You are not logged in.

#26 2007-09-06 02:08:55

louipc
Member
Registered: 2006-10-09
Posts: 85

Re: xorg is not in the repos!

I would like to express my opinion that it's a very bad move to remove the xorg package. Bring it back please!

Offline

#27 2007-09-06 02:41:36

Misfit138
Misfit Emeritus
From: USA
Registered: 2006-11-27
Posts: 4,170

Re: xorg is not in the repos!

louipc wrote:

I would like to express my opinion that it's a very bad move to remove the xorg package. Bring it back please!

I agree, I truly hope it can be replaced. Can both options co-exist? I really like the xorg meta-package.

Offline

#28 2007-09-06 02:47:55

shen
Member
Registered: 2003-09-05
Posts: 272
Website

Re: xorg is not in the repos!

It's still there in cvs so shouldn't be to tough to put it back...

Offline

#29 2007-09-06 06:38:23

Mikko777
Member
From: Suomi, Finland
Registered: 2006-10-30
Posts: 837

Re: xorg is not in the repos!

Don't kill xorg please, pulling that package makes the crappiest part of linux (xorg) even more crappier. wink

Offline

#30 2007-09-06 06:51:59

Allan
Developer
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,438
Website

Re: xorg is not in the repos!

Note also that the will need to be some other package clean-up if this is removed.  xfce-utils depends on xorg (probably wrongly)  but we don't this causing to many troubles in the meantime.

Online

#31 2007-09-06 06:52:17

tkjacobsen
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 2007-07-07
Posts: 29

Re: xorg is not in the repos!

shining wrote:
nesl247 wrote:

Ah, how about use functionality in pacman, you know, that thing called groups? Just create an xorg group for the stuff that used to be a meta package.

I would like to know what others think about that, it might be a good idea.

I think creating a group would b a VERY good idea. Then people can use it a basis for their installation -- and they can choose not to install eg. vesa if they want. It is so much easier to opt out one or two options than to remember all the needed packages.

Last edited by tkjacobsen (2007-09-06 06:53:28)


To save time, reboot your computer in the background using "reboot &"

Offline

#32 2007-09-06 08:27:32

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: xorg is not in the repos!

tkjacobsen wrote:
shining wrote:
nesl247 wrote:

Ah, how about use functionality in pacman, you know, that thing called groups? Just create an xorg group for the stuff that used to be a meta package.

I would like to know what others think about that, it might be a good idea.

I think creating a group would b a VERY good idea. Then people can use it a basis for their installation -- and they can choose not to install eg. vesa if they want. It is so much easier to opt out one or two options than to remember all the needed packages.

Even if a group is a better idea, the procedure is to implement the group, then remove the xorg package. Not the other way around. You don't shut down a web server because you don't like it, and replace it a week later. You prepare the replacement and changeover.

James

Offline

#33 2007-09-06 08:37:53

e77onX
Member
Registered: 2007-09-06
Posts: 4

Re: xorg is not in the repos!

Hi!
Some hours ago i give arch install dc to my friend and the beginners install guide. Sure He cant install because of xorg.  -_-
And now i try to make a livecd with special apps because I need it to work ... and larch dont work cause xorg is not in the database...  -_-
I dont have enought knowledge to solv this problem, so pls put xorg back.

sorry for my bad english

regards:
e77onX

Offline

#34 2007-09-06 11:25:33

Xilon
Member
Registered: 2007-01-01
Posts: 243

Re: xorg is not in the repos!

I think a group would be a good solution. Though it's a bit difficult to do it "properly", since usually you'd have everything belonging to xorg in that group, not a select few packages. To replace the metapackage there could be a "xorg-basic" group, or something like that, which would have all the packages that xorg depended on.

Offline

#35 2007-09-06 14:24:01

oli
Member
From: 127.0.0.1
Registered: 2006-02-07
Posts: 164
Website

Re: xorg is not in the repos!

It's a long road for some developers to actually master UNIX, it depends on experience, lot of experience. And it shouldn't be per aspera ad astra, some hell for the user. In recent time it's hard to see this experience anymore.


Use UNIX or die.

Offline

#36 2007-09-06 14:55:58

STiAT
Member
From: Vienna, Austria
Registered: 2004-12-23
Posts: 603

Re: xorg is not in the repos!

Well, there is another problem with the meta package disappearing.

There are applications in the [extra] repo, which depend on xorg. In example, the xfce4 meta package, or rather xfce-utils depends on the xorg meta package, meaning that it won't install by now.

Yours,
Georg

Last edited by STiAT (2007-09-06 14:56:22)


Ability is nothing without opportunity.

Offline

#37 2007-09-06 15:33:41

tkjacobsen
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 2007-07-07
Posts: 29

Re: xorg is not in the repos!

currently 3 packages depend on xorg:

#grep -r depends /var/abs/* | grep "'xorg'"
#extra/xfce4/xfce-utils/PKGBUILD:depends=('libxfcegui4>=4.4.1' 'libxfce4mcs>=4.4.1' 'bash' 'dbh' 'xorg')
#extra/x11/culmus/PKGBUILD:depends=('xorg' 'xorg-fonts-alias' 'xorg-font-utils' 'xorg-fonts-encodings')
#extra/games/bumprace/PKGBUILD:depends=('sdl_image' 'xorg' 'sdl_mixer')

(I only use arch and extra supfiles)

Last edited by tkjacobsen (2007-09-06 15:36:33)


To save time, reboot your computer in the background using "reboot &"

Offline

#38 2007-09-06 15:43:03

shining
Pacman Developer
Registered: 2006-05-10
Posts: 2,043

Re: xorg is not in the repos!

tkjacobsen wrote:

currently 3 packages depend on xorg:

#grep -r depends /var/abs/* | grep "'xorg'"
#extra/xfce4/xfce-utils/PKGBUILD:depends=('libxfcegui4>=4.4.1' 'libxfce4mcs>=4.4.1' 'bash' 'dbh' 'xorg')
#extra/x11/culmus/PKGBUILD:depends=('xorg' 'xorg-fonts-alias' 'xorg-font-utils' 'xorg-fonts-encodings')
#extra/games/bumprace/PKGBUILD:depends=('sdl_image' 'xorg' 'sdl_mixer')

(I only use arch and extra supfiles)

http://bugs.archlinux.org/task/6965


pacman roulette : pacman -S $(pacman -Slq | LANG=C sort -R | head -n $((RANDOM % 10)))

Offline

#39 2007-09-06 16:16:52

theringmaster
Member
From: Air Force
Registered: 2007-07-16
Posts: 581
Website

Re: xorg is not in the repos!

I also agree that the removal of the "xorg" meta-package was a really bad idea. Just imagine the "kde" meta-package being removed. *head explodes*


Check me out on twitter!!! twitter.com/The_Ringmaster

Offline

#40 2007-09-06 16:22:32

shining
Pacman Developer
Registered: 2006-05-10
Posts: 2,043

Re: xorg is not in the repos!

theringmaster wrote:

I also agree that the removal of the "xorg" meta-package was a really bad idea. Just imagine the "kde" meta-package being removed. *head explodes*

Right, but it's not a meta package, it's a group.


pacman roulette : pacman -S $(pacman -Slq | LANG=C sort -R | head -n $((RANDOM % 10)))

Offline

#41 2007-09-06 18:11:57

kensai
Member
From: Puerto Rico
Registered: 2005-06-03
Posts: 2,475
Website

Re: xorg is not in the repos!

iphitus wrote:

I think that pulling it was a tad overkill. If people wanted to specify individual drivers themselves, that's fine, but it's always been convenient to simply pacman -S xorg. Keeping the metapackage doesn't hurt, but withdrawing it is inconvenient and makes it drastically less obvious as to how to install Xorg -- I shouldnt have to read the wiki.

James

+500
This move to remove xorg meta package was so... lets say dumb, you are not forced to do pacman -S xorg you could do the way every people is forced to do it now having withouth removing the xorg meta package. Please put it back cause it was simply a brainless thoughtless decision.


Follow me in: Identi.ca, Twitter, Google+

Offline

#42 2007-09-06 19:06:30

J_Zar
Member
From: Villa Santina (UD), Italy
Registered: 2006-09-19
Posts: 36
Website

Re: xorg is not in the repos!

+1 to re-add the meta package.

Keep it easy. It's the way.
If not, then we are doing something silly as Gentoo did.

Offline

#43 2007-09-06 19:15:30

INCSlayer
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2007-09-06
Posts: 296
Website

Re: xorg is not in the repos!

i also
+1 to re-add the xorg metapackage


In Life or Death no one Shall have what is Black Jack Lee's

windoze: "for people that can't spell windows"

Offline

#44 2007-09-06 19:36:53

kensai
Member
From: Puerto Rico
Registered: 2005-06-03
Posts: 2,475
Website

Re: xorg is not in the repos!

J_Zar wrote:

+1 to re-add the meta package.

Keep it easy. It's the way.
If not, then we are doing something silly as Gentoo did.

Gentoo is the best at this so never ever say something silly as gentoo did, cause in gentoo you just need to specify that you have keyboard mouse and an nvidia card to pull in the right xorg packages, that is simple and easy in fact simpler and easier than any distribution would ever do it. Just putting in /etc/make.conf
INPUT_DEVICES="keyboard mouse"
VIDEO_CARDS="nvidia"

And all is done you won't get unnecessary dependencies. Here on Arch the developer (kth5) just said "well I don't like xorg dummy package today so I'll remove it, I don't care how many people disagree I just want to make their life's difficult, I don't even documented this and didn't make a workaround, but who cares I just need to install it myself if it works on me who cares for the others? I'm simply not making it work as before."

So please don't talk about Gentoo if you have never used it.


Follow me in: Identi.ca, Twitter, Google+

Offline

#45 2007-09-06 19:45:48

shining
Pacman Developer
Registered: 2006-05-10
Posts: 2,043

Re: xorg is not in the repos!

kensai wrote:

Gentoo is the best at this so never ever say something silly as gentoo did, cause in gentoo you just need to specify that you have keyboard mouse and an nvidia card to pull in the right xorg packages, that is simple and easy in fact simpler and easier than any distribution would ever do it. Just putting in /etc/make.conf
INPUT_DEVICES="keyboard mouse"
VIDEO_CARDS="nvidia"

And all is done you won't get unnecessary dependencies. Here on Arch the developer (kth5) just said "well I don't like xorg dummy package today so I'll remove it, I don't care how many people disagree I just want to make their life's difficult, I don't even documented this and didn't make a workaround, but who cares I just need to install it myself if it works on me who cares for the others? I'm simply not making it work as before."

So please don't talk about Gentoo if you have never used it.

You may be right about Gentoo, but what about giving kth5 a break? Do you pay him for his work?
I think he got it now that everyone wants either a xorg metapackage or a xorg group for making xorg install easier, no need to keep whining about it endlessly.


pacman roulette : pacman -S $(pacman -Slq | LANG=C sort -R | head -n $((RANDOM % 10)))

Offline

#46 2007-09-06 20:06:26

pain of salvation
Member
Registered: 2007-05-22
Posts: 76

Re: xorg is not in the repos!

Will xorg metapackage be added again to the repos? When? I have just done a clean install of arch and don´t know which xorg packages I need to have a nice KDE desktop.

Offline

#47 2007-09-06 20:12:11

shining
Pacman Developer
Registered: 2006-05-10
Posts: 2,043

Re: xorg is not in the repos!

pain of salvation wrote:

Will xorg metapackage be added again to the repos? When? I have just done a clean install of arch and don´t know which xorg packages I need to have a nice KDE desktop.

What about reading this thread?


pacman roulette : pacman -S $(pacman -Slq | LANG=C sort -R | head -n $((RANDOM % 10)))

Offline

#48 2007-09-06 20:12:14

kensai
Member
From: Puerto Rico
Registered: 2005-06-03
Posts: 2,475
Website

Re: xorg is not in the repos!

shining wrote:

but what about giving kth5 a break? Do you pay him for his work?
I think he got it now that everyone wants either a xorg metapackage or a xorg group for making xorg install easier, no need to keep whining about it endlessly.

Yeah, I'm giving him a break since my first post, no I don't pay neither I demanded from him anything I just expressed my point of view is up to him to put it or not back, no is not endlessly it just makes my last post stronger.:lol:


Follow me in: Identi.ca, Twitter, Google+

Offline

#49 2007-09-06 20:42:24

pain of salvation
Member
Registered: 2007-05-22
Posts: 76

Re: xorg is not in the repos!

shining wrote:
pain of salvation wrote:

Will xorg metapackage be added again to the repos? When? I have just done a clean install of arch and don´t know which xorg packages I need to have a nice KDE desktop.

What about reading this thread?

I read this thread, and no one said when the metapackage will be added, if it will be added.

Offline

#50 2007-09-06 20:45:33

FeatherMonkey
Member
Registered: 2007-02-26
Posts: 313

Re: xorg is not in the repos!

Nope but they did mention what packages you need to bring in. wink

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB