You are not logged in.

#1 2004-05-30 08:35:12

super_duper_linux_guy
Member
Registered: 2004-05-28
Posts: 42

KCMinit solved yet?

Well I have finally gotten KDE up and running, the sound still doesn't work but I found a Wiki about that and I'm trying things out. But I do seem to have another error as well. When I load KDE I get 'kcminit caused signal 11 (sigsegv). I read it the forums it has to do with KDElibs, and that an older version would solve it. Or is this maybe solved already?

Offline

#2 2004-05-30 08:46:08

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: KCMinit solved yet?

no it is not solved
it will be probably solved with kde 3.2.3 next week
downgrade your kdelibs and kdemultimedia

Offline

#3 2004-05-30 08:59:11

super_duper_linux_guy
Member
Registered: 2004-05-28
Posts: 42

Re: KCMinit solved yet?

Oh, I see. Since i`m not very familiar with downgrading yet, is it possible to wait until next week to instead upgrade, would that solve the problem? And does this bug effect sound (I haven't set up my sound yet).

And when I try to test sound I get the following:

The application soundserver (artsd) crashd and caused the signal 6 (sigbart).

To remove this error I need to find out my sound module and have it start up by default, if I'm correct. So this is independent from the former error, no?

Offline

#4 2004-05-30 16:09:43

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: KCMinit solved yet?

no it is the same error
until a new kdelibs package is out you can set the package to
not update in pacman.conf
i think kdemultimedia is also bugged

Offline

#5 2004-05-31 17:47:27

super_duper_linux_guy
Member
Registered: 2004-05-28
Posts: 42

Re: KCMinit solved yet?

Oh I see, well no problem. I set up Fluxbox instead and things are looking nice so far. In fact, I think I might stick to Fluxbox. smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB