You are not logged in.

#1 2007-11-04 13:58:32

AriciU
Member
Registered: 2007-08-31
Posts: 79

Can't boot XP from Grub

I have XP and Arch installed. I have 4 hard drives. 3 are SATA and 1 is IDE (windows).

/dev/sda = windows
/dev/sdb = ntfs partition
/dev/sdc = ntfs partition
/dev/sdd = arch

Here's the deal. When i try to boot XP from grub's menu i get a "Waiting for..." ("Loading windows...") - forgot how it says it but it's not that important and windows should load. However, it doesn't, it just sits there waiting... for me to die of anger probably.

The funny thing is. If i put the XP install cd in the cd drive, reboot, don't press any key when it asks me if i want to boot from cd, Windows loads fine but Grub menu doesn't appear at all.

Menu.lst is pointing to windows fine. If i set it in any other way (hd1,1 ; hd2,2; etc) then i get an "invalid executable" error 13 witch means i'm pointing it to the wrong drive.

Offline

#2 2007-11-04 14:50:49

Dheart
Member
From: Sofia, Bulgaria
Registered: 2006-10-26
Posts: 956

Re: Can't boot XP from Grub

You could also post us your grub.conf wink


My victim you are meant to be
No, you cannot hide nor flee
You know what I'm looking for
Pleasure your torture, I will endure...

Offline

#3 2007-11-04 16:17:20

AriciU
Member
Registered: 2007-08-31
Posts: 79

Re: Can't boot XP from Grub

Disk /dev/sda: 160.0 GB, 160040803840 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00069098

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 19457 156288321 7 HPFS/NTFS

Disk /dev/sdb: 320.0 GB, 320072933376 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 38913 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x61c1f1de

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 * 1 38782 311516383+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sdb3 38849 38913 514080 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sdb4 38783 38849 536760 83 Linux

Partition table entries are not in disk order

Disk /dev/sdc: 200.0 GB, 200049647616 bytes
16 heads, 63 sectors/track, 387621 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 1008 * 512 = 516096 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xb64aa047

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdc1 * 1 379445 191240248+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sdc2 381527 387621 3071849 f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/sdc4 379446 381526 1048824 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sdc5 381527 387621 3071848+ 7 HPFS/NTFS

Partition table entries are not in disk order

Disk /dev/sdd: 400.0 GB, 400088457216 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 48641 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xb37ab37a

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdd1 * 1 3187 25599546 83 Linux
/dev/sdd2 3188 6374 25599577+ 83 Linux
/dev/sdd3 6375 9561 25599577+ 83 Linux
/dev/sdd4 9562 48641 313910100 83 Linux

and

title        Windows XP
root         (hd3,0)
savedefault
makeactive
chainloader    +1

title        Arch Linux 2007.08
root        (hd2,3)
kernel        /arch/vmlinuz26 root=/dev/sdd2 ro
initrd        /arch/kernel26.img
quiet

Offline

#4 2007-11-04 16:20:32

Dheart
Member
From: Sofia, Bulgaria
Registered: 2006-10-26
Posts: 956

Re: Can't boot XP from Grub

title        Windows XP
root         (hd3,0)
savedefault
makeactive
chainloader    +1

title        Arch Linux 2007.08
root        (hd2,3)
kernel        /arch/vmlinuz26 root=/dev/sdd2 ro
initrd        /arch/kernel26.img
quiet

Becomes:

title        Windows XP
root         (hd3,0)
savedefault
makeactive
chainloader    +1
boot

title        Arch Linux 2007.08
root        (hd2,3)
kernel        /arch/vmlinuz26 root=/dev/sdd2 ro
initrd        /arch/kernel26.img
quiet

You need to add boot after chainloader +1


My victim you are meant to be
No, you cannot hide nor flee
You know what I'm looking for
Pleasure your torture, I will endure...

Offline

#5 2007-11-04 16:21:23

codemac
Member
From: Cliche Tech Place
Registered: 2005-05-13
Posts: 794
Website

Re: Can't boot XP from Grub

Yes, please post your grub.conf so we can see what you are trying.

Offline

#6 2007-11-04 16:44:08

AriciU
Member
Registered: 2007-08-31
Posts: 79

Re: Can't boot XP from Grub

I added "boot" and it did the same thing.

Now i changed menu.lst to this:

rootnoverify  (hd3,0)
map (hd0) (hd3)
map (hd3) (hd0)
savedefault
makeactive
chainloader +1
boot

Now it says NTLDR is missing.

Rebooted the Xp cd and did the "fixboot" thingy but still, same ntldr error.

Offline

#7 2007-11-04 18:00:36

lidewei
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2007-08-18
Posts: 27

Re: Can't boot XP from Grub

Try this, it used to work for me on an other box.

rootnoverify (hd3,0)
makeactive
chainloader +1
map (hd0) (hd3)
map (hd3) (hd0)

Offline

#8 2007-11-04 18:13:29

AriciU
Member
Registered: 2007-08-31
Posts: 79

Re: Can't boot XP from Grub

That's just what i tried above mate wink

Installing Vista. If that won't fix it i'm gonna break some stuff.

Offline

#9 2007-11-04 18:26:33

lidewei
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2007-08-18
Posts: 27

Re: Can't boot XP from Grub

Sorry, must have overlooked that. roll
I think you have to put the (map hdx) thingy at the bottom of the grub entry though, not on top.

Offline

#10 2007-11-04 19:52:26

Lone_Wolf
Forum Moderator
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 12,315

Re: Can't boot XP from Grub

The reason the xp cd works is that it doesn't see any sata drives, so the ide hdd is the first for the xp cd.

The ntldr is  missing error could be caused by the fact your boot.ini file has the wrong paths in it.

Anyway, the problem lies with windows xp boot process, not with grub.


Disliking systemd intensely, but not satisfied with alternatives so focusing on taming systemd.


(A works at time B)  && (time C > time B ) ≠  (A works at time C)

Offline

#11 2007-11-04 20:35:30

KimTjik
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2007-08-22
Posts: 715

Re: Can't boot XP from Grub

If I understand your post correct, BIOS is seeing the SATA disks first and IDE last. Hence why your IDE drive in this case becomes the fourth disk. Have you always had this setup, or you did recently add or change any hard drives? I ask because XP even without GRUB handling the loading from MBR has issues understanding hard drive orders in systems with a mix of IDE and SATA. What you usually do in such cases is that you unhook all drives but the one you intend to install XP to.

On which of the drives does GRUB reside? If it's not on the IDE drive, you could test to push <F10> at post to select boot device and see if you by this could directly choose the IDE, which well still - depending on your setup - could have an intact MBR and load XP just fine.

Offline

#12 2007-11-05 07:45:05

AriciU
Member
Registered: 2007-08-31
Posts: 79

Re: Can't boot XP from Grub

I've always had this setup. My old Vista witch got lost was installed almost 1.5 years ago or so. Back then i didn't use *nix and had only 3 drives.

Anyway, it's fckn impossible. I've tryed to install Vista. "The volume is not suitable for installation" or some shit message like that. I unplugged all the other drives and left only the IDE one present (with the SATA dvdrom witch i loaded drivers for) and stilll... same message. I reformated and recreated the partition using Vista installer's crap tool and same thing all over again.

I rearranged my drives in the BIOS, the booting order. It now looks like this ->

IDE "hope to get windoze on" Drive (it's set as MASTER and is on the first IDE controller/port on the mobo)
nForce4 Sata drive 1 (ntfs + my ext2 /boot partition)
nForce4 Sata drive 2 (ntfs)
SIL Controller Sata drive 3 (ext3, arch, + other 2 partitions ext2)
DVDRW

The SIL controller (RAID/SATA) is the one windoze needs drivers for.

Anyway, Vista's install dvd sees the drives like this:

nForce4 Sata drive 1 (ntfs + my ext2 /boot partition)
IDE "hope to get windoze on" Drive
nForce4 Sata drive 2 (ntfs)
SIL Controller Sata drive 3 (ext3, arch, + other 2 partitions ext2)

I have no idea why it sees the sata one first.....

I reconfigured grub because i've changed my drive order in the bios. I had to do:

root (hd1,3) (4th partition on 1st sata drive witch contains my /boot)
setup (hd0) -> i was assuming this was the IDE drive

BUT

geometry (hd0) -> shows the 4th SATA drive, the one on the SIL controller with Arch and some other stuff on it
geometry (hd1) -> 1st SATA drive
geometry (hd2) -> 2nd SATA drive
geometry (hd3) -> shows the 4th SATA drive, the one on the SIL controller with Arch and some other stuff on it -> WTF?!?!?!?!
geometry (hd4) -> says no drive or something like that witch is normal

So, the question of the day is..... Why the hell can't grub see my IDE drive at all?!?!?

So, i see no point in reinstalling XP (plugging out all the other drive, replacing the sata cdrom with my old IDE one, etc)... it would just cose the same shit all over again. I see Grub being the culprit here. No idea why it cannot see the IDE drive.

Last edited by AriciU (2007-11-05 07:48:54)

Offline

#13 2007-11-05 17:35:08

DkSoul
Member
Registered: 2005-11-24
Posts: 34

Re: Can't boot XP from Grub

What are the contents of your /boot/grub/device.map ?
If you don't have it, create it with the following contents (it is a tab between (hdX) and /dev/sdX, not spaces!):
(note: from my experience, IDE drives are usually named hdX while SCSI drives (eg. SATA, etc) are sdX..)

(hd0)    /dev/sda
(hd1)    /dev/sdb
(hd2)    /dev/sdc
(hd3)    /dev/sdd

After that you need to reinstall grub (assuming a MBR install on the fourth drive):

grub
root (hd3,3)
setup (hd3)
quit

And change your /boot/grub/menu.lst to read something like this (adjust if needed):

title        Windows XP
rootnoverify      (hd0,0)
makeactive
chainloader    +1

title        Arch Linux 2007.08
root        (hd3,3)
kernel        /arch/vmlinuz26 root=/dev/sdd2 ro
initrd        /arch/kernel26.img
quiet

Offline

#14 2007-11-05 18:15:31

AriciU
Member
Registered: 2007-08-31
Posts: 79

Re: Can't boot XP from Grub

I've got it fixed.

It was my damn motherboards secondary sata/raid controller. The drive on that controller would try to boot first regardless of the order i had set in the bios.

I've switched that drive to the regular controller and put another one (with no MBR) on that lame controller and after a few grub reinstalls and a bios update everything works fine now.

I even deleted the MBR from the sata drive witch would try to boot first (dd=/dev/zero bla bla), rebooted, grub was gone like it should but it was just sitting there instead of switching to my other drive to boot from.

Mental note of the day: Avoid motherboards with a SIL raid controller on them at all cost.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB