You are not logged in.

#1 2007-08-24 18:59:23

DonVla
Member
From: Bonn, Germany
Registered: 2007-06-07
Posts: 997

my conky and rox layout:

hello,

this thread answers some questions from this thread http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=36457
yes, the statistics line at the top is conky. it's a pretty simple setup. just everything written in line w/ "|" as separators.
the .conkyrc:

# Conky sample configuration
#
# the list of variables has been removed from this file in favour
# of keeping the documentation more maintainable.
# Check http://conky.sf.net for an up-to-date-list.

# set to yes if you want Conky to be forked in the background
background yes

# X font when Xft is disabled, you can pick one with program xfontsel
#font 5x7
#font 6x10
#font 7x13
#font 8x13
#font 9x15
#font *mintsmild.se*
#font -*-*-*-*-*-*-34-*-*-*-*-*-*-*

# Use Xft?
use_xft yes

# Xft font when Xft is enabled
#xftfont Tahoma:size=10
#xftfont arial:size=11
xftfont architecture:size=15

# Text alpha when using Xft
xftalpha 1.0

# mail spool
mail_spool $MAIL

# Update interval in seconds
update_interval 2.0

# This is the number of times Conky will update before quitting.
# Set to zero to run forever.
total_run_times 0

# Create own window instead of using desktop (required in nautilus)
own_window no

# If own_window is yes, you may use type normal, desktop or override
own_window_type normal

# Use pseudo transparency with own_window?
own_window_transparent yes

# If own_window_transparent is set to no, you can set the background colour here
own_window_colour hotpink

# If own_window is yes, these window manager hints may be used
#own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager

# Use double buffering (reduces flicker, may not work for everyone)
double_buffer yes

# Minimum size of text area
minimum_size 3 3

# Draw shades?
draw_shades no

# Draw outlines?
draw_outline no

# Draw borders around text
draw_borders no

# Draw borders around graphs
draw_graph_borders yes

# Stippled borders?
stippled_borders 8

# border margins
border_margin 4

# border width
border_width 1

# Default colors and also border colors
default_color 080808
default_shade_color 213129
default_outline_color black

# Text alignment, other possible values are commented
alignment top_left
#alignment top_right
#alignment bottom_left
#alignment bottom_right
#alignment none

# Gap between borders of screen and text
# same thing as passing -x at command line
gap_x 2
gap_y 15

# Subtract file system buffers from used memory?
no_buffers yes

# set to yes if you want all text to be in uppercase
uppercase no

# number of cpu samples to average
# set to 1 to disable averaging
cpu_avg_samples 2

# number of net samples to average
# set to 1 to disable averaging
net_avg_samples 2

# Force UTF8? note that UTF8 support required XFT
override_utf8_locale yes

# Add spaces to keep things from moving about?  This only affects certain objects.
use_spacer no

# Allow each port monitor to track at most this many connections (if 0 or not set, default is 256)
#max_port_monitor_connections 256

# Maximum number of special things, e.g. fonts, offsets, aligns, etc.
#max_specials 512

# Maximum size of buffer for user text, i.e. below TEXT line.
#max_user_text 16384

# variable is given either in format $variable or in ${variable}. Latter
# allows characters right after the variable and must be used in network
# stuff because of an argument

# stuff after 'TEXT' will be formatted on screen

TEXT
       ${time %d.%m.%y  %H:%M:%S}  |  $loadavg  |  Proc: $processes/$running_processes  |  CPU: $cpu %  |  RAM: $mem/$memmax  |  Swap: $swap/$swapmax  |  DiskIO: $color$diskio  |  In:  ${downspeed eth0} k/s  ${upspeed eth0} k/s  |  Ex:  ${upspeed eth1} k/s  ${downspeed eth1} k/s  |  Cpu:$color ${exec expr `cat /sys/bus/i2c/devices/0-002d/temp2_input` / 1000} C  Mb:$color ${exec expr `cat /sys/bus/i2c/devices/0-002d/temp1_input` / 1000} C

       $color  slash ${color grey}           $color${fs_used /} ${color grey}       -       $color${fs_free /}  
       $color  var ${color grey}              $color${fs_used /var} ${color grey}      -       $color${fs_free /var}
       $color  vlad ${color grey}            $color${fs_used /home/vlad} ${color grey}    -       $color${fs_free /home/vlad}

font is architecture:size=15. i don't know where i got it from. i collect fonts since my windows days, which are long gone....
the icons are called concept or somehow similar and i got the from (where all good icons come from) http://search.deviantart.com .
i've searched them a little, but i can't find them again... (i think j3concepts made them)

Could u also elaborate this line < pixmap_path "~/.icons/panel_icons/icons_2" > ?

you tell rox to search in this directory for icons. the directory (panel_icons/icons_2) is an arbitrary dir for putting my own icon themes together.
the panel at bottom is wbar. a brilliantly small panel for light-weight desktops/wm. http://freshmeat.net/projects/wbar/?bra … _id=259132
some more screens:
http://img444.imageshack.us/my.php?imag … 24aqd0.png
i'm running openbox3.4, wallpaper from desktopography.

i think that's all, folks!

vlad

ps:
i forgot the gtk2 and openbox theme is dyne:
http://www.gnome-look.org/content/show. … tent=61936
http://www.box-look.org/content/show.ph … tent=62000
the openbox theme is tweaked by my for my likings. i _really_ like the stuff made by lyrae:
http://www.box-look.org/usermanager/sea … n=contents

i think that's all, folks!

Last edited by DonVla (2007-08-24 19:05:39)

Offline

#2 2007-08-26 08:34:46

mucknert
Member
From: Berlin // Germany
Registered: 2006-06-27
Posts: 510

Re: my conky and rox layout:

Use a private message or the original thread for it.


Todays mistakes are tomorrows catastrophes.

Offline

#3 2007-08-26 11:24:44

DonVla
Member
From: Bonn, Germany
Registered: 2007-06-07
Posts: 997

Re: my conky and rox layout:

what is this part of the forum for???

Offline

#4 2007-08-26 19:43:48

MrWeatherbee
Member
Registered: 2007-08-01
Posts: 266

Re: my conky and rox layout:

mucknert wrote:

Use a private message or the original thread for it.

Bored much?

If he uses the original thread, then he's hijacked the original by going way off topic. If he uses a PM, then no one besides the person receiving the PM benefits from the information that he provides. He chose an appropriate method for handling the situation ... note "he chose" not "mucknert chose for him".

Offline

#5 2007-08-26 20:06:26

MrWeatherbee
Member
Registered: 2007-08-01
Posts: 266

Re: my conky and rox layout:

DonVla wrote:

hello,

yes, the statistics line at the top is conky. it's a pretty simple setup. just everything written in line w/ "|" as separators.
the .conkyrc:

<snip>

One suggestion I'd like to make for the .conkyrc you posted is that using:

use_spacer yes

is very helpful, especially in single-line / horizontal conky set-ups* where monitors' changing width can be more visually apparent / displeasing. Of course, this is only helpful with monospace fonts.

Also, if I may, I normally use a vertical conky layout which allows for much more information / monitors to be used. With single-line horizontals, you are much more limited in what will fit across the screen. As such, I created this script which toggles between various "conkyrc" files:

#!/bin/sh
##----------------
##Script Name: toggle_conky
##Description of Script: toggle launch / close of conky
##Date: 2007 0826
#-----------------

conkypid="$(pidof -s conky)"

conkyrc_1="$HOME/.conkyrc"
conkyrc_2="$HOME/.conkyrc_HORIZMain"
conkyrc_3="$HOME/.conkyrc_HORIZHwStatus"
conkyrc_4="$HOME/.conkyrc_HORIZDisks"

tmpfile="/tmp/myconky_status"

# run conkyrc default
function conky_1 {
    conky -c $conkyrc_1 &
    echo '2' > $tmpfile
}

# run alternate 2 conkyrc 
function conky_2 {
    kill -15 $conkypid
    conky -c $conkyrc_2 &
    echo '3' > $tmpfile
}

# run alternate 3 conkyrc 
function conky_3 {
    kill -15 $conkypid
    conky -c $conkyrc_3 &
    echo '4' > $tmpfile
}

# run alternate 3 conkyrc 
function conky_4 {
    kill -15 $conkypid
    conky -c $conkyrc_4 &
    echo '100' > $tmpfile
}

# quit conky 
function conky_100 {
    kill -15 $conkypid
    rm -f $tmpfile
}


if [ -z "$conkypid" ] ; then
    conky_status="1"
elif [ -n "$conkypid" ] && [ -f "$tmpfile" ] ; then
    conky_status=$(cat $tmpfile)
fi

case "$conky_status" in
    1)
            conky_1
        ;;
    2)
            conky_2
        ;;
    3)
            conky_3
            ;;
    4)
            conky_4
            ;;
        100)
            conky_100
            ;;
esac

exit

Just create a desktop or panel launcher (or whatever you might use for a particular DE) pointing to the script. In this example, clicking the launcher:

- the first time = launching default conky w / default conkyrc
- the second time = launching horizontal conky w / .conkyrc_HORIZMain
- the third time = launching horizontal conky w / .conkyrc_HORIZHwStatus
- the fourth time = launching horizontal conky w / .conkyrc_HORIZDisks
- the fifth time = quitting conky

By using the script, you can keep the minimalist horizontal set-up while retaining flexibility of switching monitors simply by clicking the launch icon (of course you have to also prepare separate conkyrc files). By creating more conkyrc files and modifying the script to accommodate them, you could "rotate" between any number of conky layouts to suit your needs.

Just thought I'd throw this out there.

* Note: I realize that you aren't using a single-line horizontal layout based on your posted conkyrc, but from the screenshot in the original post, it appeared that way to viewers of the screenshot because you had open windows covering the other areas.

Last edited by MrWeatherbee (2007-08-26 20:28:51)

Offline

#6 2007-08-27 09:22:34

mucknert
Member
From: Berlin // Germany
Registered: 2006-06-27
Posts: 510

Re: my conky and rox layout:

MrWeatherbee wrote:

Bored much?

If he uses the original thread, then he's hijacked the original by going way off topic. If he uses a PM, then no one besides the person receiving the PM benefits from the information that he provides. He chose an appropriate method for handling the situation ... note "he chose" not "mucknert chose for him".

Yeah, after reading again you are probably right. Bear with me, I didn't have enough sleep. smile


Todays mistakes are tomorrows catastrophes.

Offline

#7 2007-08-29 10:42:44

Don-DiZzLe
Member
From: Nederland
Registered: 2007-03-31
Posts: 233

Re: my conky and rox layout:

I found this: http://rox.sourceforge.net/desktop/node/180 on changing the toolbar icons in ROX, I want to use tango icons for the toolbar but where do I find those icons listed there? i couldn't find them in the Tango folder.

Offline

#8 2007-08-29 11:00:04

droog
Member
Registered: 2004-11-18
Posts: 877

Re: my conky and rox layout:

You will have to download the tango icon set, unless you already have it. extract it and go to the 24x24 actions folder. Rename the ones you want to use to the names on that .gtkrc file ie.

pixmap_path "/home/username/.icons/rox"
style "normal" {
  stock["gtk-close"] = {{"close-icon.png"}}

then copy the renamed icons to /home/username/.icons/rox

Offline

#9 2007-08-29 12:12:09

Don-DiZzLe
Member
From: Nederland
Registered: 2007-03-31
Posts: 233

Re: my conky and rox layout:

ok, whatabout USB sticks, how do I access them, is that the only way as described on ROX site with hal, ivman and pmount?

Offline

#10 2007-08-29 12:19:04

Sigi
Member
From: Thurgau, Switzerland
Registered: 2005-09-22
Posts: 1,121

Re: my conky and rox layout:

you can also put an entry in /etc/fstab with "noauto" and mount with a click on the desired mount dir... I hope it's not too hard to follow my description. Just ask if things are unclear...


Dammit, haven't been here in a while. Still rocking Arch. smile

Offline

#11 2007-08-29 12:38:16

Don-DiZzLe
Member
From: Nederland
Registered: 2007-03-31
Posts: 233

Re: my conky and rox layout:

ok I get it, but what's the correct line for it. Usually when i input my USB stick it appears as /dev/sdc, so something like this then?

/dev/sdc /mnt/USB  iso9660   ro,user,noauto,unhide   0      0

Offline

#12 2007-08-29 13:39:57

DonVla
Member
From: Bonn, Germany
Registered: 2007-06-07
Posts: 997

Re: my conky and rox layout:

Don-DiZzLe wrote:

ok I get it, but what's the correct line for it. Usually when i input my USB stick it appears as /dev/sdc, so something like this then?

/dev/sdc /mnt/USB  iso9660   ro,user,noauto,unhide   0      0

hi Don-DiZzLe,

sorry my rox icon explanation could have been more detailed.
in my fstab i have smth like

/dev/sda1   /media/usb              auto        rw,user,noauto,noatime    0      0
/dev/sda1   /home/vlad/stock        auto        rw,user,noauto,noatime     0      0

i have directly a mountpoint in my home dir. i think it's more convenient. i don't have hal or similar running. i just klick on the mountpoint icon and rox mounts my usb or cd-rom automatically.
rox is actually really cool. when you run

rox /path/to/mountpoint

it mounts and then opens the directory.

vlad

Offline

#13 2007-08-31 09:42:02

Don-DiZzLe
Member
From: Nederland
Registered: 2007-03-31
Posts: 233

Re: my conky and rox layout:

Does anyone use ROX-Session. everytime I start it, I loose my gtk theme settings even though it is specified in my .gtkrc2.0, can anyone confirm this?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB