You are not logged in.

#1 2004-05-16 16:17:55

Zym0tiC
Member
Registered: 2004-01-17
Posts: 40
Website

Running arch on a laptop

I installed Arch on my laptop:
HP xe4500
P4-M 1700MHz

Now I'm playing with acpi and cpu throttling. I remember from slackware that I could cat /proc/acpi/processor/CPU0/throttling and get some values.
Don't ask me what exactly. I also know that it was possible to echo "2" to a file so I could switch to a different CPU level (1200 or 1700)

When I do a cat /proc/acpi/processor/CPU0/throttling I get an error: "<not supported>".
When I boot my laptop I see:

cpufreq: *P0: 1700 MHz, 20000 mW, 250 uS
cpufreq: P1: 1200 MHz, 10000 mW, 250 uS

I looked in the kernel source after seeing this message and found cpufreq so I compiled it into my new kernel.

Finaly I installed cpufreqd. At this moment it seems that everything works well. When I plugin and plugout my accu and do a cat /proc/cpuinfo I see that the speed switches.

Does arch handles PM / throttling in a differnt way then slackware?

And is this the right way to handle my laptop?

Offline

#2 2004-05-18 12:09:58

xor
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2003-03-20
Posts: 71

Re: Running arch on a laptop

Hi Zym0tiC
cat /proc/acpi/processor/CPU0/throttling seems to be working on my machine.
To change it on my Dell D600 I have to do: echo "2" >/proc/acpi/processor/CPU0/throttling
Not much help, atleast we know that it is working.

/xor

Offline

#3 2004-05-18 13:18:05

Zym0tiC
Member
Registered: 2004-01-17
Posts: 40
Website

Re: Running arch on a laptop

xor wrote:

Hi Zym0tiC
cat /proc/acpi/processor/CPU0/throttling seems to be working on my machine.
To change it on my Dell D600 I have to do: echo "2" >/proc/acpi/processor/CPU0/throttling
Not much help, atleast we know that it is working.

/xor

I have some questions:

Did you use the default arch kernel? kernel 2.6.x or 2.4.x?
Do you use acpi / acpid / cpufreqd?

thanx for reading so far smile

Offline

#4 2004-05-21 09:53:47

xor
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2003-03-20
Posts: 71

Re: Running arch on a laptop

Sorry for late reply!
I'm using cpufreqd 1.1.2-1 and vanilla 2.6.6 kernel.
/xor

Offline

#5 2004-05-21 12:02:07

Zym0tiC
Member
Registered: 2004-01-17
Posts: 40
Website

Re: Running arch on a laptop

xor wrote:

Sorry for late reply!
I'm using cpufreqd 1.1.2-1 and vanilla 2.6.6 kernel.
/xor

no hard feelings here smile

same setup as me.

Buth what if cpufreq will be out of the kernel soon or late. That userspace (performace / powersave)  stuff won't work here for some reason

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB