You are not logged in.

#26 2004-06-14 13:36:59

lmellen
Member
From: Fairport, NY
Registered: 2004-06-11
Posts: 120

Re: can't get on line

bobonov -- it is a 20 gig hd split 50/50. I'll do as you say and be back in   
                 a couple of hours.  Thanks -- Larry

Offline

#27 2004-06-14 16:43:27

lmellen
Member
From: Fairport, NY
Registered: 2004-06-11
Posts: 120

Re: can't get on line

:?: Bobonov -- I'm back to base with a good install. All I've done so far
      is pacman -Sy. I'm still on line. I think the problem is pacman -Su?
      Could certain files get replaced with newer files, making them
      unaccessable to the older files? I'll wait for your reply before doing
      anything more.
                                  Thank You -- Larry

Offline

#28 2004-06-14 17:00:21

Bobonov
Member
From: Roma - Italy
Registered: 2003-05-07
Posts: 295

Re: can't get on line

pacman -Sy
sincronize the pacman database with the latest version
pacman -Su
update all the package

So at first  I suggest you to update pacman
pacman -S pacman

then download hwd package
http://amlug.net/new-projects/hwd/packa … pkg.tar.gz
and istall it
go to the dir where you downloaded the file then type
pacman  -A hwd-2.2-4.pkg.tar.gz
So now you have hwd installed for any evenience
After that give me some more hint about the configuratio, like:
kernel version
where did you configured network module
hwd result

Offline

#29 2004-06-14 19:10:37

lmellen
Member
From: Fairport, NY
Registered: 2004-06-11
Posts: 120

Re: can't get on line

:?: Bobonov-- Can I http:// from command line? -- Larry

Offline

#30 2004-06-14 19:57:47

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: can't get on line

yes, if you have wget installed.

pacman -S wget
wget http://pathtofile

Offline

#31 2004-06-14 21:44:52

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,366
Website

Re: can't get on line

lmellen wrote:

:?: Bobonov-- Can I http:// from command line? -- Larry

or if you want to surf in the comandline:
install links or elinks or lynx


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#32 2004-06-15 01:53:18

lmellen
Member
From: Fairport, NY
Registered: 2004-06-11
Posts: 120

Re: can't get on line

Thanks Dusty -- That worked well. I almost gave up on it, but after about
      10 minutes it grabbed it on the eighth try.                 
                                         Thanks again -- Larry  big_smile

Offline

#33 2004-06-15 01:59:49

lmellen
Member
From: Fairport, NY
Registered: 2004-06-11
Posts: 120

Re: can't get on line

big_smile Bobonov -- I have hwd sitting on my hd in root. I can just unzip it where
      it sits right? Also I fixed the off line problem, everything works well now,
      upgrades and all.  Thanks -- Larry

Offline

#34 2004-06-15 13:34:50

Bobonov
Member
From: Roma - Italy
Registered: 2003-05-07
Posts: 295

Re: can't get on line

The hwd you downloaded is a pacman package to install it just
pacman -A <package-file-name.pkg.tar.gz>

Pacman allow you to install package by etither taking them from remote server or as local file
man pacman
to see all the possibility pacman offer

hwd is a realy good tool for newbie, it give hint about the needed module to load, generate a xfree configuration file (it will be placed in /etc/X11 the name is XFree86-4), and generate a manpage with some configuration hint for your system
man howto

Offline

#35 2004-06-16 01:07:39

lmellen
Member
From: Fairport, NY
Registered: 2004-06-11
Posts: 120

Re: can't get on line

big_smile Thanks  Bobonov, hwd is installed and working fine.  Another newbie
      question if you have the time and patience?
      I thought XFree86 was supposed to be downloaded with hwd?
      I can't find it, it's not in /etc. I still need XFree86, abi word, kde,
      mozilla and a  j2sdk java compiller.
      I thought pacman  was capable of download something from the
      web??? Is pacman only a manager for packages on the system???
      I need XFree86, so I have to find another computer, go to the
      XFree86 website, find a XFree86 tarball, copy the web address, copy the
      tarball file information, come back and use wget to download the
      tarball?? :?  I suppose I can get the info from you, but again, pacman
      doesn't download directly from the web?? Anyway I'm probably missing
     something here, if so somebody will surely correct me  :?
                                 Thank You -- Larry

Offline

#36 2004-06-16 01:31:51

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,366
Website

Re: can't get on line

lmellen wrote:

big_smile Thanks  Bobonov, hwd is installed and working fine.  Another newbie
      question if you have the time and patience?
      I thought XFree86 was supposed to be downloaded with hwd?
      I can't find it, it's not in /etc. I still need XFree86, abi word, kde,
      mozilla and a  j2sdk java compiller.
      I thought pacman  was capable of download something from the
      web??? Is pacman only a manager for packages on the system???
      I need XFree86, so I have to find another computer, go to the
      XFree86 website, find a XFree86 tarball, copy the web address, copy the
      tarball file information, come back and use wget to download the
      tarball?? :?  I suppose I can get the info from you, but again, pacman
      doesn't download directly from the web?? Anyway I'm probably missing
     something here, if so somebody will surely correct me  :?
                                 Thank You -- Larry

pacman -Sy kde

then

pacman -Sy j2sdk mozilla

and to update the system in general, run

pacman -Suy

but if the kernel is also updated and you use lilo as bootloader, then you have to run it to update

lilo

if somehow pacman is not downloading from the net directly you maybe are behind a proxy or something - if this is the case, read this:
http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php? … ight=proxy

and in general have a look at the docs for pacman
http://www.archlinux.org/docs/en/guide/ … l#packages

hwd do not install anything for you - nor does it download anything - it only gives you infos what module you need for the hardware you have + it prepares you a config file for X

good luck


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#37 2004-06-16 01:41:17

lmellen
Member
From: Fairport, NY
Registered: 2004-06-11
Posts: 120

Re: can't get on line

big_smile  Thanks dp -  I thought I had something screwed up.
      - pacman  -Sy XFree86- should get me Xfree 86?
       How long does it take to download kde with pacman?
       It took about 12 hrs with emerge in gentoo.
                         Thanks again - Larry

Offline

#38 2004-06-16 01:47:04

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,366
Website

Re: can't get on line

lmellen wrote:

big_smile  Thanks dp -  I thought I had something screwed up.
      - pacman  -Sy XFree86- should get me Xfree 86?
       How long does it take to download kde with pacman?
       It took about 12 hrs with emerge in gentoo.
                         Thanks again - Larry

pacman -Sy xfree86

will get you XFree86 ... note that all pkgnames are lowcase

how long? depends on the speed of your connection - it's about 150MB to download (some hours on normal dialup) and then about 2-5min to install --- no need to compile them locally - that's the difference to gentoo (and the main reason i use it and not gentoo :-) )


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB