You are not logged in.

#1 2004-06-25 13:00:10

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,756

Change Background Script for Openbox

Found this on f.g.o.

http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=161914

Mr Green


Mr Green

Offline

#2 2004-06-25 13:22:01

deepfreeze
Member
From: NJ
Registered: 2002-12-27
Posts: 86

Re: Change Background Script for Openbox

There's a guy that actually wrote a script that allows you to select your background image from the Openbox menu.  I've not yet tried it, but it's linked up from the official Openbox page, so I'm sure some have used/tested it.

Check it out here:
http://tr.openmonkey.com/openbox.php


My hovercraft is full of eels.

Offline

#3 2004-06-25 13:24:17

xerxes2
Member
From: Malmoe, Sweden
Registered: 2004-04-23
Posts: 1,249
Website

Re: Change Background Script for Openbox

hmmm, I've abandoned ob for xfce4 green, it was skoals "fault"
I'm still waiting for flux 1.0 though,  big_smile
maybe flux/rox is the way to go?


arch + gentoo + initng + python = enlisy

Offline

#4 2004-06-25 13:45:56

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,756

Re: Change Background Script for Openbox

xerxes2 wrote:

hmmm, I've abandoned ob for xfce4 green, it was skoals "fault"
I'm still waiting for flux 1.0 though,  big_smile
maybe flux/rox is the way to go?

you will be back  lol

once those  icons on a stick start to annoy you...

Mr Green


Mr Green

Offline

#5 2004-06-25 13:51:52

xerxes2
Member
From: Malmoe, Sweden
Registered: 2004-04-23
Posts: 1,249
Website

Re: Change Background Script for Openbox

I saw you screenshot with pypanel, I think I try that later today
ob/rox/pypanel...yeah, is there a wiki howto on pypanel? big_smile  big_smile


arch + gentoo + initng + python = enlisy

Offline

#6 2004-06-25 14:59:47

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,756

Re: Change Background Script for Openbox

Err not yet.. smile

Grab PKGBUILD..

http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php? … ht=pypanel

Starting it well depends on how you log in....

but pypanel in a terminal will get you going...

Call me if you have any problems....

Mr Green


Mr Green

Offline

#7 2004-06-25 14:59:52

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: Change Background Script for Openbox

still like blackbox myself.


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#8 2004-06-25 15:05:02

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,756

Re: Change Background Script for Openbox

Well use what you are happy with..

Mr Green 8)


Mr Green

Offline

#9 2004-06-25 15:35:45

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Offline

#10 2004-06-25 15:38:03

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: Change Background Script for Openbox

Dusty wrote:

Discover ion...

I've heard that before... only it was of the form "Discover British Columbia"


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#11 2004-06-25 15:54:45

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,366
Website

Re: Change Background Script for Openbox

openbox?

blackbox?

coolbox!

here a screenshot:

coolbox.gif


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#12 2004-06-25 16:22:53

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: Change Background Script for Openbox

Xentac wrote:
Dusty wrote:

Discover ion...

I've heard that before... only it was of the form "Discover British Columbia"

From what I've heard of the inefficiencies of the BC government, I don't think io and British Columbia have anything else in common...

Offline

#13 2004-06-25 17:07:04

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: Change Background Script for Openbox

Dusty wrote:

From what I've heard of the inefficiencies of the BC government, I don't think io and British Columbia have anything else in common...

well they are both evil ... that is what they have in common tongue


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#14 2004-06-25 18:44:49

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: Change Background Script for Openbox

I'm hurt.  sad   :cry:

Offline

#15 2004-06-25 20:51:20

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,366
Website

Re: Change Background Script for Openbox

Dusty wrote:

I'm hurt.  sad   :cry:

need some cool drink out of a coolbox?


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#16 2004-06-25 20:53:34

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: Change Background Script for Openbox

if open(that)box it might have a surprise in ther that will make you feel better. other than that if you really want to be hurt by me i could chew on your feet ot something. us polar bears love chewing on feet.


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#17 2004-06-25 21:10:06

xerxes2
Member
From: Malmoe, Sweden
Registered: 2004-04-23
Posts: 1,249
Website

Re: Change Background Script for Openbox

xfce4->openbox/pypanel->metacity/rox/pypanel->xfce4->?ion?
disclaimer: I'm a "WIMP"


arch + gentoo + initng + python = enlisy

Offline

#18 2004-06-25 21:33:56

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: Change Background Script for Openbox

dp wrote:
Dusty wrote:

I'm hurt.  sad   :cry:

need some cool drink out of a coolbox?

Yep.  Hey, dp, Mr Green: we haven't hijacked a thread in ages.  What's up with that?

Any time I try to hijack a thread now, xerces2 steps in and hihijacks it and then Sarah31 steps in and rehihijacks it....

Offline

#19 2004-06-25 21:39:57

xerxes2
Member
From: Malmoe, Sweden
Registered: 2004-04-23
Posts: 1,249
Website

Re: Change Background Script for Openbox

i'm a on-topic(almost) Dusty not "hijacking"


arch + gentoo + initng + python = enlisy

Offline

#20 2004-06-25 21:43:46

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,366
Website

Re: Change Background Script for Openbox

Dusty wrote:
dp wrote:
Dusty wrote:

I'm hurt.  sad   :cry:

need some cool drink out of a coolbox?

Yep.  Hey, dp, Mr Green: we haven't hijacked a thread in ages.  What's up with that?

Any time I try to hijack a thread now, xerces2 steps in and hihijacks it and then Sarah31 steps in and rehihijacks it....

in what direction do you want to hijack this thread?

maybe helpdesk?

 A customer calls a UNIX consultant with a question:

Customer: What is the command that will tell me the revision code of a
program?

UNIX consul: Yes, that's correct.

Customer: No, what is it ?

UNIX consul: Yes.

Customer: So, which is the one ?

UNIX consul: No. 'which' is used to find the program.

Customer: Stop this. Who are you ?

UNIX consul: Use 'who am i' not 'who r yoo'. You can also 'finger yoo'
to get information about yoo'.

Customer: All I want to know is what finds the revision code ?

UNIX consul: Use 'what'.

Customer: That's what I am trying to find out. Isn't that true ?

UNIX consul: No. 'true' gives you 0.

Customer: Which one ?

UNIX consul: 'true' gives you 0. 'which programname'

Customer: Let's get back to my problem. What program? How do I find it?

UNIX consul: Type 'find / -name it -print' to find 'it'. Type 'what
program' to get the revision code.

Customer: I want to find the revision code.

UNIX consul: You can't 'find revisioncode', you must use 'what program'.

Customer: Which command will do what I need?

UNIX consul: No. 'which command' will find 'command'.

Customer: I think I understand. Let me write that.

UNIX consul: You can 'write that' only if 'that' is a user on your
system.

Customer: Write what?

UNIX consul: No. 'write that'. 'what program'.

Customer: Cut that out!

UNIX consul: Yes. those are valid files for 'cut'. Don't forget the
options.

Customer: Do you always do this ?

UNIX consul: 'du' will give you disk usage.

Customer: HELP!

UNIX consul: 'help' is only used for Source Code Control System (SCCS).

Customer: You make me angry.

UNIX consul: No, I don't 'make me' angry but I did 'make programname'
when I was upset once.

Customer: I don't want to make trouble, so no more.

UNIX consul: No 'more'? 'which' will help you find 'more'. Every system
has 'more'.

Customer: Nice help! I'm confused more now!

UNIX consul: Understand that since 'help' is such a small program, it is
better not to 'nice help'. and 'more now' is not allowed but 'at now'
is.  Unless of course 'now' is a file name.

Customer: This is almost as confusing as my PC.

UNIX consul: I didn't know you needed help with 'pc'. Let me get you to
the Pascal compiler team.

The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#21 2004-06-25 23:25:37

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: Change Background Script for Openbox

helpdesk is good.

I took a helpdesk course. One of my tasks was to analyze help desk interactions... I had to analyze this one:

http://www.deadtroll.com/index2.html?/v … ml~content

(warning: it's bloody damn Quicktime)

Offline

#22 2004-06-25 23:48:05

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,366
Website

Re: Change Background Script for Openbox

Dusty wrote:

helpdesk is good.

I took a helpdesk course. One of my tasks was to analyze help desk interactions... I had to analyze this one:

http://www.deadtroll.com/index2.html?/v … ml~content

(warning: it's bloody damn Quicktime)

he he ... i know this video already - very funny, especially the part with the "imac: computer for idiots - you know: mamies and dadies :-) "


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#23 2004-06-28 17:57:07

xerxes2
Member
From: Malmoe, Sweden
Registered: 2004-04-23
Posts: 1,249
Website

Re: Change Background Script for Openbox

xerxes2 wrote:

xfce4->openbox/pypanel->metacity/rox/pypanel->xfce4->?ion?
disclaimer: I'm a "WIMP"

and after I tried ion(where the hell is wm buttons?) for 5 seconds I went back to try metacity/xfwm4/openbox , and the winner is openbox.
No lag at all , there is a difference in redraw speeds compared to the others. big_smile


arch + gentoo + initng + python = enlisy

Offline

#24 2004-06-28 18:39:35

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: Change Background Script for Openbox

xerxes2 wrote:

and after I tried ion(where the hell is wm buttons?)

Hotkeys, dear Swede.

Offline

#25 2004-06-28 18:45:47

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,366
Website

Re: Change Background Script for Openbox

xerxes2 wrote:
xerxes2 wrote:

xfce4->openbox/pypanel->metacity/rox/pypanel->xfce4->?ion?
disclaimer: I'm a "WIMP"

and after I tried ion(where the hell is wm buttons?) for 5 seconds I went back to try metacity/xfwm4/openbox , and the winner is openbox.
No lag at all , there is a difference in redraw speeds compared to the others. big_smile

he he ... i had the same experiment when i tried ion without reading the manual - but after reading it, it becomes extremly easy for usage

... but i do not use ion! - because of one simple thingy: it organises the windows too stupidely (especially when working with gimp and xsane at the same time) --- but maybe when they integrate some neural-network-algorithm, it maybe will suit me better :-)

now very happily working on xfce4 (half 4.0.5, half cvs :-) )


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB