You are not logged in.

#1 2008-01-14 18:39:11

cloudstrife
Member
From: Santa Clara, CA
Registered: 2008-01-13
Posts: 44

eth0 not being detected

Hi All,
I did a fresh install of Arch yesterday. It went all well and I could login as root. But it says that eth0 is not detected, meaning the ethernet card is not detected. After a bit of research I found out the driver for my Mobo DG33FB is e1000e or e1000_ich9. Both work well. I have a working Linux distro which lists e1000_ich9 as the module loaded. So I want to know how do I tell Arch to use this driver and what all is required.
O/P of lsmod on working distro:

00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82G33/G31 Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02)
00:03.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation 82G33/G31/P35/P31 Express MEI Controller (rev 02)
00:19.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 02)
00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 02)
00:1a.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 02)

O/P of lsmod:

psmouse                39952  0
pcspkr                  4224  0
e1000_ich9            188736  0
snd                    54660  21 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,snd_seq_oss,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq,snd_timer,snd_seq_device
soundcore               8800  1 snd
snd_page_alloc         11400  2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
serio_raw               8068  0

Any help is appreciated
Thanks and Regards
Cloud


Core2Duo T7250 2.0 GHz
Dell Vostro 1700
OS: Win7/Arch

Offline

#2 2008-01-14 22:14:36

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: eth0 not being detected

Please list the /etc/rc.conf file


Prediction...This year will be a very odd year!
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#3 2008-01-14 22:26:26

wu.soldier
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2006-12-19
Posts: 22

Re: eth0 not being detected

If you want to load that module automatically at start-up then simply add it to MODULES in /etc/rc.conf.

Offline

#4 2008-01-15 03:56:18

cloudstrife
Member
From: Santa Clara, CA
Registered: 2008-01-13
Posts: 44

Re: eth0 not being detected

Firstly the O/P that was posted was that of the working linux distro, Linux Mint. I just wanted to stress that e1000e_ich9 was the module to be loaded. I forgot to mention this. I am very sorry

Secondly here is my /etc/rc.conf :

#
# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
# HARDWARE
# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
#
# Scan hardware and load required modules at bootup
MOD_AUTOLOAD="yes"
# Module Blacklist - modules in this list will never be loaded by udev
MOD_BLACKLIST=()
#
# Modules to load at boot-up (in this order)
#   - prefix a module with a ! to blacklist it
#
MODULES=(snd-mixer-oss snd-pcm-oss snd-hwdep snd-page-alloc snd-pcm snd-timer snd snd-hda-intel soundcore)
# Scan for LVM volume groups at startup, required if you use LVM
USELVM="no"

#
# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
# NETWORKING
# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
#
HOSTNAME="myhost"
#
# Use 'ifconfig -a' or 'ls /sys/class/net/' to see all available
# interfaces.
#
# Interfaces to start at boot-up (in this order)
# Declare each interface then list in INTERFACES
#   - prefix an entry in INTERFACES with a ! to disable it
#   - no hyphens in your interface names - Bash doesn't like it
#
# Note: to use DHCP, set your interface to be "dhcp" (eth0="dhcp")
#
lo="lo 127.0.0.1"
eth0="dhcp"
INTERFACES=(lo eth0)
#
# Routes to start at boot-up (in this order)
# Declare each route then list in ROUTES
#   - prefix an entry in ROUTES with a ! to disable it
#
gateway="default gw 192.168.0.1"
ROUTES=(!gateway)
#
# Enable these network profiles at boot-up.  These are only useful
# if you happen to need multiple network configurations (ie, laptop users)
#   - set to 'menu' to present a menu during boot-up (dialog package required)
#   - prefix an entry with a ! to disable it
#
# Network profiles are found in /etc/network-profiles
#
#NET_PROFILES=(main)

#
# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
# DAEMONS
# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
#
# Daemons to start at boot-up (in this order)
#   - prefix a daemon with a ! to disable it
#   - prefix a daemon with a @ to start it up in the background
#
DAEMONS=(syslog-ng network netfs crond)

# End of file

I will post the lsmod and lspci o/p of Arch in the next post.

Thanks and Regards
Cloud


Core2Duo T7250 2.0 GHz
Dell Vostro 1700
OS: Win7/Arch

Offline

#5 2008-01-15 04:19:51

cloudstrife
Member
From: Santa Clara, CA
Registered: 2008-01-13
Posts: 44

Re: eth0 not being detected

Hi all,
Here is the O/P of lspci in Arch:

00:03.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation 82G33/G31/P35/P31 Express MEI Controller (rev 02)
00:19.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 02)
00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 02)

which is the exact output of Linux Mint

In the output of lsmod of Arch there is no e1000 or e1000_ich9. I confirmed it.

Here is ifconfig output:

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

Also while shutting down, it says,

eth0: Unknown Interface. No such Device found.

Thanks and Regards
Cloud


Core2Duo T7250 2.0 GHz
Dell Vostro 1700
OS: Win7/Arch

Offline

#6 2008-01-15 04:23:24

fwojciec
Member
Registered: 2007-05-20
Posts: 1,411

Re: eth0 not being detected

e1000 is compiled as a module in the standard arch kernel so you should be able to modprobe it...  No idea where to get the _ich9 variant thought...   
You might want to consider filling a bug report for that if you can't get it to work, I guess...

Offline

#7 2008-01-15 05:07:17

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: eth0 not being detected

Wella, wella!  Googled item 82801I (ICH9).

It is listed as an audio device, not Ethernet?


Prediction...This year will be a very odd year!
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#8 2008-01-15 05:29:00

cloudstrife
Member
From: Santa Clara, CA
Registered: 2008-01-13
Posts: 44

Re: eth0 not being detected

Hi all,
Thanks a lot for the prompt responses. Very grateful.
@fwojciec: I will try the e1000 module and let you know.
@lilsirecho: No 82801I is a series of chips. The entire range of chips. It has all chips. Audio, Memory Controller, Ethernet Controller etc etc...

00:19.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 02)
00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 02)
00:1a.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 02)
00:1a.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #6 (rev 02)
00:1a.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 02)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 02)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 02)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 3 (rev 02)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 4 (rev 02)
00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 5 (rev 02)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev 92)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801IH (ICH9DH) LPC Interface Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801IR/IO/IH (ICH9R/DO/DH) 4 port SATA IDE Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.5 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) 2 port SATA IDE Controller (rev 02)

Thanks and Regards
Cloud


Core2Duo T7250 2.0 GHz
Dell Vostro 1700
OS: Win7/Arch

Offline

#9 2008-01-15 05:37:49

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: eth0 not being detected

I would expect that a different ID would be necessary for each function provided by the ICH9 since it provides multiple functions.  The same ID would not be acceptable in the system.

EDIT:  By this I mean 82801Ia,..b....c....d...e

Last edited by lilsirecho (2008-01-15 05:41:34)


Prediction...This year will be a very odd year!
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#10 2008-01-16 01:24:56

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Charlotte, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,736

Re: eth0 not being detected

the e1000 should work. If not try e1000e -thats the pci express version.

Offline

#11 2008-01-16 04:24:33

cloudstrife
Member
From: Santa Clara, CA
Registered: 2008-01-13
Posts: 44

Re: eth0 not being detected

T-Dawg wrote:

the e1000 should work. If not try e1000e -thats the pci express version.

Firstly e1000 doesnot work. I tried it sometime back. About the e1000e, I tried that too.
The kernet that comes with  2007.08-2  (2.6.23.12-3) doesnot have the module as the following suggests

santosh@nebuchadnazzer:~$ modprobe e1000e
FATAL: Module e1000e not found.

I want to compile this module. I have been googling but I have not got any source of e1000e driver. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks and Regards
Cloud


Core2Duo T7250 2.0 GHz
Dell Vostro 1700
OS: Win7/Arch

Offline

#12 2008-01-16 05:28:11

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: eth0 not being detected

Perhaps you can try INTEL website for ICH9 INTEL 7.5.5.1 driver.....


Prediction...This year will be a very odd year!
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#13 2008-01-16 11:13:26

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Charlotte, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,736

Re: eth0 not being detected

Offline

#14 2008-01-16 18:04:03

cloudstrife
Member
From: Santa Clara, CA
Registered: 2008-01-13
Posts: 44

Re: eth0 not being detected

Hi TDawg,
Thanks for the reply but I guess the page doesnt list what I am looking for. I went through that page and few other related pages and what I concluded is it is for Network cards that Intel  makes exclusively and not for the mother board chipset ones.
http://support.intel.com/support/networ … 008441.htm
I believe so because I havent seen anything that resembles the pictures in the link mentioned above.
Do correct me if you feel I am wrong.

Thanks and Regards
Cloud


Core2Duo T7250 2.0 GHz
Dell Vostro 1700
OS: Win7/Arch

Offline

#15 2008-01-17 21:03:37

cloudstrife
Member
From: Santa Clara, CA
Registered: 2008-01-13
Posts: 44

Re: eth0 not being detected

Hi,
Got the required Info from there. You were right. I am sorry.
Anyway I have now got or atleast I believe I have got access to source files of e1000e from
http://www.upkg.org/index.php?section=p … ery=e1000e
What do you people feel? Is this fine?
I now need a good guide of how to compile this as a kernel module.
I got one on wikipedia. I havent gone through it. Atleast the name suggests so.
If any of you know a good site please let me know.

Thanks and Regards
Cloud


Core2Duo T7250 2.0 GHz
Dell Vostro 1700
OS: Win7/Arch

Offline

#16 2008-02-16 01:13:48

cactus.ed
Member
From: The lonesome crowded west
Registered: 2007-08-11
Posts: 31

Re: eth0 not being detected

I have the same Intel network adapter.

Prior to 2.6.24, use the e1000  (not e1000e) module. The module included with the kernel is kind of old, I grabbed the source from the following website and compiled the most recent e1000 module. Everything worked perfectly.

http://sourceforge.net/project/showfile … p_id=42302

2.6.24 contains the e1000e module and it works for my adapter. My understanding is e1000e is a temporary kernel thing, and the e1000e module will eventually be merged with the kernel e1000.

-nate

Offline

#17 2008-03-18 19:43:43

mirko.elric
Member
Registered: 2008-03-18
Posts: 2

Re: eth0 not being detected

I've got the same problem of cloudstrife with ftp cdinstall. In Ubuntu installed on my machine I use e1000e module driver for ethernet card. In Arch, when I try to dhcp the card it simply doesn't work as there isn't e1000e driver avalible in the install kernel directory.

Last edited by mirko.elric (2008-03-18 19:44:20)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB