You are not logged in.

#1 2007-01-29 10:02:17

setti
Member
Registered: 2006-07-12
Posts: 20

Vmware Workstation Beta 6 x64

Hi,

I have a problem running the beta.
Installing works like a charm. No problems. But when I try to run my created Vmware i get this error:

/usr/lib/vmware/bin-debug/vmware-vmx: error while loading shared libraries: libXtst.so.6: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS64
VMHSHostConnectVMX: Failed to connect to pipe /tmp/vmware-setti/vmx89c7da33d682d6f6: Datei oder Verzeichnis nicht gefunden

For sure i downloaded the linux 64bit version of vmware beta. I got no results when doong a google search.

My logfile:

# cat /tmp/vmware-setti/ui-5089.log
Jan 29 10:58:13.808: vmui| Log for VMware Workstation pid=5089 version=e.x.p build=build-36983 option=BETA
Jan 29 10:58:13.812: vmui| Hostname=xxx.xxxx.xxxx
Jan 29 10:58:13.835: vmui| Using log file /tmp/vmware-setti/ui-5089.log
Jan 29 10:58:13.839: vmui| HAL05LoadHALLibraries: dlopened libhal.so.1.
Jan 29 10:58:13.839: vmui| HAL05LoadHalLibraries: dlopened libdbus-1.so.3.
Jan 29 10:58:13.839: vmui| HAL05LoadGlibLibrary: dlopened libdbus-glib-1.so.2.
Jan 29 10:58:13.841: vmui| HAL05Init: Error getting DBus connection: Failed to connect to socket /var/run/dbus/system_bus_socket: Datei oder Verzeichnis nicht gefunden.
Jan 29 10:58:13.841: vmui| HAL04LoadHALLibraries: Could not dlopen libhal.so.0.
Jan 29 10:58:14.097: vmui| SMBIOS: can't open /dev/mem
Jan 29 10:58:14.097: vmui| VmhsHostInfoPopulateSystem:  Could not get information from smbios to populate VMDB.
Jan 29 10:58:14.097: vmui| HOSTINFO: Seeing AMD CPU, numCoresPerCPU 1 numThreadsPerCore 1.
Jan 29 10:58:14.097: vmui| HOSTINFO: This machine has 1 physical CPUS, 1 total cores, and 1 logical CPUs.
Jan 29 10:58:14.612: vmui| Foundry Init: setting up global state (0 threads)
Jan 29 10:58:14.612: vmui| Foundry Init: version 2, hostType 1, hostName (null), hostPort 0, options 0x3
Jan 29 10:58:14.665: vmui| readlink /var/run/vmware/3feec35105187a8786336156466f7f4b: Datei oder Verzeichnis nicht gefunden
Jan 29 10:58:14.665: vmui| readlink /var/run/vmware/%2fhome%2fsetti%2fvmware%2fWindows%202000%20Professional%2fWindows%202000%20Professional%2evmx: Datei oder Verzeichnis nicht gefunden
Jan 29 10:58:14.666: vmui| readlink /var/run/vmware/3feec35105187a8786336156466f7f4b: Datei oder Verzeichnis nicht gefunden
Jan 29 10:58:14.666: vmui| readlink /var/run/vmware/%2fhome%2fsetti%2fvmware%2fWindows%202000%20Professional%2fWindows%202000%20Professional%2evmx: Datei oder Verzeichnis nicht gefunden
Jan 29 10:58:15.240: vmui| Reloading config state: /home/setti/vmware/Windows 2000 Professional/Windows 2000 Professional.vmx
Jan 29 10:58:15.315: vmui| readlink /var/run/vmware/3feec35105187a8786336156466f7f4b: Datei oder Verzeichnis nicht gefunden
Jan 29 10:58:15.315: vmui| readlink /var/run/vmware/%2fhome%2fsetti%2fvmware%2fWindows%202000%20Professional%2fWindows%202000%20Professional%2evmx: Datei oder Verzeichnis nicht gefunden
Jan 29 10:58:18.674: vmui| VMHSVMCbPower: Setting state of VM /vm/#89c7da33d682d6f6/ to powerOn with option hard
Jan 29 10:58:18.674: vmui| VMHS: Exec()'ing /usr/lib/vmware/bin-debug/vmware-vmx, /home/setti/vmware/Windows 2000 Professional/Windows 2000 Professional.vmx
Jan 29 10:58:18.877: vmui| VMHSHostConnectVMX: Failed to connect to pipe /tmp/vmware-setti/vmx89c7da33d682d6f6: Datei oder Verzeichnis nicht gefunden
Jan 29 10:58:18.883: vmui| Dlg::GetButtonInfo(): Duplicate GTK icon/label pair: _Stopp and _Stopp
Jan 29 10:58:18.885: vmui| Dlg::GetButtonInfo(): Duplicate GTK icon/label pair: _Vor and _Vor
Jan 29 10:58:18.886: vmui| Dlg::GetButtonInfo(): Duplicate GTK icon/label pair: _Informationen and Informationen
Jan 29 10:58:29.757: vmui| AIOMGR-S : stat o=24 r=24 w=3 i=0 br=12288 bw=1536


Maybe someone could help me sad

Thanks a lot.

Last edited by setti (2007-01-29 10:03:38)

Offline

#2 2007-01-29 10:24:49

setti
Member
Registered: 2006-07-12
Posts: 20

Re: Vmware Workstation Beta 6 x64

Ok after reading this post on gentoo forum: http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-53 … +beta.html i installed the emul32-xlibs 7.0-1 from AUR.
And now my vmware starts. BUT: it shuts down immediately after starting.

Error:
Jan 29 11:22:17.942: vmui| VMHSVMCbPower: Setting state of VM /vm/#89c7da33d682d6f6/ to powerOn with option hard
Jan 29 11:22:17.942: vmui| VMHS: Exec()'ing /usr/lib/vmware/bin-debug/vmware-vmx, /home/setti/vmware/Windows 2000 Professional/Windows 2000 Professional.vmx
Jan 29 11:22:18.731: vmui| Mounting virtual machine paths on connection: /db/connection/#6c/, /home/setti/vmware/Windows 2000 Professional/Windows 2000 Professional.vmx
Jan 29 11:22:18.764: vmui| Mount VM completion for vm: /home/setti/vmware/Windows 2000 Professional/Windows 2000 Professional.vmx
Jan 29 11:22:18.785: vmui| Mount VM Complete: /home/setti/vmware/Windows 2000 Professional/Windows 2000 Professional.vmx, Return code: OK
Jan 29 11:22:18.798: vmui| CryptoKey_Import: not in export format
Jan 29 11:22:19.307: vmui| Dlg::GetButtonInfo(): Duplicate GTK icon/label pair: _Stopp and _Stopp
Jan 29 11:22:19.309: vmui| Dlg::GetButtonInfo(): Duplicate GTK icon/label pair: _Vor and _Vor
Jan 29 11:22:19.309: vmui| Dlg::GetButtonInfo(): Duplicate GTK icon/label pair: _Informationen and Informationen
Jan 29 11:22:19.323: vmui| Disconnect check in progress: /home/setti/vmware/Windows 2000 Professional/Windows 2000 Professional.vmx
Jan 29 11:22:25.518: vmui| Disconnect check in progress: /home/setti/vmware/Windows 2000 Professional/Windows 2000 Professional.vmx
Jan 29 11:22:25.984: vmui| XAuth Display Guess: ':0.0' - ':0'
Jan 29 11:22:25.984: vmui| XAuth AuthType Guess: 'MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1'
Jan 29 11:22:25.984: vmui| XAuth add token 'MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1'/16
Jan 29 11:22:25.985: vmui| XAuth add token 'MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1'/16
Jan 29 11:22:26.207: vmui| ASSERT /build/mts/release/bora-36983/bora/apps/lib/cui/cui.cc:1548
Jan 29 11:22:26.207: vmui| Backtrace:
Jan 29 11:22:26.207: vmui| Backtrace[0] 00000000 eip 00000000
Jan 29 11:22:26.207: vmui| Msg_Post: Error
Jan 29 11:22:26.207: vmui| [msg.log.error.unrecoverable] VMware Workstation unrecoverable error: (vmui)
Jan 29 11:22:26.207: vmui| ASSERT /build/mts/release/bora-36983/bora/apps/lib/cui/cui.cc:1548
Jan 29 11:22:26.207: vmui| [msg.panic.haveLog] A log file is available in "/tmp/vmware-setti/ui-5510.log".  [msg.panic.requestSupport.withLog] Please request support and include the contents of the log file.  [msg.panic.requestSupport.linux]
Jan 29 11:22:26.207: vmui| To collect files to submit to VMware support, run vm-support.
Jan 29 11:22:26.207: vmui| [msg.panic.response] We will respond on the basis of your support entitlement.
Jan 29 11:22:26.207: vmui| [localized] VMware Workstation unrecoverable error: (vmui)
Jan 29 11:22:26.207: vmui| ASSERT /build/mts/release/bora-36983/bora/apps/lib/cui/cui.cc:1548
Jan 29 11:22:26.207: vmui| A log file is available in "/tmp/vmware-setti/ui-5510.log".  Please request support and include the contents of the log file.
Jan 29 11:22:26.207: vmui| To collect files to submit to VMware support, run vm-support.
Jan 29 11:22:26.207: vmui| We will respond on the basis of your support entitlement.
Jan 29 11:22:26.207: vmui| ----------------------------------------

Offline

#3 2007-02-01 19:56:35

setti
Member
Registered: 2006-07-12
Posts: 20

Re: Vmware Workstation Beta 6 x64

hey Arch64 users! Nobody playing with the new vmware beta?

Offline

#4 2007-03-02 17:12:43

johnr
Member
From: NYC, NY
Registered: 2004-04-19
Posts: 27

Re: Vmware Workstation Beta 6 x64

Setti,

I just installed Beta 6 x86_64 and am having the same problem. Did you find a solution? Did you report the problem to VMware? (as the error output states).

JohnR

Offline

#5 2007-03-02 21:56:11

johnr
Member
From: NYC, NY
Registered: 2004-04-19
Posts: 27

Re: Vmware Workstation Beta 6 x64

Ok, so I have it working. This is what I did on a fresh install of Arch64.

1. created the fake rc.d0 - rc.d6 directories. Intstructions all over the place for this.
2. linked /bin/lsmod   to  /sbin/lsmod   -   

ln -s /bin/lsmod /sbin/lsmod

3. added rules to udev

# tty devices
KERNEL="tty[[0-9]]*", NAME="vc/%n", SYMLINK="%k"

# floppy devices
KERNEL="fd[[0-9]]*", NAME="floppy/%n" , SYMLINK="fd%n"

I also add

KERNEL=="parport[0-9]*", GROUP="lp"

so that I can use the parallel printer port in Windows (thermal printer).
4. installed lib32-glibc from [Community]
5. installed emul32-baselibs, emul32-compat, emul32-xlibs from AUR [unsupported]. These were done by clement.cc, and if you read his comments in: http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=28240 , he states that these may jack up your stuff. They seem to work fine for me. It would be nice to have a solid [community] solution for xlibs (that is why I use the [community] version of lib32-glibc instead of clement.cc's version... and reading the cvs PKGBUILD for lib32-glibc it looks like clement.cc work has been incorporated into the current verison of lib32-glibc).

A couple comments:
1. I did have to add /opt/lib32/lib to my /etc/ld.so.conf
2. I did follow clement.cc comments (in the post install) to add /emul/linux/x86/lib, /emul/linux/x86/usr/lib, and /emul/linux/x86/usr/qt/3/lib to /etc/ld.so.conf
3. during the install of VMware, when it asks for the location of the rc.d0-6 directories, give it whatever location you created, BUT when it asks for the location of the init scripts be sure to use /etc/rc.d/ , this will cause VMware to install the init script into the correct location (or you could sym link).
4. add /etc/rc.d/vmware  to /etc/rc.conf deamons.

I think that is all it took. I'm open to correction on my methods, I'm no genuis. I hope this can help someone else, for me it worked.

JohnR

Offline

#6 2007-04-12 00:02:32

tscollins
Member
Registered: 2007-04-11
Posts: 7

Re: Vmware Workstation Beta 6 x64

Thanks for the info. I just got Arch64 installed and VMware is one of the main programs that I need to run so I hope this works for me too.

Offline

#7 2007-04-16 23:20:44

tscollins
Member
Registered: 2007-04-11
Posts: 7

Re: Vmware Workstation Beta 6 x64

Hmm? I followed everything johnr did; Installed lib32-glibc-2.5-6 from community and emul32-baselibs-2.5.5-1, emul32-compat-1.0-1, and emul32-xlibs-7.0-1 from AUR and also modified /etc/ld.so.conf to have the following lines:
/opt/lib32/lib
/opt/lib32/usr/lib
/emul/linux/x86/lib
/emul/linux/x86/usr/lib
/emul/linux/x86/usr/qt/3/lib
VMware oinstalled and configured fine and I can also launch it but when I try to power on a VM I get:
Unable to change virtual machine power state: Failed to connect to peer process.
and on the command line I launched it from I see "/usr/lib/vmware/bin/vmware-vmx: error while loading shared libraries: libX11.so.6: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS64". It seems not to be seeing the emul32-xlibs-7.0-1 package maybe? Anyone have any ideas?

Offline

#8 2007-04-17 00:58:31

tscollins
Member
Registered: 2007-04-11
Posts: 7

Re: Vmware Workstation Beta 6 x64

I'm a dummy. Forgot to do a ldconfig. Everything is working now thanks again for all the great info.

Offline

#9 2007-05-21 14:47:55

jemann.chen
Member
From: taiwan
Registered: 2003-06-06
Posts: 34

Re: Vmware Workstation Beta 6 x64

I'm using Arch64 and tried install x64 vmplayer 2 / vmware-workstation 6,
both have the problems when power on VM,
it appears:

Unable to change virtual machine power state: Failed to connect to peer process.

Any idea?

Offline

#10 2007-05-21 14:51:47

jemann.chen
Member
From: taiwan
Registered: 2003-06-06
Posts: 34

Re: Vmware Workstation Beta 6 x64

x64 vmplayer 2 / vmware-workstation 6 still need lib32* ?

Offline

#11 2007-05-21 15:10:00

Pierre
Developer
From: Bonn
Registered: 2004-07-05
Posts: 1,954
Website

Re: Vmware Workstation Beta 6 x64

Well, this sounds strange. Seems as if in fact there is still no x86_64 version of vmware. Currently only qemu works on Arch64; virtualbox doesn`t even compile.

Offline

#12 2007-05-21 15:45:19

jemann.chen
Member
From: taiwan
Registered: 2003-06-06
Posts: 34

Re: Vmware Workstation Beta 6 x64

I download from VMware:
VMware-workstation-6.0.0-45731.x86_64.tar.gz
VMware-player-2.0.0-45731.x86_64.tar.gz

I tried install lib32-glibc/emul32-baselibs/emul32-compat/emul32-xlibs,
then VMware-workstation can power on the VM.

vmware x64 is real x86_64 versions?

Offline

#13 2007-05-30 16:08:07

Nak
Member
Registered: 2007-04-16
Posts: 5

Re: Vmware Workstation Beta 6 x64

These are the steps that I follow to run vmware workstation 6 final on Arch64

- Install and run xinetd
- Download the tar.gz version of Vmware-Workstation-64bits (you need to register before)

(The next steps are taken from the original article)

- mkdir -p /etc/rc.d/vmware.d/rc{0,1,2,3,4,5,6}.d
- ln -s /bin/lsmod /sbin/lsmod
- run vmware-install.pl
- when it asks where the directories for rc0.d thru rc6.d are, use /etc/rc.d/vmware.d.
- when it asks where the init directory is, use /etc/rc.d.
- run vmware-config.pl

- Install emul32-xlibs from aur (remember change arch parameter from PKGBUILD)

- Add this lines to /etc/ld.so.conf

  /opt/lib32/lib
  /opt/lib32/usr/lib
  /emul/linux/x86/lib
  /emul/linux/x86/usr/lib
  /emul/linux/x86/usr/qt/3/lib

- Run ldconfig

- RUN IT!!

Last edited by Nak (2007-05-30 16:09:03)

Offline

#14 2007-09-29 17:30:17

stranger
Member
From: Moscow,Russia
Registered: 2007-09-29
Posts: 2

Re: Vmware Workstation Beta 6 x64

Hi, archers!

I tried to setup libs32, but that din't work sad

I setup 64-bit version of Virtualbox (virtualbox.org), and that works without 32bit libs. 64 bit version of virtualbox named - AMD64, but works fine on Intel EM64T processor (that I have).

Offline

#15 2007-11-13 20:28:24

m3thodic
Member
Registered: 2004-08-24
Posts: 66

Re: Vmware Workstation Beta 6 x64

WooArch wrote:

Hi!

I did install VMWare x64 following the instructions by Nak and VMWare starts but when trying to power on a virtual machine i'm getting the following error message:

"Unable to change virtual machine power state: Failed to connect to peer process:"

The console gives me the output:

"NOT_IMPLEMENTED /build/mts/release/bora-55017/bora/lib/user/msg.c:203
NOT_IMPLEMENTED /build/mts/release/bora-55017/bora/lib/user/msg.c:203
Panic loop"

Any ideas?

I'm getting the same exact thing, I've installed all the lib32 stuff, some gentoo emul32 libs, tried running as root, nothing works. Always get the error message from above. Anyone? I believe my permissions are correct anyway:

[tony@paradigm ~]$ ls -la /dev/vm*
crw-rw---- 1 root vmware  10, 165 2007-11-09 17:13 /dev/vmmon
crw------- 1 root root   119,   0 2007-11-09 17:13 /dev/vmnet0
[tony@paradigm ~]$ id
uid=1000(tony) gid=100(users) groups=10(wheel),92(audio),93(optical),95(storage),100(users),101(vmware)

Thanks in advance.

Offline

#16 2007-12-16 00:06:54

anomander
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-12-15
Posts: 17

Re: Vmware Workstation Beta 6 x64

Hi there,

I got the same error message when i was trying to start vmware-player:

"NOT_IMPLEMENTED /build/mts/release/bora-55017/bora/lib/user/msg.c:203
NOT_IMPLEMENTED /build/mts/release/bora-55017/bora/lib/user/msg.c:203
Panic loop"

It seems to be a problem with the locales you have set.

When I change environment variable $LANG to blank

export LANG=

before I start the vmplayer it runs well...

I hope this'll work for you too...

Greetings


"The saddest aspect of life right now is that science gathers knowledge faster than society gathers wisdom."
Isaac Asimov

Offline

#17 2007-12-17 13:16:40

Noneus
Member
From: Munich
Registered: 2006-09-26
Posts: 118
Website

Re: Vmware Workstation Beta 6 x64

Nono. VMware must be 64Bit. I can install 64Bit Linux in there. I you need the 32Bit libs for the 32Bit OS's you can install. I fixed that xtst thing with the lib32-libxtst package from aur.

Offline

#18 2007-12-25 18:08:54

Ambi
Member
From: Warsaw, Poland
Registered: 2007-11-29
Posts: 44

Re: Vmware Workstation Beta 6 x64

there is vmware-workstation package on AUR, it works perfectly after you install lib32-libxtst package first smile

Offline

#19 2008-01-05 15:16:02

Inferno
Member
Registered: 2004-11-11
Posts: 15

Re: Vmware Workstation Beta 6 x64

I got it working as well! The export lang= trick was also needed.
I needed to use the vmware-any-any package from AUR, since I'm running zen-git kernel. I also needed to change the vmmon module to use the right version. Changed iocontrols.h and iocontrols_compat.h to read the right version (167). Now it is running fine with x86_64

Offline

#20 2008-06-10 04:16:32

violagirl23
Member
Registered: 2008-01-24
Posts: 184

Re: Vmware Workstation Beta 6 x64

I hate to bump an old thread, but this fits my problem perfectly. I went through everything, and now it works up until the last part. I go load the vmmon module and it says it is not using the right version. How did you change them to read the right version? I cannot find a iocontrols.h and iocontrols_compat.h on my machine.
Good grief. Virtualbox worked perfectly without all this hassle.

Version mismatch with vmmon module: expecting 168.0, got 167.0.
You have an incorrect version of the `vmmon' kernel module.
Try reinstalling VMware Player.

I think the problem is that the configure is building modules for 6.0.0, not 6.0.4. Here is the relevant output of my vmware-configure.pl:

Trying to find a suitable vmmon module for your running kernel.

None of the pre-built vmmon modules for VMware Workstation is suitable for your
running kernel.  Do you want this program to try to build the vmmon module for 
your system (you need to have a C compiler installed on your system)? [yes] 

Using compiler "/usr/bin/gcc". Use environment variable CC to override.

What is the location of the directory of C header files that match your running
kernel? [/lib/modules/2.6.25-ARCH/build/include] 

Extracting the sources of the vmmon module.

Building the vmmon module.

Unknown VMware Workstation 6.0.4 build 93057 detected. Building for Workstation 6.0.0.
Using 2.6.x kernel build system.
make: Entering directory `/tmp/vmware-config3/vmmon-only'
make -C /lib/modules/2.6.25-ARCH/build/include/.. SUBDIRS=$PWD SRCROOT=$PWD/. modules
make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.25-ARCH'
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmmon-only/linux/driver.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmmon-only/linux/driverLog.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmmon-only/linux/hostif.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmmon-only/common/comport.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmmon-only/common/cpuid.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmmon-only/common/hash.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmmon-only/common/memtrack.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmmon-only/common/phystrack.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmmon-only/common/task.o
cc1plus: warning: command line option "-Werror-implicit-function-declaration" is valid for C/ObjC but not for C++
cc1plus: warning: command line option "-Wdeclaration-after-statement" is valid for C/ObjC but not for C++
cc1plus: warning: command line option "-Wno-pointer-sign" is valid for C/ObjC but not for C++
cc1plus: warning: command line option "-Wstrict-prototypes" is valid for C/ObjC but not for C++
In file included from /tmp/vmware-config3/vmmon-only/common/task.c:1194:
/tmp/vmware-config3/vmmon-only/common/task_compat.h:9: warning: 'typedef' was ignored in this declaration
/tmp/vmware-config3/vmmon-only/common/task_compat.h: In function 'void Task_Switch_V45(VMDriver*, Vcpuid)':
/tmp/vmware-config3/vmmon-only/common/task_compat.h:2666: warning: 'sysenterState.SysenterStateV45::validEIP' may be used uninitialized in this function
/tmp/vmware-config3/vmmon-only/common/task_compat.h:2666: warning: 'sysenterState.SysenterStateV45::cs' may be used uninitialized in this function
/tmp/vmware-config3/vmmon-only/common/task_compat.h:2666: warning: 'sysenterState.SysenterStateV45::rsp' may be used uninitialized in this function
/tmp/vmware-config3/vmmon-only/common/task_compat.h:2666: warning: 'sysenterState.SysenterStateV45::rip' may be used uninitialized in this function
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmmon-only/common/vmciContext.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmmon-only/common/vmciDatagram.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmmon-only/common/vmciDriver.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmmon-only/common/vmciDs.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmmon-only/common/vmciGroup.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmmon-only/common/vmciHashtable.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmmon-only/common/vmciProcess.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmmon-only/common/vmciResource.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmmon-only/common/vmciSharedMem.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmmon-only/common/vmx86.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmmon-only/vmcore/compat.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmmon-only/vmcore/moduleloop.o
  LD [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmmon-only/vmmon.o
  Building modules, stage 2.
  MODPOST 1 modules
  CC      /tmp/vmware-config3/vmmon-only/vmmon.mod.o
  LD [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmmon-only/vmmon.ko
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.25-ARCH'
cp -f vmmon.ko ./../vmmon.o
make: Leaving directory `/tmp/vmware-config3/vmmon-only'
The module loads perfectly in the running kernel.

/dev is dynamic:
Trying to find a suitable vmblock module for your running kernel.

None of the pre-built vmblock modules for VMware Workstation is suitable for 
your running kernel.  Do you want this program to try to build the vmblock 
module for your system (you need to have a C compiler installed on your 
system)? [yes] 

Extracting the sources of the vmblock module.

Building the vmblock module.

Using 2.6.x kernel build system.
make: Entering directory `/tmp/vmware-config3/vmblock-only'
make -C /lib/modules/2.6.25-ARCH/build/include/.. SUBDIRS=$PWD SRCROOT=$PWD/. modules
make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.25-ARCH'
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmblock-only/linux/block.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmblock-only/linux/control.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmblock-only/linux/dbllnklst.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmblock-only/linux/dentry.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmblock-only/linux/file.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmblock-only/linux/filesystem.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmblock-only/linux/inode.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmblock-only/linux/module.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmblock-only/linux/stubs.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmblock-only/linux/super.o
  LD [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmblock-only/vmblock.o
  Building modules, stage 2.
  MODPOST 1 modules
  CC      /tmp/vmware-config3/vmblock-only/vmblock.mod.o
  LD [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmblock-only/vmblock.ko
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.25-ARCH'
cp -f vmblock.ko ./../vmblock.o
make: Leaving directory `/tmp/vmware-config3/vmblock-only'
The module loads perfectly in the running kernel.

/dev is dynamic:
You have already setup networking.

Would you like to skip networking setup and keep your old settings as they are?
(yes/no) [no] no

Do you want networking for your virtual machines? (yes/no/help) [yes] 

Would you prefer to modify your existing networking configuration using the 
wizard or the editor? (wizard/editor/help) [wizard] 

The following bridged networks have been defined:

. vmnet0 is bridged to wlan0
. vmnet2 is bridged to eth0

All your ethernet interfaces are already bridged.

Do you want to be able to use NAT networking in your virtual machines? (yes/no)
[yes] no

Do you want to be able to use host-only networking in your virtual machines? 
[no] 

Trying to find a suitable vmnet module for your running kernel.

None of the pre-built vmnet modules for VMware Workstation is suitable for your
running kernel.  Do you want this program to try to build the vmnet module for 
your system (you need to have a C compiler installed on your system)? [yes] 

Extracting the sources of the vmnet module.

Building the vmnet module.

Unknown VMware Workstation 6.0.4 build 93057 detected. Building for Workstation 6.0.0.
Using 2.6.x kernel build system.
make: Entering directory `/tmp/vmware-config3/vmnet-only'
make -C /lib/modules/2.6.25-ARCH/build/include/.. SUBDIRS=$PWD SRCROOT=$PWD/. modules
make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.25-ARCH'
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmnet-only/driver.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmnet-only/hub.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmnet-only/userif.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmnet-only/netif.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmnet-only/bridge.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmnet-only/filter.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmnet-only/procfs.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmnet-only/smac_compat.o
  CC [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmnet-only/smac_linux.x86_64.o
  LD [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmnet-only/vmnet.o
  Building modules, stage 2.
  MODPOST 1 modules
  CC      /tmp/vmware-config3/vmnet-only/vmnet.mod.o
  LD [M]  /tmp/vmware-config3/vmnet-only/vmnet.ko
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.25-ARCH'
cp -f vmnet.ko ./../vmnet.o
make: Leaving directory `/tmp/vmware-config3/vmnet-only'
The module loads perfectly in the running kernel.

Note the two modules that say

Unknown VMware Workstation 6.0.4 build 93057 detected. Building for Workstation 6.0.0.

Is there any way around this?

Last edited by violagirl23 (2008-06-10 04:25:58)


"You can't just ask to borrow somebody else's lampshade. It's AWKWARD!"

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB