You are not logged in.

#1 2007-08-22 17:04:42

Jacek Poplawski
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2006-01-10
Posts: 736
Website

cpu is too old for this kernel

I downloaded and burned Arch No Panic ISO before 5:00 am today, then I went to the train and started travelling to my parents, it took about 10 hours. Now I am in their house and I wanted to install brand fresh new Arch Linux on my old K6-2 500. All I saw (after many dots) was:

cpu is too old for this kernel

WHY????
686 is not enough today? for installation?

PS. could you recommend small distro with gcc and SDL and Mesa? Slackware? Ubuntu? OK, let's get serious, Slackware?

Offline

#2 2007-08-22 17:10:34

Ramses de Norre
Member
From: Leuven - Belgium
Registered: 2007-03-27
Posts: 1,289

Re: cpu is too old for this kernel

IIRC K6-2 processors are i586 compatible... Arch' i686 packages wont run on it.

Offline

#3 2007-08-22 17:14:23

Jacek Poplawski
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2006-01-10
Posts: 736
Website

Re: cpu is too old for this kernel

That's suprising news, could you give link to the source?

Offline

#4 2007-08-22 17:28:17

byte
Member
From: Düsseldorf (DE)
Registered: 2006-05-01
Posts: 2,045

Re: cpu is too old for this kernel

It isn't news. AMD K6/K6-2/K6-III are all i586, period. i686 starts with PentiumPro and continued with PentiumII/Celeron. The first i686-compatible CPU from AMD was the original Athlon (SlotA).

Last edited by byte (2007-08-22 17:29:06)


1000

Offline

#5 2007-08-22 17:28:19

Pierre
Developer
From: Bonn
Registered: 2004-07-05
Posts: 1,950
Website

Re: cpu is too old for this kernel

The first i686 compatible cpu from aMD was the Athlon. The K6 was an i586. See Wikipedia for more information.

Offline

#6 2007-08-22 18:09:37

Jacek Poplawski
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2006-01-10
Posts: 736
Website

Re: cpu is too old for this kernel

That's very sad.

Offline

#7 2007-08-22 18:43:39

harlekin
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-07-13
Posts: 408

Re: cpu is too old for this kernel

There were projects to maintain an archlinux repository for i586 cpus.

http://www.lowarch.org/

I don't know if it's still maintained, though.
Good luck!


Hail to the thief!

Offline

#8 2007-12-13 05:07:58

fgb
Member
Registered: 2007-12-13
Posts: 2

Re: cpu is too old for this kernel

I know k6-2 is an i586 family processor, but there are two problems, first the name, beacause of the 6 in k6, it can make suppose that k6 means i686. but the main problem is the fact that the official_Arch_Linux_Install_Guide at http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Off … tall_Guide says something like this:

Pre-Installation

Arch Linux is optimized for the i686 processor and therefore will not run on any lower or incompatible generations of x86 CPUs (i386,i486,i586). A Pentium II or AMD K6-2 processor or higher is required. x86-64 architectures are also officially supported.

"A Pentium II or AMD K6-2 processor or higher is required"

now, there are two options: the official guide is wrong, or you would have to be able to install on a k6-2 microprocessor even if it is an i586 one. if is the secon opcion the question is "how?" because i thry to install arch on a k6-2 500mhz with the same result: "cpu is too old for this kernel"

Offline

#9 2007-12-13 05:15:58

kth5
Member
Registered: 2004-04-29
Posts: 655
Website

Re: cpu is too old for this kernel

There are variations of the K6 with cmov which is the most important feature that makes a i686. A K6-III usually has it and does indeed run Arch. The K6-2 and K6-2+ don't unfornunately.

Last edited by kth5 (2007-12-13 05:16:16)


I recognize that while theory and practice are, in theory, the same, they are, in practice, different. -Mark Mitchell

Offline

#10 2007-12-13 05:17:54

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: cpu is too old for this kernel

If usb 2.0 is provided, try Faunos to load archlinux progs with flash drive.  Squashfs r/o runs in ram.

If only 1.1 usb, use cdboot of faun os and usb flash drive combo.

Faunos has 500 progs of archlinux.

There should be no prob because it runs in ram.

EDIT:  Progs emanate from the flash drive(r/o) and run in ram.

Last edited by lilsirecho (2007-12-13 05:34:26)


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#11 2007-12-13 05:43:31

Allan
Developer
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,406
Website

Re: cpu is too old for this kernel

Is Faunos not i686 optimized?

Offline

#12 2007-12-13 05:51:53

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: cpu is too old for this kernel

It is based on kernel26faunos-2.6.21.1-2.

As such it would seem to be optimized for i686.  However, it doesn't mean that it won't load and perform through ram.  Nothing is lost in trying it except time.  The flash drive will live thru it and be useful elsewhere.

Most bugaboos are just that.......


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#13 2007-12-13 08:28:07

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: cpu is too old for this kernel

FaunOS will not run lilsirecho, whether it runs from ram or hdd means nothing. It's the target architecture for the packages that matters -- and FaunOS is i686 just like Arch.

Offline

#14 2007-12-13 22:55:32

fgb
Member
Registered: 2007-12-13
Posts: 2

Re: cpu is too old for this kernel

kth5 wrote:

There are variations of the K6 with cmov which is the most important feature that makes a i686. A K6-III usually has it and does indeed run Arch. The K6-2 and K6-2+ don't unfornunately.

then k6-2=i586 and some k6-3=i686?...anyway, the thing is: there are no way to install arch (as says the install guide) on a k6-2 processor? i supose no, because of changes on instruccion set or something like that.

another problem with faunos is

#  Architecture: x86
# Minimum RAM: 512 MB; 1GB or more recommended. Minimum 1.5GB required for "In Memory" boot option.
# Minimum Processor Speed: 500 MHz

i have only 64mb of ram, and i think the most of this kind of old machines have no more than 256mb of ram.

Offline

#15 2008-04-15 14:06:24

sundhar
Member
Registered: 2008-03-26
Posts: 2

Re: cpu is too old for this kernel

Can i install Archlinux in celeron processor?

Offline

#16 2008-04-15 14:11:18

.:B:.
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2006-11-26
Posts: 5,819

Re: cpu is too old for this kernel

The answer is in this very thread. Did you read it? roll


Got Leenucks? :: Arch: Power in simplicity :: Get Counted! Registered Linux User #392717 :: Blog thingy

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB