You are not logged in.

#1 2004-07-28 01:42:16

rayjgu3
Member
From: Chicago IL usa
Registered: 2004-07-04
Posts: 692

getting connected

hello  been playing with arch for last 5 days searching doing a lot of reading either i glanced over message to get this up or i putting things in wrong place  i have cable internet behind router
i have ecs mobo k7s5a w/ buitin lan sis900
add alias sis900 to /etc/modprobe.conf

tried playing with several conf files to get connected but no luck
tried copying  some of the filesfrom mandrake 10.0 to get network going like resolve.conf says to search attbi for ip addy didnt work also removed the ! from !gateway in rc.conf
i wish on the ftp install it told me what it did to get it to work
thanks for any help

Offline

#2 2004-07-28 06:51:33

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,751

Re: getting connected

There are plenty of threads on the forum regarding network set up...

try adding module for (sis900) in rc.conf

make sure settings are correct in rc.conf (main config file) resolv.conf has a nameserver in it...

If module is loaded (check lsmod) try ping -c 3 www.google.com see if it works...

HTH

Mr Green


Mr Green

Offline

#3 2004-07-28 10:01:42

xerxes2
Member
From: Malmoe, Sweden
Registered: 2004-04-23
Posts: 1,249
Website

Re: getting connected


arch + gentoo + initng + python = enlisy

Offline

#4 2004-07-28 10:07:29

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,751

Re: getting connected

Yeah  lol  & check Wiki...


Mr Green

Offline

#5 2004-07-28 15:40:36

xerxes2
Member
From: Malmoe, Sweden
Registered: 2004-04-23
Posts: 1,249
Website

Re: getting connected

I just added that wiki green.
It was you that showed  me internet so if it's wrong you got to fix it. big_smile


arch + gentoo + initng + python = enlisy

Offline

#6 2004-07-30 01:38:25

rayjgu3
Member
From: Chicago IL usa
Registered: 2004-07-04
Posts: 692

Re: getting connected

thanks for all the info i wont be able to delve into this more till weekend
hopefully make some more headway on this then

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB