You are not logged in.

#1 2004-07-12 17:03:38

PeskyGee
Member
From: Pittsburgh, PA
Registered: 2004-04-18
Posts: 19

Upgrading from Xfree86 to Xorg?

Hi all,

I was just wondering if someone could give me some feedback on what would be the best/easiest way to upgrade from XFree86 that is currently installed to Xorg? It appears that most of the Development is going to projected towards Xorg so I would like to move to that package to stay current. Any suggestions or links would be greatly appriciated. Thanks  big_smile

Offline

#2 2004-07-12 17:20:02

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: Upgrading from Xfree86 to Xorg?


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#3 2004-07-12 18:23:34

PeskyGee
Member
From: Pittsburgh, PA
Registered: 2004-04-18
Posts: 19

Re: Upgrading from Xfree86 to Xorg?

Thanks sarah31 for the info But this does not tell me how to uninstall Xfree86. Any more info would be greatly appriciated.

Offline

#4 2004-07-12 19:00:11

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: Upgrading from Xfree86 to Xorg?

when you install xorg it should prompt if you want to remove xfree86 (since they basically conflict). That is how i understand the build. most packages that are substitutes for another package are set up like this .... usually because package maintainers have no choice but to set it up this way.


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#5 2004-07-12 19:35:01

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: Upgrading from Xfree86 to Xorg?

i did pacman -S xorg this morning, and am running now the xorg instead of xfree86 (funny enough, it did not asked to replace, but simply removed the xfree86 and inserted xorg - or was it too early in the morning to remember? ;-) :oops:)


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#6 2004-07-12 20:28:22

kakabaratruskia
Member
From: Santiago, Chile
Registered: 2003-08-24
Posts: 596

Re: Upgrading from Xfree86 to Xorg?

I also did pacman -Sy xorg yesterday, and it was really easy. It removed xfree automatically and didn't have to configure anything, as it used my XF86Config. Startx worked without any trouble.


And where were all the sportsmen who always pulled you though?
They're all resting down in Cornwall
writing up their memoirs for a paper-back edition
of the Boy Scout Manual.

Offline

#7 2004-07-12 21:55:03

wdemoss
Member
From: WV - USA
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 222

Re: Upgrading from Xfree86 to Xorg?

dp wrote:

i did pacman -S xorg this morning, and am running now the xorg instead of xfree86 (funny enough, it did not asked to replace, but simply removed the xfree86 and inserted xorg - or was it too early in the morning to remember? ;-) :oops:)

I don't recall it prompting me either. I thought it was strang when i did it two nights ago.
-wd


Hobbes : Shouldn't we read the instructions?
Calvin : Do I look like a sissy?

Offline

#8 2004-07-13 01:36:44

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: Upgrading from Xfree86 to Xorg?

well it is really not necessary to prompt really when you have to remove one to install the other smile i haven't installed xorg but i thought it would prompt because that is what similar package replacements in the past have done.


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#9 2004-07-13 06:51:20

dpb
Member
From: Cyperspace?
Registered: 2004-04-11
Posts: 231

Re: Upgrading from Xfree86 to Xorg?

kakabaratruskia wrote:

I also did pacman -Sy xorg yesterday, and it was really easy. It removed xfree automatically and didn't have to configure anything, as it used my XF86Config. Startx worked without any trouble.

Xorg doesn't use XF86Config. Do you mean you renamed XF86Config to xorg.conf?
Xorg (and XFree86 4.4) guesses the config if there is no config file. So it can work without xorg.conf too..

Offline

#10 2004-07-13 11:57:01

Abaddon
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2004-05-03
Posts: 226

Re: Upgrading from Xfree86 to Xorg?

Xorg doesn't use XF86Config. Do you mean you renamed XF86Config to xorg.conf?

It does...


Gnome - The weakest link!
Linux, *not* GNU/Linux!

Offline

#11 2004-07-13 12:06:17

PeskyGee
Member
From: Pittsburgh, PA
Registered: 2004-04-18
Posts: 19

Re: Upgrading from Xfree86 to Xorg?

Thank for the info guys and gals. I'll probably try it out tonight.  :-)

Offline

#12 2004-07-13 14:46:45

kakabaratruskia
Member
From: Santiago, Chile
Registered: 2003-08-24
Posts: 596

Re: Upgrading from Xfree86 to Xorg?

dpb wrote:
kakabaratruskia wrote:

I also did pacman -Sy xorg yesterday, and it was really easy. It removed xfree automatically and didn't have to configure anything, as it used my XF86Config. Startx worked without any trouble.

Xorg doesn't use XF86Config. Do you mean you renamed XF86Config to xorg.conf?
Xorg (and XFree86 4.4) guesses the config if there is no config file. So it can work without xorg.conf too..

Nop, it just read XF86Config. In fact when I ran xorgcfg, it just modified XF86Config and did not create a xorg.conf. Anyway, now I renamed my XF86Config to xorg.conf, to avoid any future compatibility problems.


And where were all the sportsmen who always pulled you though?
They're all resting down in Cornwall
writing up their memoirs for a paper-back edition
of the Boy Scout Manual.

Offline

#13 2004-07-13 15:08:24

rubber-ducko
Member
From: Oslo, Norway
Registered: 2004-07-13
Posts: 16

Re: Upgrading from Xfree86 to Xorg?

I did install xorg just now, and renamed the XF86Config to xorg.conf, and it runs smooth.


sum sum

Offline

#14 2004-07-13 18:10:10

dpb
Member
From: Cyperspace?
Registered: 2004-04-11
Posts: 231

Re: Upgrading from Xfree86 to Xorg?

Abaddon wrote:

Xorg doesn't use XF86Config. Do you mean you renamed XF86Config to xorg.conf?

It does...

Oh... well, i've only installed xorg once, and i renamed the config to xorg.conf... didn't try if it reads it, just assumed it wouldn't...  :oops:

Offline

#15 2004-07-16 00:04:12

PeskyGee
Member
From: Pittsburgh, PA
Registered: 2004-04-18
Posts: 19

Re: Upgrading from Xfree86 to Xorg?

Thanks everyone :-) went for the update and stated that it was going to remove the XFree and replace with xorg. Got a error the first time about libGL.so.1 but renamed the file and it installed.

Thanks again.   8)

Offline

#16 2004-07-17 17:08:48

tmadhavan
Member
From: Wales :D
Registered: 2004-03-26
Posts: 441

Re: Upgrading from Xfree86 to Xorg?

Yeh worked fine here too, no probs apart from the libGL prob, got that sorted in no time. Haven't noticed any differences, but I'm (hopefully) futureproofed for a while big_smile

T

Offline

#17 2004-07-20 21:12:52

usenix
Member
From: Bremen, EU
Registered: 2004-06-30
Posts: 14

Re: Upgrading from Xfree86 to Xorg?

me too, i changed from xfree86 to xorg, a couple of weeks ago. it was a real walk-over  big_smile  and in the meantime my system runs smoothly like ... an archlinux. so is it really necessary to rename the xf86config? i mean i can't remember any mention of it in the wiki  :?:

Offline

#18 2004-07-21 06:13:44

dpb
Member
From: Cyperspace?
Registered: 2004-04-11
Posts: 231

Re: Upgrading from Xfree86 to Xorg?

usenix wrote:

me too, i changed from xfree86 to xorg, a couple of weeks ago. it was a real walk-over  big_smile  and in the meantime my system runs smoothly like ... an archlinux. so is it really necessary to rename the xf86config? i mean i can't remember any mention of it in the wiki  :?:

Apparently XF86Config and XF86Config-4 works too, so there really isn't any need for that at this time. In future releases of Xorg they might remove the support for XF86Configs though.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB