You are not logged in.

#1 2004-06-14 21:43:01

jmdlcar
Member
From: Marysville Ohio
Registered: 2004-04-25
Posts: 20

xfce, xmms and mozilla

Dose anyone have a package list for just xfce, xmms and mozilla that would like to share?

Offline

#2 2004-06-14 22:16:45

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: xfce, xmms and mozilla

pacman -Sy xfce4 xmms mozilla

should do it


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#3 2004-06-14 22:36:46

jmdlcar
Member
From: Marysville Ohio
Registered: 2004-04-25
Posts: 20

Re: xfce, xmms and mozilla

So do a basic install? I downloaded "arch-0.6-base.iso" will that be enough? Or should I install "widget" package list?

Offline

#4 2004-06-14 23:08:03

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: xfce, xmms and mozilla

jmdlcar wrote:

So do a basic install? I downloaded "arch-0.6-base.iso" will that be enough? Or should I install "widget" package list?

no need to install the full 0.6 cd, as you anyways will need to update quite all of the pkgs, as quite all are outdated --- use pacman -Suy after base-installation to update, or wait till 0.7 cd is out


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#5 2004-06-14 23:11:48

jmdlcar
Member
From: Marysville Ohio
Registered: 2004-04-25
Posts: 20

Re: xfce, xmms and mozilla

Do you Know how soon 0.7 will be out?

Offline

#6 2004-06-14 23:15:15

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: xfce, xmms and mozilla

jmdlcar wrote:

Do you Know how soon 0.7 will be out?

hmm ... it should be soon (1week? 1month? 3months?), but not tomorrow --- if i would need to install a machine now, i would start with base and then update it with pacman over the internet if you have a internet-connection that do not cost too much (flatrate) --- but if you must pay for the minutes, wait for the 0.7


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#7 2004-06-14 23:41:50

jmdlcar
Member
From: Marysville Ohio
Registered: 2004-04-25
Posts: 20

Re: xfce, xmms and mozilla

I have DSL so I could do ftp install.

Offline

#8 2004-06-15 00:23:35

xerxes2
Member
From: Malmoe, Sweden
Registered: 2004-04-23
Posts: 1,249
Website

Re: xfce, xmms and mozilla

FTP install rules! big_smile  big_smile  Don't forget to put your eth0 driver in modprobe.conf and edit rc.conf. wink


arch + gentoo + initng + python = enlisy

Offline

#9 2004-06-15 00:48:57

jmdlcar
Member
From: Marysville Ohio
Registered: 2004-04-25
Posts: 20

Re: xfce, xmms and mozilla

I did a full install when I type "startxfce" it try to start and it error out at I think at xfree.  What did I do wrong?

Offline

#10 2004-06-15 00:58:36

kakabaratruskia
Member
From: Santiago, Chile
Registered: 2003-08-24
Posts: 596

Re: xfce, xmms and mozilla

I think it's startxfce4 (unless you have xfce3 installed, which is crap :-)) The other thing I believe could be causing you trouble is xfree is not well configured. You could try xf86cfg -textmode.


And where were all the sportsmen who always pulled you though?
They're all resting down in Cornwall
writing up their memoirs for a paper-back edition
of the Boy Scout Manual.

Offline

#11 2004-06-15 01:11:35

jmdlcar
Member
From: Marysville Ohio
Registered: 2004-04-25
Posts: 20

Re: xfce, xmms and mozilla

I like gnome. But I like to find someone that is running it. If they have a package list they like to share. big_smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB