You are not logged in.

#1 2004-05-28 04:47:34

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Recent upgrade removed kde juk and k3b activity(solved)

Cannot use juk or k3b since recent -Syu upgrade applying new kdemultimedia and libs.

How do I recall the upgrade thru pacman to try -Syu again?

How do I fixit?


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Online

#2 2004-05-28 09:41:19

topito
Member
From: Catalonia
Registered: 2004-03-25
Posts: 118
Website

Re: Recent upgrade removed kde juk and k3b activity(solved)

Same problem here, I had to downgrade kdelibs and kdemultimedia. Maybe you could try to recompile k3b with the new kdelibs but it will be faster do downgrade and wait till everything is recompiled again. Even I had an error while loading kde that was quite anoying...

Offline

#3 2004-05-28 14:41:51

yowwww
Member
Registered: 2003-09-04
Posts: 112

Re: Recent upgrade removed kde juk and k3b activity(solved)

and where are these previous packages available?
that seems to always be the problem - the mad chase to find the old packages that actually worked, besides that, is there any word on why this happens to apps like k3b and is there anything being done about it?

Offline

#4 2004-05-28 15:11:36

Pierluigi
Member
Registered: 2004-04-10
Posts: 90
Website

Re: Recent upgrade removed kde juk and k3b activity(solved)

Have you checked in /var/cache/pacman/pkg ?

Offline

#5 2004-05-28 17:35:06

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: Recent upgrade removed kde juk and k3b activity(solved)

pierluigi;

The file you referred to has the previous kdelibs and kdemultimedia as well as the new versions.

I assume I could force the old versions into their slots but then don't know what would then occur because I have no clue as to dependencies.  Several packages were downloaded at the same time and I assume they could well be dependencies.

I receive a SIGSEGV (Signal 11) warning upon boot-up.

I have a double problem---I cloned my HDD so the clone has the problem also!!!

I have need to make a CD copy so I have to run to the window!!!!!


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Online

#6 2004-05-29 16:55:28

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: Recent upgrade removed kde juk and k3b activity(solved)

Problem solved by removing upgrades on kdelibs and kdemultimedia(See " pkg not in sync db " in newbie forum.


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Online

#7 2004-05-29 17:50:15

lanrat
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2003-10-28
Posts: 1,274

Re: Recent upgrade removed kde juk and k3b activity(solved)

My k3b also crashed but I solved the problem by recompiling and reinstalling only arts from /var/abs/extra/kde/arts it's easy but takes a little time :-)
At least k3b is working now (without recompiling). When I have a little more time I'll try recompiling full k3b locally.

Offline

#8 2004-05-29 17:59:28

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: Recent upgrade removed kde juk and k3b activity(solved)

lanrat;

See my fix at newbie  "pkg not in sync DB"


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Online

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB