You are not logged in.

#1 2007-05-11 06:17:05

Davigetto
Member
From: In your mind
Registered: 2007-05-10
Posts: 266

Laptop-mode-tools in archlinux. It works???

Hello, i come from debian, and well, when I install and configure properly laptop-mode-tools on it, running in battery mode makes my laptop spin down my hardisk, fans, etc... Saving lot of battery. Stopping cron, anacron, atd, configuring syslog to improve writes to hard disk...

In archlinux, i have made this: pacman -S laptop-mode-tools, and I have installed it. I have configured it exactly as debian, but the hard disk doesn't spin down, the fans runs at maximum speed consuming lot of battery, and I don't know why, something (surely any log daemon) is writing all time on the disk.

what daemons (or what steps i have to do to configure laptop mode properly) I must stop and what daemons i must enable to have the correct functionallity of laptop-mode-tools? I can't give now the list of my daemons, but i only have activated daemons for wireless network, hal, hwd. crond and other daemons are disabled.

Any ideas?

Greetings


Only deaths can see the end of battles.

Blog: http://djmartinez.co.cc -> The life of a Computer Engineer

Offline

#2 2007-05-11 08:45:26

Visiond
Member
Registered: 2007-05-03
Posts: 6

Re: Laptop-mode-tools in archlinux. It works???

Hi,

this is my first post and it indicates my newbishness with Arch Linux.

Anyways: Did you activate the laptop-mode daemon in the rc.conf?

Greetings
André

Offline

#3 2007-05-11 09:44:15

Davigetto
Member
From: In your mind
Registered: 2007-05-10
Posts: 266

Re: Laptop-mode-tools in archlinux. It works???

let me try when i get home big_smile


Only deaths can see the end of battles.

Blog: http://djmartinez.co.cc -> The life of a Computer Engineer

Offline

#4 2007-05-12 09:06:11

Visiond
Member
Registered: 2007-05-03
Posts: 6

Re: Laptop-mode-tools in archlinux. It works???

Success?

Improved my battery lifetime a bit but there is still room for improvement (2h now compared to 3h with windows, but had only 1h before ;-)).

Offline

#5 2007-05-12 16:24:36

stonecrest
Member
From: Boulder
Registered: 2005-01-22
Posts: 1,190

Re: Laptop-mode-tools in archlinux. It works???

Are you spinning down the cpu (if possible) using something like cpufreq?


I am a gated community.

Offline

#6 2007-05-13 07:15:49

Visiond
Member
Registered: 2007-05-03
Posts: 6

Re: Laptop-mode-tools in archlinux. It works???

Yep,

cpufreq is installed. I will start another thread later to discuss this because i would not like to capture Devigetto's thread.

Thanks for the idea anyways and hop you take a look at my thread later.

Greetings
André

Offline

#7 2007-05-13 16:43:16

stonecrest
Member
From: Boulder
Registered: 2005-01-22
Posts: 1,190

Re: Laptop-mode-tools in archlinux. It works???

Well, laptop-mode-tools was also installed, but you weren't starting it. Are you starting cpufreq? ;-)


I am a gated community.

Offline

#8 2007-05-13 22:05:57

patroclo7
Member
From: Bassano del Grappa, ITALY
Registered: 2006-01-11
Posts: 913

Re: Laptop-mode-tools in archlinux. It works???

Laptop-mode-tools, when properly configured, can control also you cpu frequency and lots of other things, including the blanking timeouts in X and consoles. Its configuration file is excellently commented.


Mortuus in anima, curam gero cutis

Offline

#9 2007-07-29 18:32:28

bartman
Member
Registered: 2007-07-25
Posts: 16

Re: Laptop-mode-tools in archlinux. It works???

Hi. I'm setting up laptop-mode at the moment and I've a few questions:

1. Why cann't I start it manually?

$ sudo laptop_mode force
Laptop mode disabled, not active.

2. How can I start it at boot?
I know /etc/rc.conf is the place to state daemons but  how can I put "laptop-mode start" in there?

Thanks!

Offline

#10 2007-07-29 18:55:52

shen
Member
Registered: 2003-09-05
Posts: 272
Website

Re: Laptop-mode-tools in archlinux. It works???

bartman wrote:

Hi. I'm setting up laptop-mode at the moment and I've a few questions:


2. How can I start it at boot?
I know /etc/rc.conf is the place to state daemons but  how can I put "laptop-mode start" in there?

Thanks!

Just add laptop-mode to the daemon line and it will start it. There is no need to add the start or stop command in the rc.conf file.

Offline

#11 2007-07-29 19:33:02

bartman
Member
Registered: 2007-07-25
Posts: 16

Re: Laptop-mode-tools in archlinux. It works???

Works beautifully now, thank you! In retrospect I should've seen it - laptop_mode is the daemon that enables or disables power saving features when it detects a power source change - the point when the daemon executes "laptop_mode start" or "laptop_mode stop". So what I was trying to do above was tell the daemon to start saving power but there was no daemon started! big_smile

The only CPU power saving feature I miss now is linux-phc for undervolting. Too bad it's a kernel patch - I don't like recompiling it. hmm

Last edited by bartman (2007-07-29 19:39:03)

Offline

#12 2007-07-29 19:40:30

tom5760
Member
From: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Registered: 2006-02-05
Posts: 283
Website

Re: Laptop-mode-tools in archlinux. It works???

Just for future reference, all the daemons you can possibly put in rc.conf are located in /etc/rc.d/  Just put the name of the file in that folder into the DAEMONS line in /etc/rc.conf to start it at boot.

Offline

#13 2007-07-29 20:12:55

thayer
Fellow
From: Vancouver, BC
Registered: 2007-05-20
Posts: 1,560
Website

Re: Laptop-mode-tools in archlinux. It works???

If I were you, I would just go with the "powersave" package:

The powersave package provides global power management tasks. It supports battery monitoring, userspace workarounds for proper suspend/standby functionality and more.

It's very easy to setup and it will handle your CPU scaling, suspend/hibernate functions, etc. It's available from the official repos and you can follow the tutorial from the Dell Inspiron 6400 wiki:

http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Del … Management


thayer williams ~ cinderwick.ca

Offline

#14 2007-07-29 20:40:01

bartman
Member
Registered: 2007-07-25
Posts: 16

Re: Laptop-mode-tools in archlinux. It works???

tom5760: Good to know, thanks.
thayer.w: I already have powersaved installed and configured. At the moment laptop_mode doesn't want to set the correct powersave governor when on battery. Laptop-mode has a bunch of features that aren't in powersaved so I don't see why I should stick with just powersaved!

Offline

#15 2007-07-31 02:07:53

bruenig
Member
Registered: 2007-05-20
Posts: 175

Re: Laptop-mode-tools in archlinux. It works???

Someone should start a wiki entry on laptop-mode, I have problems getting the thing to work effectively also.

Offline

#16 2007-08-13 07:55:26

ezzetabi
Member
Registered: 2006-08-27
Posts: 943

Re: Laptop-mode-tools in archlinux. It works???

That `someone' should be bruenig... What about it?

Offline

#17 2007-08-16 23:10:59

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Laptop-mode-tools in archlinux. It works???

Feel free to email me if you need anything - I'd love to have a super-charge laptop-mode-tools in arch, but I just don't have the time to mess with it too much, but I am here if you guys need something.

Offline

#18 2007-09-18 03:19:16

andrewd18
Member
From: Wisconsin, USA
Registered: 2007-08-02
Posts: 34

Re: Laptop-mode-tools in archlinux. It works???

I have laptop mode all configured, and it's set to start the daemon when it boots (rc.conf). It works excellently when it boots, but it doesn't autodetect when I remove/insert the AC. If I run "/sbin/laptop_mode auto", it detects, but it doesn't do it automatically.

Is there a modification I need to make to my system somewhere to get laptop-mode-tools to automatically detect the status of my AC?

I'm running kernel 2.6.23-rc3 (needed a bugfix to boot) with the noapic, acpi_osi=!Linux, irqpoll, and noirqdebug options.

~~ Andrew D.

Offline

#19 2007-09-18 03:32:20

fwojciec
Member
Registered: 2007-05-20
Posts: 1,411

Re: Laptop-mode-tools in archlinux. It works???

do you have acpid daemon running?  Normally laptop-mode inserts a bunch of commands into acpid daemon scripts so that the mode is changed whenever acpid detects a change of power source.

Offline

#20 2007-09-20 16:02:34

andrewd18
Member
From: Wisconsin, USA
Registered: 2007-08-02
Posts: 34

Re: Laptop-mode-tools in archlinux. It works???

Yes, acpid is running. It still doesn't detect the status of my AC adapter.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB