You are not logged in.

#26 2004-06-06 20:42:09

Net@Worm
Member
From: Moscow, Russia
Registered: 2004-05-02
Posts: 214

Re: pacman wrapper to allow source builds (srcpac)

Why then i use command pacman -S srcpac, its says that this package isnt in db?

Offline

#27 2004-06-06 20:50:12

kakabaratruskia
Member
From: Santiago, Chile
Registered: 2003-08-24
Posts: 596

Re: pacman wrapper to allow source builds (srcpac)

maybe pacman -Sy srcpac helps.


And where were all the sportsmen who always pulled you though?
They're all resting down in Cornwall
writing up their memoirs for a paper-back edition
of the Boy Scout Manual.

Offline

#28 2004-06-06 20:53:48

Net@Worm
Member
From: Moscow, Russia
Registered: 2004-05-02
Posts: 214

Re: pacman wrapper to allow source builds (srcpac)

root]# pacman -Sy srcpac
:: Synchronizing package databases... 
 current                  [################] 100%      39K    21.7K/s  00:00:01
 extra                    [################] 100%     137K    26.0K/s  00:00:05
 unstable                 [################] 100%       1K     0.9K/s  00:00:02
 testing                  [################] 100%       1K     0.9K/s  00:00:01
 staging                  [################] 100%      15K     9.5K/s  00:00:01
 bfinch                   [################] 100%       3K     2.6K/s  00:00:01
 contrasutra              [################] 100%       0K     0.2K/s  00:00:01
 deepfreeze               [################] 100%       0K     0.6K/s  00:00:01
 dp                       [################] 100%       3K     2.9K/s  00:00:01
 hapy                     [################] 100%       0K     0.5K/s  00:00:01
 kritoke                  [################] 100%       2K     0.9K/s  00:00:02
 roberto                  [################] 100%       0K     0.2K/s  00:00:02
 twm                      [################] 100%       2K     1.8K/s  00:00:01
 whatah                   [################] 100%       1K     1.1K/s  00:00:01
 xentac                   [################] 100%       0K     0.4K/s  00:00:01
 brice                    [################] 100%       3K     2.5K/s  00:00:01
 tpowa                    [################] 100%       1K     0.8K/s  00:00:01
srcpac: not found in sync db

[root@networm root]#

Offline

#29 2004-06-06 21:24:49

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: pacman wrapper to allow source builds (srcpac)

kakabaratruskia wrote:

I've been using it, and I have to say that it's a wonderful app. I know that you don't want to put it in pacman, because KISS people would complain, but I say, screw them, this tool is the best. I say "Revolution.........."

It works way better as a script because otherwise it would overcomplicate pacman.  I'm one of those KISS people and that's why I wrote the wrapper.


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#30 2004-06-06 21:27:16

kakabaratruskia
Member
From: Santiago, Chile
Registered: 2003-08-24
Posts: 596

Re: pacman wrapper to allow source builds (srcpac)

Maybe I'll start a new distro, called almost-arch, that has this option in pacman (If I learn to program some day) ;-)


And where were all the sportsmen who always pulled you though?
They're all resting down in Cornwall
writing up their memoirs for a paper-back edition
of the Boy Scout Manual.

Offline

#31 2004-06-06 21:36:40

Net@Worm
Member
From: Moscow, Russia
Registered: 2004-05-02
Posts: 214

Re: pacman wrapper to allow source builds (srcpac)

So, why a command "pacman -Sy srcpac" may return "srcpac: not found in sync db"?

Offline

#32 2004-06-06 21:44:49

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: pacman wrapper to allow source builds (srcpac)

Because the mirror you're using hasn't been updated yet.


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#33 2004-06-06 22:06:41

Net@Worm
Member
From: Moscow, Russia
Registered: 2004-05-02
Posts: 214

Re: pacman wrapper to allow source builds (srcpac)

I use standart mirrors.

Offline

#34 2004-06-06 23:14:57

jlvsimoes
Member
From: portugal
Registered: 2002-12-23
Posts: 392
Website

Re: pacman wrapper to allow source builds (srcpac)

i used it today xentac i KISS you yikes
no more need for a var/abs/local


-----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK-----
Version: 3.1
GU/ d- s: a- C L U P+ L+++ E--- W+
N 0+ K- W-- !O !M V-- PS+ PE- V++ PGP T 5 Z+ R* TV+ B+
DI-- D- G-- e-- h! r++ z+ z*
------END GEEK CODE BLOCK------

Offline

#35 2004-06-14 01:39:30

punkrockguy318
Member
From: New Jersey
Registered: 2004-02-15
Posts: 707
Website

Re: pacman wrapper to allow source builds (srcpac)

A nice option would be to reinstall all source built packages with the official Arch 686 binaries.  That will make your life much easier if you switch your p4 with a athlon64, or something similar like that.  If you tried to do that in gentoo you would have reinstall your entire system.  Ouch!  Maybe if I'm bored on one of those friday night's I'll make a wrapper or something.  Maybe if someone else is bored on one of those friday night's they'll make a wrapper or something smile


If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing.   1 Corinthians 13:2

Offline

#36 2004-06-14 02:00:54

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: pacman wrapper to allow source builds (srcpac)

I think that should probably be a seperate script, but it would use information from /var/lib/srcpac.  Feel free to develop it and I'll distribute it with srcpac.


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#37 2004-06-14 02:15:41

punkrockguy318
Member
From: New Jersey
Registered: 2004-02-15
Posts: 707
Website

Re: pacman wrapper to allow source builds (srcpac)

Cool, sounds good.  I'll do it some rainy day, when I'm very bored.


If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing.   1 Corinthians 13:2

Offline

#38 2004-06-14 21:24:32

Dragon546
Member
Registered: 2004-05-28
Posts: 5

Re: pacman wrapper to allow source builds (srcpac)

Hi Xentac

I am newbie to linux and arch I have program that I have been trying to install on Arch but pacman and ABS has not been able to deal with it because the name of program has a space in its name.  The yahoo chat program called Gyach Enhanced it does come with source as well as rpm binarys.  Does srcpac handle a program like this. If this work it will solve all my requirements I want from my linux desktop.

I will download this and try with srcpac and I will let you know.

Offline

#39 2004-06-14 21:38:47

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: pacman wrapper to allow source builds (srcpac)

What about replacing the space with an underscore?

Offline

#40 2004-06-14 22:20:06

Dragon546
Member
Registered: 2004-05-28
Posts: 5

Re: pacman wrapper to allow source builds (srcpac)

Dusty I saw a post with a bug in ABS with regards to names with a space the example used is the program I been wanting to use for ages.  This is the only voice and cam client that works under the yahoo protocol not sure if any fellow archers uses this program if so and they compiled it to source I wonder if they can help me


Thanks

Offline

#41 2004-06-15 00:23:43

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: pacman wrapper to allow source builds (srcpac)

Archlinux package names cannot have spaces in them.  Period.  It's part of the specification.  The bug you saw was related to trying to build packages in a directory with a space in the name.

Just because the program's name is "The Super Duperest Bestest Program Ever" doesn't mean that's exactly what the package name has to be (BTW - you're also not supposed to use capital letters in the package name).  Use the_super_duperest_bestest_program_ever for the package name.  Or something easier to remember/type like tsdbp or sdbp.  Hell, call it my_farts_smell_funny.  People will just have trouble finding it then...


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#42 2004-11-21 01:40:55

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: pacman wrapper to allow source builds (srcpac)

xentac,

is there a wiki on how to use srcpac? I would like to give it a shot, as it sounds like just what I need for keeping track of my minute changes to ruby and php (builds without certain dependencies).

Or, anyone else who uses srcpac, and is confident enough in its use to write a wiki..that would be great.  8)


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#43 2004-11-21 19:07:17

Michel
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-07-31
Posts: 286

Re: pacman wrapper to allow source builds (srcpac)

Heya,

nice that someone has programmed this. Really nice. ... I was also thinking ... keep it liek it is fo rth emost part. So let's say .. you want to have a custom pkgbuild for a packge, wouldn't it be easier that you point abs/pacman to another structure than /var/abs. So, you haev the standard pkgbuild's in /var/abs and uyou create the same directory-structure as /var/abs somewhere else where you put your own PKGBUILDS. I also like it simple if it can be like that.. In the PKGBUILDS you soecify what you want to change, but what of something changes in the original PKGBUILD ? A fix or so for compiling a new version of the program ... this adds some extra manual work, although I suppose it is still better than doing all the work yourself.

Maybe it exists already, but it would be nice if you could specify that a package and all it's dependencies shouldn't be be build as source anymore ..., so that you don't have to manually search for every dependency and deletes its file.

so we have pacman for binary, abs/makepkg for source, makeworld for source and srcpac. To my thinking pacman is more like thinking in program names and makepkg in PKGBUILDS, so I like srcpac's name and commands ... although I leave it open for now. I have never really used makeworld.

Michel

Offline

#44 2004-11-22 01:03:28

woodstock
Member
From: Toronto / Canada
Registered: 2004-11-21
Posts: 68

Re: pacman wrapper to allow source builds (srcpac)

Actaully there is already something like this.

/var/abs holds all of the standard PKGBUILD and if you want to customize a PKGBUILD or you have your own made, you simple put it under /var/abs/local/your-program-name. This is to prevent abs from overwritting your custom builds the next time you run abs.

I hope this answers your question.


-- woodstock

Offline

#45 2004-11-22 18:48:01

Michel
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-07-31
Posts: 286

Re: pacman wrapper to allow source builds (srcpac)

Thanks for the info !! Didn't know that ... but ofcourse what if the package gets updated ...

Michel

Offline

#46 2004-11-22 18:59:51

woodstock
Member
From: Toronto / Canada
Registered: 2004-11-21
Posts: 68

Re: pacman wrapper to allow source builds (srcpac)

What do you mean, "what if the package gets updated?".

Well, from my understanding, abs doesn't write anything to the /var/abs/local folder, keeping it safe from all updates. So none of your stuff will be overwritten. All updates shouldn't affect you. Now, if its a custom package that's not in the repository (hence the main reason most people make a package on their own) gets an update, its up to you to update it if you want to. Just edit your PKGBUILD for that package with the new information for the newer package and makepkg again.

I hope I didn't missunderstand your question.


-- woodstock

Offline

#47 2004-11-23 18:04:14

Michel
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-07-31
Posts: 286

Re: pacman wrapper to allow source builds (srcpac)

Yes,

that was what I meant. If it is only a package-version-update that just updates the version-tag and the download-tag, it would be easy if it was automatically taken care of ... I think anyway.

Michel

Offline

#48 2004-11-24 01:00:20

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: pacman wrapper to allow source builds (srcpac)

any how to's or wiki docs on srcpac yet?


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#49 2004-12-08 22:24:31

xerxes2
Member
From: Malmoe, Sweden
Registered: 2004-04-23
Posts: 1,249
Website

Re: pacman wrapper to allow source builds (srcpac)

cactus wrote:

any how to's or wiki docs on srcpac yet?

i haven't used srcpac much and there isn't a manpage either so i copied of pacmans and made a draft,
i don't know which functions is implemented yet,
maybe Xentac can fill it in and throw it in the real version

srcpac(8)

NAME 
       srcpac - wrapper for pacman and makepkg

SYNOPSIS
       srcpac  <operation> [options] <package> [package] ...

DESCRIPTION
       Srcpac is a bash script that uses Pacman and Makepkg as 
       backends for installing packages from source.

OPERATIONS
       -V --version 

       -A --add

       -R --remove

       -U --upgrade

       -F --freshen

       -Q --query

       -S --sync

OPTIONS
       -i INFO

       -f FORCE

       -r ROOT

       -d NODEPS

       -b BUILD 

       -y REFRESH

       -u SYSUPGRADE

       -w DOWNLOAD

       -o ONLYCONF

EXAMPLES
       srcpac -Sb foo
          builds and installs foo with dependencies   

if you wanna fill it in yourself and use it as a manpage just save the file as srcpac.txt and run the following lines in as root

# tar -czf srcpac.8.gz srcpac.txt
# cp /path/to/srcpac.8.gz /usr/man/man8

arch + gentoo + initng + python = enlisy

Offline

#50 2004-12-08 23:28:57

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: pacman wrapper to allow source builds (srcpac)

xerxes2 wrote:
cactus wrote:

any how to's or wiki docs on srcpac yet?

i haven't used srcpac much and there isn't a manpage either so i copied of pacmans and made a draft,
i don't know which functions is implemented yet,
maybe Xentac can fill it in and throw it in the real version

srcpac(8)

NAME 
       srcpac - wrapper for pacman and makepkg

SYNOPSIS
       srcpac  <operation> [options] <package> [package] ...

DESCRIPTION
       Srcpac is a bash script that uses Pacman and Makepkg as 
       backends for installing packages from source.

OPERATIONS
       -V --version 

       -A --add

       -R --remove

       -U --upgrade

       -F --freshen

       -Q --query

       -S --sync

OPTIONS
       -i INFO

       -f FORCE

       -r ROOT

       -d NODEPS

       -b BUILD 

       -y REFRESH

       -u SYSUPGRADE

       -w DOWNLOAD

       -o ONLYCONF

EXAMPLES
       srcpac -Sb foo
          builds and installs foo with dependencies   

if you wanna fill it in yourself and use it as a manpage just save the file as srcpac.txt and run the following lines in as root

# tar -czf srcpac.8.gz srcpac.txt
# cp /path/to/srcpac.8.gz /usr/man/man8

*hugs xerxes2*
...but in a strictly manly fashion...
wink


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB