You are not logged in.

#1 2007-10-18 09:24:59

Lazer
Banned
Registered: 2007-08-02
Posts: 111

Archlinux fails to find lvm volumes after installation

Hi,
yesterday i installed archlinux on a logical volume, root and boot are both on this volume (/dev/mapper/volg-arch).
the filesystem is ext3. the setup recognized the volume group and activated all volumes, so the installation was no problem, but when i try to start the system after installation, no volume group can be found.
lvm2 was enabled during installation using USELVM="yes" in rc.conf and HOOKS="base udev autodetect pata scsi sata keymap lvm2 filesystems" in mkinitcpio.conf.
i use grub2 to boot the system with the following entry

menuentry "Arch" {
linux (volg-arch)/boot/vmlinuz26 root=/dev/mapper/volg-arch
initrd (volg-arch)/boot/kernel26.img
}

it boots, however it cannot find any volume groups and because of that cannot load the root-filesystem.
my other linux-system works great, which is installed on lvm2 and using grub2, too.

did i miss a configuration?

Offline

#2 2007-10-18 12:11:44

nogoma
Member
From: Cranston, RI
Registered: 2006-03-01
Posts: 217

Re: Archlinux fails to find lvm volumes after installation

On my machine, I have the root= in my grub entry like so:

root=/dev/vg_sys/root

i.e. I'm not going through the mapper device, but through the actual device node


-nogoma
---
Code Happy, Code Ruby!
http://www.last.fm/user/nogoma/

Offline

#3 2007-10-18 12:50:35

Lazer
Banned
Registered: 2007-08-02
Posts: 111

Re: Archlinux fails to find lvm volumes after installation

thx, but neither /dev/mapper/volg-arch nor /dev/volg/arch exist, because their volume-group is not recognized.
during the archlinux-setup the volume-group was recognized, but after installation it isn't. i've tried the fallback initrd, but the problem remains.

Offline

#4 2007-10-18 14:04:34

nogoma
Member
From: Cranston, RI
Registered: 2006-03-01
Posts: 217

Re: Archlinux fails to find lvm volumes after installation

Hmm... I just realized you have boot on lvm; does grub2 support booting from lvm? I run a regular ol' separate boot partition and regular grub, so I don't know. Unless it does, I'd say that'd be a problem. If it does support booting from lvm, then the only other question I can think of is did you rerun mkinitcpio after modifying mkinitcpio.conf?

Edit: Ok, nm, I see from a quick gg that grub2 should support boot-on-lvm (which is neat...)

Last edited by nogoma (2007-10-18 14:06:09)


-nogoma
---
Code Happy, Code Ruby!
http://www.last.fm/user/nogoma/

Offline

#5 2007-10-18 15:28:59

Lazer
Banned
Registered: 2007-08-02
Posts: 111

Re: Archlinux fails to find lvm volumes after installation

yes, grub2 supports it., which is really great.
mkinitcpio was run after modifying mkinitcpio.conf automatically by the setup.
its really odd that it works during the setup but not later.

:: Running Hook [lvm2]
Scanning  logical volumes...
  Reading all physical volumes. This may take a while...
  No volume groups found. 
Activating logical volumes...
  No volume groups found
:: Running Hook [filesystems]

then it fails with errors (because of course no root-device could be found) and the ramfs-shell is started.
i think lvm-support is enabled,
because it is scanning for volumes.


edit:
just tried to boot with the following entry
menuentry "ArchInstall" {
linux (volg-arch-install)/isolinux/vmlinuz root=/dev/mapper/volg-arch
initrd (volg-arch-install)/isolinux/initrd.img
}
this is the volume where i copied the install-cd to (i have no cd-drive and did a hdd-install) and installed the system from.
IT WORKS! but of course it takes too long to load this setup-initrd for using the system.

so my initrd, generated by the setup, is wrong :-/
any hints?

Last edited by Lazer (2007-10-18 16:08:47)

Offline

#6 2007-10-21 15:45:25

Lazer
Banned
Registered: 2007-08-02
Posts: 111

Re: Archlinux fails to find lvm volumes after installation

well, still not working. i need a working initrd. does anyone use archlinux on a thinkpad x30 and on lvm?
maybe my initrd cannot detect my harddisk, cause its too old.

Offline

#7 2007-12-01 23:44:46

kozaki
Member
From: London >. < Paris
Registered: 2005-06-13
Posts: 638
Website

Re: Archlinux fails to find lvm volumes after installation

hum, have exactly the same issue than Lazer with latest Arch64 ISO (Oct 3 2007) updated at install (kernel-2.6.23)
did try to boot with '/dev/mapper/system3', /dev/mapper/systems-system3' (usual w/ other distros) but no luck so far.

Next would be to test what msoltyspl did on this post http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=39167, but tonight is too late


Seeded week #28: Arch 25 gig (stock 12, Talking 1, Anywhere 11, Apricity 1)
Desktop @3.30GHz 8 gig RAM, Arch linux-ck
laptop1 Atom 2 gig RAM, Arch linux stock i686 (5+H battery smile) & 2: ARM Tegra K1 4 gig RAM, ChrOS
Atom Z520 2 gig RAM, OMV (Debian 7) kernel 3.16 bpo on SDHC | PGP Key: 0xFF0157D9

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB