You are not logged in.

#1 2004-06-14 03:16:38

kleptophobiac
Member
From: Sunnyvale, CA
Registered: 2004-04-25
Posts: 481

Anybody out there using arch for an HTPC?

I'm planning to make an HTPC box this summer, and I'm planning to run MythTV on it.

Has anybody done this with arch, or would I be better of with a different distro?

Offline

#2 2004-06-14 04:35:10

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: Anybody out there using arch for an HTPC?

I don't know what an HTPC is, but I used to have working mythtv packages.  gcc 3.4 has problems with mythtv though, so I didn't put a lot more time into it.


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#3 2004-06-14 11:26:19

kleptophobiac
Member
From: Sunnyvale, CA
Registered: 2004-04-25
Posts: 481

Re: Anybody out there using arch for an HTPC?

HTPC - home theater pc

Yay.... thus far I'm kinda sick of gcc 3.4 and how it breaks everything. Hey, is there a way to install old versions of things? I would like to have an old version of X (would like 4.3.0) and an old version of GCC (maybe 2.9x or so smile )

Offline

#4 2004-06-14 15:28:53

famavolat
Member
From: Louisville, KY
Registered: 2003-09-22
Posts: 80
Website

Re: Anybody out there using arch for an HTPC?

kleptophobiac wrote:

HTPC - home theater pc

Yay.... thus far I'm kinda sick of gcc 3.4 and how it breaks everything. Hey, is there a way to install old versions of things? I would like to have an old version of X (would like 4.3.0) and an old version of GCC (maybe 2.9x or so smile )

You can use the ABS system to make an older package . All you have to do is edit the PKGBUILD file and where $pkgver is and put the older version number. As long as the $pkgurl still has the older version it should work.

Sometimes you can get lucky and that will work. But then sometimes there are other build options and different .install files. Just try it out and see.  wink

Offline

#5 2004-06-15 03:15:30

kleptophobiac
Member
From: Sunnyvale, CA
Registered: 2004-04-25
Posts: 481

Re: Anybody out there using arch for an HTPC?

I guess I'll have to....

While the thought is in my head, is there a package set for x.org? I tried to do a locate for something along those lines, but came up empty-handed.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB