You are not logged in.

#1 2008-01-28 06:30:29

nadman10
Member
From: Erie, PA
Registered: 2005-10-15
Posts: 200

Won't boot completely

I rebooted my system yesterday, and now it won't reboot correctly. It gets up to loading the modules, then fails to do anyhting after that. What's next in the boot process after modules are loaded?

Offline

#2 2008-01-28 14:06:28

ryz
Member
From: germany
Registered: 2008-01-28
Posts: 9

Re: Won't boot completely

Same problem here. After loading the modules, some code is displayed, but no further processing. The cursor still ticks, so no freeze.

/edit: I've just booted again, the box is up and running.
From 10 bootups 8-9 seem to hang after loading the modules.

Last edited by ryz (2008-01-28 14:14:08)

Offline

#3 2008-01-28 14:24:04

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,807

Re: Won't boot completely

you like tried fallback..?


Mr Green

Offline

#4 2008-01-28 14:25:31

ryz
Member
From: germany
Registered: 2008-01-28
Posts: 9

Re: Won't boot completely

Sure did. Same behaviour.

Last edited by ryz (2008-01-28 14:31:28)

Offline

#5 2008-01-28 18:24:15

nadman10
Member
From: Erie, PA
Registered: 2005-10-15
Posts: 200

Re: Won't boot completely

RYZ, Yea, you got it. The system doesn't lock, it just refuses to go any farther that loading modules. No one has any ideas?

Offline

#6 2008-01-28 18:45:49

nadman10
Member
From: Erie, PA
Registered: 2005-10-15
Posts: 200

Re: Won't boot completely

Ok, I may have figured it out. Commented all the lines in rc.local and commented out unneeded mudules in rc.conf and then it booted. Try this on yours.

Offline

#7 2008-01-28 21:40:34

schivmeister
Developer/TU
From: Singapore
Registered: 2007-05-17
Posts: 971
Website

Re: Won't boot completely

rc.local has only your stuff..so it's probably your stuff that's screwing you if you say that soved it. so attend to those.


I need real, proper pen and paper for this.

Offline

#8 2008-01-29 04:28:18

nadman10
Member
From: Erie, PA
Registered: 2005-10-15
Posts: 200

Re: Won't boot completely

ryz, what have you found?

Offline

#9 2008-01-29 10:46:28

ryz
Member
From: germany
Registered: 2008-01-28
Posts: 9

Re: Won't boot completely

OK, first off, its a fresh installed arch 2007.08-2 (i686).

After some more boot attempts i've finally managed to bootup my box. In the rc.conf i've blacklisted all (sound)modules, except mii, ipw*(forgot the exact name) and soundcore. My rc.local is empty (just some commented lines).

Now, at bootup the system kernel panics: "Kernel panic - not syncing: Fatal exception in interrupt". Still no freeze. both, normal and fallback image.

/edit: Oh man, it gets even worse: Booted again, now the system stops at "Bringing up loopback interface    [BUSY]"

Last edited by ryz (2008-01-29 10:46:54)

Offline

#10 2008-01-29 11:32:50

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,807

Re: Won't boot completely

post you menu.lst or lilo.conf.......do you get to Archlinux is loading? after kernel messages?


Mr Green

Offline

#11 2008-01-29 17:00:41

schivmeister
Developer/TU
From: Singapore
Registered: 2007-05-17
Posts: 971
Website

Re: Won't boot completely

wow looks like driver-device/hardware bug, if it's a kernel panic.


I need real, proper pen and paper for this.

Offline

#12 2008-01-29 20:36:49

genisis300
Member
From: Uk
Registered: 2008-01-15
Posts: 284

Re: Won't boot completely

have you tried the noacpi and pci=noirq to see if they work?


"is adult entertainment killing our children or is killing our children entertaining adults?" Marilyn Manson

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB