You are not logged in.

#1 2008-03-08 03:16:20

axion419
Member
Registered: 2007-04-12
Posts: 185

2 HD, Dual Boot Grub Problem

Linux is installed on sda, windows is on sdb, i can boot linux from grub fine, when i try to boot windows, i get error 15, file not found, if i use the bios, and just boot to that drive, windows works fine. here is my disk result, and my grub file, i tried to put these together from this website, and google.

[root@beast justin]# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 250.0 GB, 250058268160 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 30401 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x39473947

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 5 40162 83 Linux
/dev/sda2 6 38 265072+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda3 39 995 7687102+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda4 996 30401 236203695 83 Linux

Disk /dev/sdb: 80.0 GB, 80025280000 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9729 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x562c2a8b

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 * 1 9729 78148161 7 HPFS/NTFS
--------
# Config file for GRUB - The GNU GRand Unified Bootloader
# /boot/grub/menu.lst

# DEVICE NAME CONVERSIONS
#
# Linux Grub
# -------------------------
# /dev/fd0 (fd0)
# /dev/hda (hd0)
# /dev/hdb2 (hd1,1)
# /dev/hda3 (hd0,2)
#

# FRAMEBUFFER RESOLUTION SETTINGS
# +-------------------------------------------------+
# | 640x480 800x600 1024x768 1280x1024
# ----+--------------------------------------------
# 256 | 0x301=769 0x303=771 0x305=773 0x307=775
# 32K | 0x310=784 0x313=787 0x316=790 0x319=793
# 64K | 0x311=785 0x314=788 0x317=791 0x31A=794
# 16M | 0x312=786 0x315=789 0x318=792 0x31B=795
# +-------------------------------------------------+

# general configuration:
timeout 5
default 0
color light-blue/black light-cyan/blue

# boot sections follow
# each is implicitly numbered from 0 in the order of appearance below
#
# TIP: If you want a 1024x768 framebuffer, add "vga=773" to your kernel line.
#
#-*

# (0) Arch Linux
title Arch Linux
root (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz26 root=/dev/sda3 ro
initrd /kernel26.img

# (1) Arch Linux
title Arch Linux Fallback
root (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz26 root=/dev/sda3 ro
initrd /kernel26-fallback.img

# (1) Windows
title Windows XP
root (hd1,0)
savedefault
makeactive
map (hd0) (hd1)
map (hd1) (hd0)
chainloader +1
----
do i need to make windows the master, reinstall on the slave drive, and install grub to the windwos drive? Is there any options, any help would be awesome.
__________________

Last edited by axion419 (2008-03-09 22:10:17)

Offline

#2 2008-03-11 09:16:05

loosec
Member
Registered: 2007-03-08
Posts: 134

Re: 2 HD, Dual Boot Grub Problem

You should be able to use GRUB to boot from another hard drive.

I don't know the exact solution to your problem so I'll just guess:

Try with rootnoverify instead of root.
Try putting the map-switching before the root line.


However this problem has been solved a dozen times in these forums so the correct solution should be around.

Offline

#3 2008-03-11 15:43:07

bgc1954
Member
From: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Registered: 2006-03-14
Posts: 1,122

Re: 2 HD, Dual Boot Grub Problem

This might give you some ideas: http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=12196


Time is a great teacher, but unfortunately it kills all its pupils ... - Louis Hector Berlioz

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB