You are not logged in.

#26 2007-12-06 15:43:55

crouse
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Iowa - USA
Registered: 2006-08-19
Posts: 903
Website

Re: The Arch Linux Folding@Home team breaks 3 million points

Arch Linux Team now ranks 278 of 89583

Finally posted my first 2 WU's.... that took awhile wink  Added a whopping 240 points to the total.

http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/mai … mnum=45032
#156 on the team roster and climbing he he he he smile

#145 now smile

Last edited by crouse (2007-12-07 02:03:29)

Offline

#27 2007-12-07 12:25:06

Sekre
Member
From: The Rainy North
Registered: 2006-11-24
Posts: 116

Re: The Arch Linux Folding@Home team breaks 3 million points

Going strong there crouse
Guess you'll pass me in warp speed or something...
I need more 'puterz ! cool

Offline

#28 2007-12-07 15:36:37

crouse
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Iowa - USA
Registered: 2006-08-19
Posts: 903
Website

Re: The Arch Linux Folding@Home team breaks 3 million points

Thanks Sekre,

I'm having a heck of a time with the 64 bit client.  I have a nice new (new to me) 3.6 ghz 64 bit dual core machine to run 64 bit Arch on...... I am having trouble getting the 64 bit client (fah6) to run....... when trying to start .... it always says "./fah6 Directory or file not found".

I'm guessing this is a missing lib or something....... worked on it last night......but no joy yet.  Any enlightenment for my tired brain would be greatly appreciated. On a side note...... last night was the FIRST time I've ever ran 64 bit anything.....so don't be too hard on me if it's a simple stupid fix lol  smile  I'd REALLY like to add the machine to the herd I've got going wink

I'm up to #120 now....... woot  lol smile

EDIT: on a side note....... looks like the Arch team is at 4.4 million points now ...... wonder if we should start a new thread ?? lol.

Last edited by crouse (2007-12-07 15:39:34)

Offline

#29 2007-12-08 00:05:49

crouse
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Iowa - USA
Registered: 2006-08-19
Posts: 903
Website

Re: The Arch Linux Folding@Home team breaks 3 million points

Time to do more recruiting....... wink
Need more crunchers............ 


39      Gentoo Linux Users Everywhere
66      Linux
96      TeamUbuntu
107      Team Firefox
141      KnoppMyth
159      justlinux_regulars
175      Centos
186      FedoraFolders
241      The PCLinuxOS Folding Team
276      Arch Linux
435      LinuxQuestions.org
491      openMosix
572      Fedora France

Offline

#30 2007-12-08 02:36:21

Pudge
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
Registered: 2006-01-23
Posts: 298

Re: The Arch Linux Folding@Home team breaks 3 million points

crouse wrote:

I'm having a heck of a time with the 64 bit client.  I have a nice new (new to me) 3.6 ghz 64 bit dual core machine to run 64 bit Arch on...... I am having trouble getting the 64 bit client (fah6) to run....... when trying to start .... it always says "./fah6 Directory or file not found".

I'm guessing this is a missing lib or something....... worked on it last night......but no joy yet.  Any enlightenment for my tired brain would be greatly appreciated. On a side note...... last night was the FIRST time I've ever ran 64 bit anything.....so don't be too hard on me if it's a simple stupid fix lol  smile  I'd REALLY like to add the machine to the herd I've got going wink

For now, the F@H client which controls the core is still 32 bit, and the core (the part that actually does the folding) is 64 bit.  So you need both 64 bit and 32 bit libraries.  I just loaded all the 32 bit libraries listed in the installing Flash on Arch64 Wiki

http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ins … _on_Arch64

and it worked.  As I use all those 32 bit libraries for nspluginwrapper, I'm not sure exactly which one(s) you need.  Be sure you utilize the SMP client.  See post #8 of this thread for more details.

You will be pleasantly surprised how FAST the SMP client folds WU's and the points per day you get from them.

Pudge

Last edited by Pudge (2007-12-08 02:38:37)

Offline

#31 2007-12-08 05:39:09

crouse
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Iowa - USA
Registered: 2006-08-19
Posts: 903
Website

Re: The Arch Linux Folding@Home team breaks 3 million points

Thanks for the help Pudge !

I did 2 things to get it working........

First:

pacman -Sy gtk2 libxt linux32 lib32-gcc lib32-libxmu lib32-libx11 lib32-libxext lib32-libxt lib32-glibc lib32-libxau lib32-libsm lib32-libice lib32-fontconfig lib32-libxrender lib32-libxinerama lib32-libxrandr lib32-libxcursor lib32-libxfixes lib32-libxft lib32-freetype2 lib32-zlib lib32-expat lib32-gtk2 lib32-atk lib32-pango lib32-glib2 lib32-cairo lib32-libxi lib32-libpng lib32-pcre lib32-alsa-lib lib32-libxcb

probably overkill....... but hey, it worked wink

Then, it was hanging at

[04:28:37] oject: 2605 (Run 17, Clone 531, Gen 8)
[04:28:37]
[04:28:38] Entering M.D.
[04:28:54] acket
[04:28:54]
[04:28:54] Project: 2605 (Run 17, Clone 531, Gen 8)
[04:28:54]
[04:28:55] Entering M.D.
NNODES=4, MYRANK=1, HOSTNAME=VistaCrusher
NNODES=4, MYRANK=0, HOSTNAME=VistaCrusher
NNODES=4, MYRANK=3, HOSTNAME=VistaCrusher
NNODES=4, MYRANK=2, HOSTNAME=VistaCrusher

Edited /etc/hosts  and added the hostname to the end of the line that resolves

#
# /etc/hosts: static lookup table for host names
#

#<ip-address>   <hostname.domain.org>   <hostname>
127.0.0.1               localhost.localdomain   localhost VistaCrusher

restarted the network /etc/rc.d/network restart

and then started the client

screen ./fah6 -smp

seems to be working fine...... not sure if i should have enabled hyperthreading or not but it's running......

  PID USER      PR  NI  VIRT  RES  SHR S %CPU %MEM    TIME+  COMMAND
13841 crouse    39  19 94372  55m 2332 S   65 11.1   5:27.66 FahCore_a1.exe
13840 crouse    39  19  103m  65m 2568 S   54 13.2   4:45.88 FahCore_a1.exe
13842 crouse    39  19 88732  49m 1980 S   46  9.9   4:00.99 FahCore_a1.exe
13843 crouse    39  19 87836  48m 2240 S   25  9.8   2:14.65 FahCore_a1.exe
13499 crouse    20   0  495m  95m  23m S    2 19.2   1:28.33 firefox-bin

Guess we will see what it does wink


EDIT: Just noticed I'm at #104 now...... woot !  lol.
Lets see how long it takes to me to make it to the top 20 wink

Last edited by crouse (2007-12-08 05:54:54)

Offline

#32 2007-12-08 06:26:30

Stalafin
Member
From: Berlin, Germany
Registered: 2007-10-26
Posts: 616

Re: The Arch Linux Folding@Home team breaks 3 million points

I am not sure which would be the best way to run the client... smile

I have followed the instructions in the Wiki, and changed my /etc/conf.d/foldingathome such that it will be running from my user.

Now, should I start the daemon with '/etc/rc.d/foldingathome start' or is there another way?


EDIT: Oh, and how long does it usually take to complete 1% of a task? There seems to be some heavy calculation going on, but I just want to get some feedback.... smile


EDIT2: Yay, have 5% now. smile

Last edited by Stalafin (2007-12-08 09:52:10)

Offline

#33 2007-12-09 21:55:33

crouse
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Iowa - USA
Registered: 2006-08-19
Posts: 903
Website

Re: The Arch Linux Folding@Home team breaks 3 million points

I'm catching ya pudge....  smile  I'm now at # 84 lol lol

Offline

#34 2007-12-09 23:32:53

Pudge
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
Registered: 2006-01-23
Posts: 298

Re: The Arch Linux Folding@Home team breaks 3 million points

crouse wrote:

I'm catching ya pudge....  smile  I'm now at # 84 lol lol

Bring it on Dude!:)  Fold harder, fold faster.

Pudge

Last edited by Pudge (2007-12-10 03:40:26)

Offline

#35 2007-12-10 12:15:54

Sekre
Member
From: The Rainy North
Registered: 2006-11-24
Posts: 116

Re: The Arch Linux Folding@Home team breaks 3 million points

Should really get x64 up and running :S
Didn't know there was that much of a difference actually.

I don't think I will beat ya crouse, but I shall do my best hehe =P
I wonder if there might be a friendly underground computer center nearby... >_>

Offline

#36 2007-12-10 19:05:24

crouse
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Iowa - USA
Registered: 2006-08-19
Posts: 903
Website

Re: The Arch Linux Folding@Home team breaks 3 million points

#83 now wink  and the fast computer hasn't even reported it's stuff yet big_smile big_smile

Now......... to attract more members to fold for the team smile

Offline

#37 2007-12-11 03:42:23

Pudge
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
Registered: 2006-01-23
Posts: 298

Re: The Arch Linux Folding@Home team breaks 3 million points

Sekre wrote:

Should really get x64 up and running :S
Didn't know there was that much of a difference actually.

x64 single core doesn't make that much difference.  x86 Dual core or Quad core makes a BIG difference using the SMP client.

Pudge

Offline

#38 2007-12-11 05:10:19

crouse
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Iowa - USA
Registered: 2006-08-19
Posts: 903
Website

Re: The Arch Linux Folding@Home team breaks 3 million points

I'm down to #68 now smile  Moving up ........  See ya in a bit Pudge big_smile

Team Ranking (incl. aggregate)       276 of 90466

If we keep it up, maybe we can pass PCLinuxOS team wink

Last edited by crouse (2007-12-11 05:14:04)

Offline

#39 2007-12-13 20:04:43

alexmat
Member
Registered: 2004-12-31
Posts: 100

Re: The Arch Linux Folding@Home team breaks 3 million points

273!!! The march to top 200 is on.

We'll get there in no time because Arch folders are using a freaking awesome OS smile

Offline

#40 2007-12-15 17:43:35

Sekre
Member
From: The Rainy North
Registered: 2006-11-24
Posts: 116

Re: The Arch Linux Folding@Home team breaks 3 million points

Pudge wrote:
Sekre wrote:

Should really get x64 up and running :S
Didn't know there was that much of a difference actually.

x64 single core doesn't make that much difference.  x86 Dual core or Quad core makes a BIG difference using the SMP client.

Pudge

A C2D would be dual x64 so that will be good then yes ? smile

Offline

#41 2007-12-16 06:37:16

Pudge
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
Registered: 2006-01-23
Posts: 298

Re: The Arch Linux Folding@Home team breaks 3 million points

Sekre wrote:
Pudge wrote:
Sekre wrote:

Should really get x64 up and running :S
Didn't know there was that much of a difference actually.

x64 single core doesn't make that much difference.  x86 Dual core or Quad core makes a BIG difference using the SMP client.

Pudge

A C2D would be dual x64 so that will be good then yes ? smile

If you have Arch 64 bit installed as the Operating System, and you are using the SMP Folding @ Home client, then that would be good.  You will probably get around 900 points per day on that dual core running the SMP client.

Pudge

Offline

#42 2007-12-17 01:28:48

Finkregh
Member
From: Germany/Hannover
Registered: 2007-12-04
Posts: 44

Re: The Arch Linux Folding@Home team breaks 3 million points

crossposting to: http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=41078

well, yes. i visit the forums from time to time big_smile

I have two lower-spec machines @home not running fah all the time and two equal machines at the local computer centre; non-mod debian-64 kernel, two quad-core Xeons /w 8Gb RAM tongue
i wont be able to let them work for "us" on long term, they have just been installed and nobody cares big_smile

# uname -a
Linux XXX 2.6.18-5-amd64 #1 SMP Mon Dec 3 04:55:28 UTC 2007 x86_64 GNU/Linux
# cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor       : 0
vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
cpu family      : 6
model           : 15
model name      : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU           E5320  @ 1.86GHz
stepping        : 7
cpu MHz         : 1866.809
cache size      : 4096 KB
physical id     : 0
siblings        : 4
core id         : 0
cpu cores       : 4
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 10
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm syscall nx lm constant_tsc pni monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 cx16 xtpr lahf_lm
bogomips        : 3736.63
clflush size    : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes   : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management:

[...]

processor       : 7
vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
cpu family      : 6
model           : 15
model name      : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU           E5320  @ 1.86GHz
stepping        : 7
cpu MHz         : 1866.809
cache size      : 4096 KB
physical id     : 1
siblings        : 4
core id         : 3
cpu cores       : 4
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 10
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm syscall nx lm constant_tsc pni monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 cx16 xtpr lahf_lm
bogomips        : 3733.81
clflush size    : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes   : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management:
# free -m
             total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:          7988       1087       6900          0        145        444

édit: i use the following switches: ./fah6 -local -forceasm -smp -advmethods -verbosity 9

Last edited by Finkregh (2007-12-17 01:31:12)

Offline

#43 2007-12-17 03:57:04

Pudge
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
Registered: 2006-01-23
Posts: 298

Re: The Arch Linux Folding@Home team breaks 3 million points

Finkregh wrote:

I have two lower-spec machines @home not running fah all the time and two equal machines at the local computer centre; non-mod debian-64 kernel, two quad-core Xeons /w 8Gb RAM tongue
i wont be able to let them work for "us" on long term, they have just been installed and nobody cares big_smile

Finkregh;

Thanks for posting your info on the Quad core Xeons.   I wish I had a couple of those!  Let me make sure I have this straight.  At the computer center, you have two machines with 8 cores each, for a total of 16 cores?  I noticed for the last 4 days you have averaged 6000 points per day.  That would be 3000 points per day per machine if I have this straight.  Are you running two instances of the F@H smp client per machine, or just one instance per machine?  The F@H smp core is designed to run optimally on 4 cores.  With a 8 core machine, I believe you could run two instances of the  client.  If you are only running one instance, I'm betting that running two instances would come close to doubling your output to about 6000 points per day per machine.  In a terminal window, run top and see what percentage of CPU usage each instance of FahCore_a1.exe is using.  Here is a snippet of my top:

  PID USER      PR  NI  VIRT  RES  SHR S %    CPU %    MEM    TIME+  COMMAND                                   
6646 don       39  19 94576  55m 2368 S       57      2.9 234:02.88 FahCore_a1.exe                           
6645 don       39  19  103m  65m 2520 S       51      3.5 215:18.46 FahCore_a1.exe                           
6647 don       39  19 88420  49m 2024 S       39      2.6 163:48.88 FahCore_a1.exe                           
6648 don       39  19 87784  48m 2228 S       24      2.6 100:07.20 FahCore_a1.exe 

The way I understand it, the F@H smp client ALWAYS starts 4 threads, irregardless of how many cores you have.  So, even though I only have a Dual Core machine, the F@H smp client starts four threads, so each core is running 2 threads.  Not as efficient as four cores, which would run one thread per core.  Unless I'm mistaken, on a 8 core machine, one instance of the client still only starts 4 threads.  To achieve one thread per core, you would need to run two instances of the F@H smp client.

Even if the computer center machines are only temporary, it all helps.:)  Besides, you are actually doing the computer center a favor by stress testing their new machines.  If there are any intermittent problems lurking in a new machine, Folding @ Home will find them.  If you are only running one instance of the client, then running two instances would stress test it even more.

Pudge

Offline

#44 2007-12-17 16:28:50

Finkregh
Member
From: Germany/Hannover
Registered: 2007-12-04
Posts: 44

Re: The Arch Linux Folding@Home team breaks 3 million points

Pudge wrote:

Are you running two instances of the F@H smp client per machine, or just one instance per machine?  The F@H smp core is designed to run optimally on 4 cores.  With a 8 core machine, I believe you could run two instances of the  client.  If you are only running one instance, I'm betting that running two instances would come close to doubling your output to about 6000 points per day per machine.

well, i forgot to point that out; i am allready running two instances:

Cpu0  :  0.0%us,  2.1%sy, 35.0%ni, 62.5%id,  0.0%wa,  0.0%hi,  0.3%si,  0.0%st
Cpu1  :  0.0%us,  2.3%sy, 42.2%ni, 55.1%id,  0.0%wa,  0.0%hi,  0.4%si,  0.0%st
Cpu2  :  0.0%us,  2.7%sy, 66.7%ni, 30.2%id,  0.0%wa,  0.0%hi,  0.4%si,  0.0%st
Cpu3  :  0.0%us,  2.5%sy, 57.3%ni, 39.9%id,  0.0%wa,  0.0%hi,  0.4%si,  0.0%st
Cpu4  :  0.0%us,  2.4%sy, 45.8%ni, 51.5%id,  0.0%wa,  0.0%hi,  0.4%si,  0.0%st
Cpu5  :  0.0%us,  2.3%sy, 42.7%ni, 54.7%id,  0.0%wa,  0.0%hi,  0.3%si,  0.0%st
Cpu6  :  0.0%us,  2.4%sy, 52.8%ni, 44.5%id,  0.0%wa,  0.0%hi,  0.4%si,  0.0%st
Cpu7  :  0.0%us,  2.5%sy, 57.9%ni, 39.3%id,  0.0%wa,  0.0%hi,  0.4%si,  0.0%st
Mem:   8179984k total,  1114948k used,  7065036k free,   149172k buffers
Swap:  8193128k total,        0k used,  8193128k free,   454452k cached

  PID USER      PR  NI  VIRT  RES  SHR S %CPU %MEM    TIME+  COMMAND
  570 root      34  19  100m  65m 2548 S  103  0.8  56:35.40 FahCore_a1.exe
32631 root      34  19  100m  65m 2556 S   96  0.8 520:28.26 FahCore_a1.exe
32632 root      34  19 91776  55m 2352 S   93  0.7 474:45.46 FahCore_a1.exe
  571 root      34  19 91464  55m 2324 S   78  0.7  51:51.42 FahCore_a1.exe
32633 root      34  19 85804  49m 1936 S   61  0.6 323:41.44 FahCore_a1.exe
  572 root      34  19 85688  49m 1960 S   61  0.6  35:24.34 FahCore_a1.exe
32634 root      34  19 84780  48m 2208 S   39  0.6 216:53.71 FahCore_a1.exe
  573 root      34  19 84732  48m 2224 S   39  0.6  23:23.29 FahCore_a1.exe

Even if the computer center machines are only temporary, it all helps.:)  Besides, you are actually doing the computer center a favor by stress testing their new machines.  If there are any intermittent problems lurking in a new machine, Folding @ Home will find them.  If you are only running one instance of the client, then running two instances would stress test it even more.

:>

Offline

#45 2007-12-18 14:59:24

crouse
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Iowa - USA
Registered: 2006-08-19
Posts: 903
Website

Re: The Arch Linux Folding@Home team breaks 3 million points

Arch Linux team is now #269 of 91446

I'm up to #59 in the team rankings smile 
Trying hard to break into that top 20 big_smile big_smile

I need more computers......


EDIT: 57 wink

Now ----- #53 smile

now
50 .......

Last edited by crouse (2007-12-21 07:19:54)

Offline

#46 2008-01-03 17:33:58

jacko
Member
Registered: 2007-11-23
Posts: 840

Re: The Arch Linux Folding@Home team breaks 3 million points

so let me get this straight, why would I wanna participate in this project, other then to gloat about my ranking?

Offline

#47 2008-01-03 20:39:13

Wilson Phillips
Member
From: Natchez, MS, USA
Registered: 2007-09-24
Posts: 59
Website

Re: The Arch Linux Folding@Home team breaks 3 million points

Cause you will be using your PC to help cure diseases.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB