecrest (2007-08-24 01:16:45)


I am a gated community.

Offline

#7 2007-08-24 09:41:02

shining
Pacman Developer
Registered: 2006-05-10
Posts: 2,043

Re: "[Package] Is Not Availible for the 'i686' Architecture"

stonecrest wrote:

It makes sense why the lines don't exist in the PKGBUILDs, but it doesn't explain why someone didn't just run a little bash script on all the PKGBUILDs back when the new pacman was released. Clearly all PKGBUILDs up until this point were i686 compatible.

Indeed.. Maybe there are some things we don't know about which made this too difficult? I don't know..


pacman roulette : pacman -S $(pacman -Slq | LANG=C sort -R | head -n $((RANDOM % 10)))

Offline

#8 2007-08-24 20:14:27

somairotevoli
Member
Registered: 2006-05-23
Posts: 335

Re: "[Package] Is Not Availible for the 'i686' Architecture"

I just have arch=('i686') added to my /etc/makepkg.conf

Offline

#9 2007-08-26 07:48:56

jae1227
Member
Registered: 2007-02-22
Posts: 31

Re: "[Package] Is Not Availible for the 'i686' Architecture"

somairotevoli wrote:

I just have arch=('i686') added to my /etc/makepkg.conf

Thank-you so very much. I just began using aurbuild but about every other package was failing because there was no arch=('i686') line present. So that meant that I could not use aurbuild and had to manuely build and install the PKGBUILD. Now that I edited my /etc/makepkg.conf aurbuild works great. Thanks again.

Offline

#10 2007-08-26 07:57:04

gothmog.todi
Member
From: Austria
Registered: 2007-07-18
Posts: 120

Re: "[Package] Is Not Availible for the 'i686' Architecture"

jae1227 wrote:

I just began using aurbuild but about every other package was failing because there was no arch=('i686') line present. So that meant that I could not use aurbuild and had to manuely build and install the PKGBUILD.

You can use aurbuild even when the arch=('i686') is missing. You just have to select "View/Edit PKGBUILD" and add the line yourself. Afterwards you can use "B" to build the package as before.

Offline

#11 2007-08-27 22:45:12

jae1227
Member
Registered: 2007-02-22
Posts: 31

Re: "[Package] Is Not Availible for the 'i686' Architecture"

gothmog.todi wrote:
jae1227 wrote:

I just began using aurbuild but about every other package was failing because there was no arch=('i686') line present. So that meant that I could not use aurbuild and had to manuely build and install the PKGBUILD.

You can use aurbuild even when the arch=('i686') is missing. You just have to select "View/Edit PKGBUILD" and add the line yourself. Afterwards you can use "B" to build the package as before.

That makes sense. I am still pretty new to aurbuild. Thanks for the help.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB