You are not logged in.

#1 2007-09-24 04:04:46

LighthouseKeeper
Member
From: New Jersey
Registered: 2007-06-07
Posts: 25

ePSXe Problem

Hello. I recently installed ePSXe and all of its plugins from the this repository: (http://freeforge.net/~ssimon/arch/pkg) as seen in this thread: (http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=32440). ePSXe boots up fine, and my audio and video plugins test out properly. I load my BIOS (SCPH7502.BIN) and decide to test things out. Whenever I try to run the BIOS or load an ISO, ePSXe crashes and I get a one-line error: "plugins/libgpu.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory". I am at a loss for what this means. I have Googled but not much has turned up. Is there a simple way to fix this? I believe that I have done everything correctly up to this point. If you know what is going on, please help. Thanks.


I am almost lost.

Offline

#2 2007-09-24 14:55:13

[vEX]
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2006-11-23
Posts: 450

Re: ePSXe Problem

Try 'pacman -Ql epsxe-gpu-<the one you got>' and make sure you got the file at least and where it is, and then try to mess with the config telling it where the file is located.

You could also try pcsx-df (in the main repo) or psx (in AUR). PCSX-df is similiar to ePSXe with the plugin based system, and supports nice 3D rendering with antialias and such. pSX is trying to be more true to the real thing and it looks (as bad) as the PlayStation does/did.

Last edited by [vEX] (2007-09-24 14:56:12)


PC: Antec P182B | Asus P8Z77-V PRO | Intel i5 3570k | 16GB DDR3 | GeForce 450GTS | 4TB HDD | Pioneer BDR-207D | Asus Xonar DX | Altec Lansing CS21 | Eizo EV2736W-BK | Arch Linux x86_64
HTPC: Antec NSK2480 | ASUS M3A78-EM (AMD 780G) | AMD Athlon X3 425 | 8GB DDR2 | GeForce G210 | 2TB HDD | Arch Linux x86_64
Server: Raspberry Pi (model B) | 512MB RAM | 750GB HDD | Arch Linux ARM

Offline

#3 2007-09-25 05:28:16

LighthouseKeeper
Member
From: New Jersey
Registered: 2007-06-07
Posts: 25

Re: ePSXe Problem

After changing my PSX BIOS and messing with the video settings, I can now run games from ISOs. However, I can't get any sound whatsoever. Sound works perfectly in PCSX (which is less stable than ePSXe for me, so I'd rather not use it), but I can't get anything in ePSXe. My sound plugin is the epsxe-plugin-spu-alsa-1.9-1 package from the link in my first post. The plugin tests out perfectly. Despite that, I get the following error when I open an ISO or start the BIOS:

* Init spu[0][libspuPeopsOSS.so.1.0.9]
Sound device not available!
 * Open spu[0]

Anybody know what's up?

Thanks for your previous help, by the way.


I am almost lost.

Offline

#4 2007-09-25 06:30:44

kth5
Member
Registered: 2004-04-29
Posts: 655
Website

Re: ePSXe Problem

What about using pcsx-df from extra?


I recognize that while theory and practice are, in theory, the same, they are, in practice, different. -Mark Mitchell

Offline

#5 2007-09-25 13:42:44

[vEX]
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2006-11-23
Posts: 450

Re: ePSXe Problem

Is some other application playing any sound? Looks like either OSS support is missing, or the device is already busy.


PC: Antec P182B | Asus P8Z77-V PRO | Intel i5 3570k | 16GB DDR3 | GeForce 450GTS | 4TB HDD | Pioneer BDR-207D | Asus Xonar DX | Altec Lansing CS21 | Eizo EV2736W-BK | Arch Linux x86_64
HTPC: Antec NSK2480 | ASUS M3A78-EM (AMD 780G) | AMD Athlon X3 425 | 8GB DDR2 | GeForce G210 | 2TB HDD | Arch Linux x86_64
Server: Raspberry Pi (model B) | 512MB RAM | 750GB HDD | Arch Linux ARM

Offline

#6 2007-09-26 00:10:14

detox332
Member
From: University of Pittsburgh
Registered: 2007-06-12
Posts: 63

Re: ePSXe Problem

you should try psX, much better imo. iirc, no extra plugins are needed, just the bios.


Arch64
KDE4 user

Offline

#7 2007-09-26 20:20:22

LighthouseKeeper
Member
From: New Jersey
Registered: 2007-06-07
Posts: 25

Re: ePSXe Problem

[vEX] wrote:

Is some other application playing any sound? Looks like either OSS support is missing, or the device is already busy.

I think that I only have ALSA set up. I don't know much about the differences between these two. Will I be able to install OSS support without wonking ALSA up?

Last edited by LighthouseKeeper (2007-09-26 20:20:38)


I am almost lost.

Offline

#8 2007-09-26 20:26:29

[vEX]
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2006-11-23
Posts: 450

Re: ePSXe Problem

To be honest I have no idea, I run a custom kernel with ALSA OSS emulation and I've never touched anything except alsamixer to get both ALSA/OSS working. I'm going to assume the Arch stock kernel also has ALSA OSS emulation enabled so perhaps you need to load some extra module?

If you have mplayer installed you could easily test if OSS works (and ALSA as well) by running 'mplayer -ao oss <media_file_with_sound>' (or -ao alsa for ALSA).


PC: Antec P182B | Asus P8Z77-V PRO | Intel i5 3570k | 16GB DDR3 | GeForce 450GTS | 4TB HDD | Pioneer BDR-207D | Asus Xonar DX | Altec Lansing CS21 | Eizo EV2736W-BK | Arch Linux x86_64
HTPC: Antec NSK2480 | ASUS M3A78-EM (AMD 780G) | AMD Athlon X3 425 | 8GB DDR2 | GeForce G210 | 2TB HDD | Arch Linux x86_64
Server: Raspberry Pi (model B) | 512MB RAM | 750GB HDD | Arch Linux ARM

Offline

#9 2007-09-26 21:16:30

LighthouseKeeper
Member
From: New Jersey
Registered: 2007-06-07
Posts: 25

Re: ePSXe Problem

Well, when I don't have anything else running, mplayer works fine with OSS output, but ePSXe still has no sound. It gives me the same error. I also have alsa-oss installed, but that doesn't seem to be helping.


I am almost lost.

Offline

#10 2007-09-27 10:02:43

[vEX]
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2006-11-23
Posts: 450

Re: ePSXe Problem

I don't think I can help more, as far as I know ePSXe was only released as a 32-bit compiled version and I'm running 64-bit. Try to get in contact with the person running that repo, he/she might be able to figure out the problem.


PC: Antec P182B | Asus P8Z77-V PRO | Intel i5 3570k | 16GB DDR3 | GeForce 450GTS | 4TB HDD | Pioneer BDR-207D | Asus Xonar DX | Altec Lansing CS21 | Eizo EV2736W-BK | Arch Linux x86_64
HTPC: Antec NSK2480 | ASUS M3A78-EM (AMD 780G) | AMD Athlon X3 425 | 8GB DDR2 | GeForce G210 | 2TB HDD | Arch Linux x86_64
Server: Raspberry Pi (model B) | 512MB RAM | 750GB HDD | Arch Linux ARM

Offline

#11 2007-09-27 11:58:08

DonVla
Member
From: Bonn, Germany
Registered: 2007-06-07
Posts: 997

Re: ePSXe Problem

LighthouseKeeper wrote:

Hello. I recently installed ePSXe and all of its plugins from the this repository: (http://freeforge.net/~ssimon/arch/pkg) as seen in this thread: (http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=32440). ePSXe boots up fine, and my audio and video plugins test out properly. I load my BIOS (SCPH7502.BIN) and decide to test things out. Whenever I try to run the BIOS or load an ISO, ePSXe crashes and I get a one-line error: "plugins/libgpu.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory". I am at a loss for what this means. I have Googled but not much has turned up. Is there a simple way to fix this? I believe that I have done everything correctly up to this point. If you know what is going on, please help. Thanks.

hello,

i've simply linked the *.so files to libgpu.so and libspu.so:

 ln -s /opt/epsxe/plugins/libgpuPeteMesaGL.so.1.0.76 libgpu.so
 ln -s /opt/epsxe/plugins/libspuPeopsOSS.so.1.0.9 libspu.so

however, i don't get any errors, but still doesn't work.
that's the output when i start epsxe:

vlad@computer:/opt/epsxe $ ./epsxe
 * Running ePSXe emulator version 1.6.0. 
 * Memory handlers init. 
 * ePSXe: PSX BIOS loaded [bios/scph1001.bin]. 
 * Loading ISO Format [BIN/IMG2352] ok
 * NTSC cdrom detected. 
 * Init gpu[0][libgpu.so] 
NVIDIA Corporation
GeForce4 MX 440 with AGP8X/PCI/SSE
 * Open gpu[0] 
 * Init spu[0][libspu.so] 
 * Open spu[0] 
 * Warning: The memcard [memcards/epsxe000.mcr] has NOT been saved to disk
 * Warning: The memcard [memcards/epsxe001.mcr] has NOT been saved to disk
 * Closing ISO system. 
 * Loading ISO Format [BIN/IMG2352]  * NTSC cdrom detected. 
NVIDIA Corporation
GeForce4 MX 440 with AGP8X/PCI/SSE

perhaps my computer is too slow. it's an celeron 1.2ghz w/ 500mb ram.  although psx runs just fine, but the sound is crappy.
i wanted to try another emu.

vlad

ps:

ok i got it working:
doh', i just loaded the wrong files (load the bin not the cue...).
linking the libs to libgpu/libspu.so works.
however the sound is still crappy.

ps2:

ok got the sound working:
in the gui: config-> sound-> sound-plugin-> configure-> reverb-> 2: PSX reverb (best quality)
sounds good now!

Last edited by DonVla (2007-09-27 12:37:36)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB