You are not logged in.

#1 2004-06-24 22:29:35

matto
Member
From: Münster/germany
Registered: 2004-06-03
Posts: 88
Website

mounting partitions

hi there
i have several partitions, windows, backups,etc...
i want to mount them! :-)
once i had one of my partitions to be mounted on startup by editing the fstab
then i added some other partition the same way , which worked fine, but then i get messages like "permission denied" as a normal user even if i want to browse the first partition i added which worked befor!
ok after trying and trying and geting more and more different error messages i  added my partitions in fstab like the preconfigured floppy is in ;-)
(but with correct filesystems, not all vfat)
then i tryed following code with that customized fstab and with original fstab (addedlines=comments)

[matto@hansa matto]$ mount -t vfat /dev/discs/disc0/part8 /mnt/mukku
mount: only root can do that
[matto@hansa matto]$

now i think i have to give my user "matto" rights to mount partition
i also just used the option "user" in fstab and i get permission denied errors....
with option "defaults" its not getting better... but why? i can browse "/" to as user, ok not all subdirectories :-) but i am "on" "/"

i am really confused and frustrated now , because now i can't even reach my recordings partition which i could reach befor :-/
btw is there any good and easy to use multitrack recording software for linux?

greetings matto


// DAMNiAM //

Offline

#2 2004-06-24 23:04:22

lanrat
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2003-10-28
Posts: 1,274

Re: mounting partitions

Too many questions :-) I don't have much time now so just a quick answer - this is from my /etc/fstab:

/dev/discs/disc0/part5  /mnt/windows    vfat            defaults,umask=0022     0       0

It mounts one of my windows fat32 partitions and makes it accessible for all users.

Offline

#3 2004-06-24 23:12:38

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: mounting partitions

post what your fstab looks like so far.

Offline

#4 2004-06-29 11:33:27

matto
Member
From: Münster/germany
Registered: 2004-06-03
Posts: 88
Website

Re: mounting partitions

@lanrat

hi, i edited my fstab the way you did and it works now!! :-)
thank you
matto


// DAMNiAM //

Offline

#5 2004-07-06 19:51:47

matto
Member
From: Münster/germany
Registered: 2004-06-03
Posts: 88
Website

Re: mounting partitions

hi again!!
i would like to know how so edit the options in my fstab so that all users have write access to those partitions
it is like:
/dev/discs/disc1/part1  /mnt/G-muell ntfs defaults,umask=0022      0      0
greetings matto


// DAMNiAM //

Offline

#6 2004-07-06 20:02:39

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: mounting partitions

I believe that write access to ntfs partitions is pretty shaky right now. It's some strange file format that the kernel hackers are having trouble reverse engineering or something.

You may have to recompile the kernel, I remember there being a write support option in there, but I can't remember if its enabled for the stock kernel. It's marked EXPERIMENTAL.

I'm not sure if there's an option to add to your fstab to get write access or not... maybe an rw option?

Dusty

Offline

#7 2004-07-06 21:17:13

matto
Member
From: Münster/germany
Registered: 2004-06-03
Posts: 88
Website

Re: mounting partitions

thank you very much!
i did not know that ntfs write support isnt standard :-)
matto


// DAMNiAM //

Offline

#8 2004-07-07 06:00:03

dpb
Member
From: Cyperspace?
Registered: 2004-04-11
Posts: 231

Re: mounting partitions

Would be better if you changed your ntfs partitions to fat32. Linux reads/writes to that quite well.  wink

Offline

#9 2004-07-07 10:17:22

lanrat
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2003-10-28
Posts: 1,274

Re: mounting partitions

Alternative is to use other tools for ntfs. Take a look at these threads:
http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php? … light=ntfs
http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php? … light=ntfs
http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php? … light=ntfs
but I have no idea if this works and if it's safe. It's much better option to use fat32 partition for windows-linux data exchange.

BTW if you use windows to create fat32 partitions it can create maximum 32gb fat32 partitions. You will have to create additional fat32 partitions if you have more space to share with linux (the funny thing is that windows says it can read/write to/from bigger fat32 partitions without a problem but it's just a limit on creation of such partitions :-)).

Offline

#10 2004-07-08 02:23:01

neotuli
Lazy Developer
From: San Francisco, CA
Registered: 2004-07-06
Posts: 1,201
Website

Re: mounting partitions

I believe that write access to ntfs partitions is pretty shaky right now.

It's very shaky from what I hear. I don't personally use ntfs, but i hear that currently, support is limited to read, and write such that the length of files isnt changed..which makes it almost not worth even enabling write support, because there's almost no way you're not going to change the file's length, unless you are reallycareful.


The suggestion box only accepts patches.

Offline

#11 2004-07-08 22:15:12

matto
Member
From: Münster/germany
Registered: 2004-06-03
Posts: 88
Website

Re: mounting partitions

yes suppoert is limited to read and i will change to fat32 now , thank you :-)
gretings matto


// DAMNiAM //

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB