You are not logged in.

#51 2008-05-22 18:41:59

Cerebral
Forum Fellow
From: Waterloo, ON, CA
Registered: 2005-04-08
Posts: 3,108
Website

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

Makeworld is designed to build the entire repository, whereas this app rebuilds only the stuff on your system currently

Offline

#52 2008-05-22 19:15:53

aRcHaTe
Member
Registered: 2006-10-24
Posts: 646

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

DonVla wrote:

what's actually the difference to makeworld?

makeworld  - a makepkg wrapper to build multiple packages

Usage: /usr/bin/makeworld [options] <destdir> <repo> [repo] ...

ok, it has AUR support, but AUr packages are compiled anyway....
am i missing smth?

vlad

a full support..pacman and aur..and a beautiful output..for starter...and i think his going to work on it to improve

Last edited by aRcHaTe (2008-05-22 19:22:24)


Its a sick world we live in....

Offline

#53 2008-05-22 19:47:50

DonVla
Member
From: Bonn, Germany
Registered: 2007-06-07
Posts: 997

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

ok
thanks
vlad

Offline

#54 2008-05-22 21:38:19

Barrucadu
Member
From: York, England
Registered: 2008-03-30
Posts: 1,158
Website

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

I've edited the check_args() function to support 2 character arguments (ie: -X) for faster typing and removed the sysupgrade argument as it did the same thing as upgrade but wasn't included in the help, and edited the print_help() function to include the new shorter arguments, organised the output a bit nicer, and added two examples.

http://me.yarrt.com/print-help-check-args.txt

Not sure if you'll use it or not, but I thought I'd try to help smile

Offline

#55 2008-05-22 21:57:08

Cimi
Member
From: Padova, Italy
Registered: 2006-01-16
Posts: 301
Website

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

does no longer depends on yaourt, depends on rsync!


Murrine Creator - GNOME Developer

Offline

#56 2008-05-22 22:00:21

aRcHaTe
Member
Registered: 2006-10-24
Posts: 646

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

Cimi wrote:

does no longer depends on yaourt, depends on rsync!

awesooome!!!!


Its a sick world we live in....

Offline

#57 2008-05-22 22:08:44

Barrucadu
Member
From: York, England
Registered: 2008-03-30
Posts: 1,158
Website

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

Question: If you recompile your entire system, then install a few things with pacman, is there a way to make the script just recompile those packages and not everything else again?

Offline

#58 2008-05-22 22:27:11

Cimi
Member
From: Padova, Italy
Registered: 2006-01-16
Posts: 301
Website

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

doesn't work for extra packages, something is wrong... let me fix


Murrine Creator - GNOME Developer

Offline

#59 2008-05-22 22:37:34

Cimi
Member
From: Padova, Italy
Registered: 2006-01-16
Posts: 301
Website

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

fixed


Murrine Creator - GNOME Developer

Offline

#60 2008-05-22 22:59:11

Barrucadu
Member
From: York, England
Registered: 2008-03-30
Posts: 1,158
Website

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

I've modified this to install packages you don't already have - as well as recompile them big_smile

Here is the installing function:

function install_packages()
{
    if [ "$INSTALLING" == "TRUE" ]; then
        echo "" > ${LOG_FILE_PACKAGES}
        for EXTRA_FLAG in $INSTALLPKGS; do
            if [ "`echo \"$EXTRA_FLAG\" | grep \"-\"`"  == "" ]; then
                echo ${EXTRA_FLAG} >> ${LOG_FILE_PACKAGES}
            fi
        done
        build_multiple_packages
    fi
}

The corresponding line in check_args():

            --install) INSTALLING="TRUE"; INSTALLPKGS=$@ ;;

And the corresponding line in main():

    install_packages

To test run it like this: pacbuilder --install package1 package2 package3 etc. It doesn't seem to work with packages in extra - but I am using the latest version of the script as a base.

Last edited by Barrucadu (2008-05-22 22:59:57)

Offline

#61 2008-05-22 23:48:59

Cimi
Member
From: Padova, Italy
Registered: 2006-01-16
Posts: 301
Website

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

you've problems with the "-" chars of the packages

Last edited by Cimi (2008-05-23 00:59:07)


Murrine Creator - GNOME Developer

Offline

#62 2008-05-23 03:06:27

dr.cranium
Member
Registered: 2008-01-25
Posts: 65

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

Pretty sweet.  Thanks a lot

Offline

#63 2008-05-23 03:58:46

Cimi
Member
From: Padova, Italy
Registered: 2006-01-16
Posts: 301
Website

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

added --builddeps, in testing. ugly output

Last edited by Cimi (2008-05-23 03:59:11)


Murrine Creator - GNOME Developer

Offline

#64 2008-05-23 06:56:30

Barrucadu
Member
From: York, England
Registered: 2008-03-30
Posts: 1,158
Website

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

Ah, you adopted my suggestion smile
Now all this script really needs is a --remove option, and it will be as good as a full-blown package manager. I'll have a look later at implementing one - if someone else hasn't made one by then.

Offline

#65 2008-05-23 06:58:26

dhave
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Outside the matrix.
Registered: 2005-05-15
Posts: 1,112

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

@Cimi: I've had pretty good results so far. I did a --core rebuild, and the only real problems had to do with a few outdated PKGBUILDs. Of my 128 packages in core, I had about 12 of these that wouldn't rebuild, simply because the source package referred to in the PKGBUILD was not found. For 7 of these packages, I manually edited the PKGBUILD and rebuilt them not using pacbuilder. The remaining 5 packages I'm leaving as they are.

Now my problem is this: I've decided to try rebuilding another repository, but when I run the command './pacbuilder.sh --extra --verbose', it goes back to the 5 that were left over from the --core rebuild. I think the script is stuck.

I'm using r35 now; I had been using one of the earlier releases, when yaourt was still used. So the script should support --extra, I believe. At any rate, when I run --testing or --unstable, the script still insists on going back to those 5 unbuild packages from core.

Along these same lines, it would be good if I could tell pacbuilder that I want to leave some unbuilt packages as they are, an ignore package option, in other words. Maybe you've already got this and I missed it.

Thanks again. I think this has a lot of potential, as you can probably tell by the interest it's generated.

Last edited by dhave (2008-05-23 07:16:53)


Donate to Arch!

Tired? There's a nap for that. --anonymous

Offline

#66 2008-05-23 09:29:11

Cimi
Member
From: Padova, Italy
Registered: 2006-01-16
Posts: 301
Website

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

dhave wrote:

@Cimi: I've had pretty good results so far. I did a --core rebuild, and the only real problems had to do with a few outdated PKGBUILDs. Of my 128 packages in core, I had about 12 of these that wouldn't rebuild, simply because the source package referred to in the PKGBUILD was not found. For 7 of these packages, I manually edited the PKGBUILD and rebuilt them not using pacbuilder. The remaining 5 packages I'm leaving as they are.

Now my problem is this: I've decided to try rebuilding another repository, but when I run the command './pacbuilder.sh --extra --verbose', it goes back to the 5 that were left over from the --core rebuild. I think the script is stuck.

I'm using r35 now; I had been using one of the earlier releases, when yaourt was still used. So the script should support --extra, I believe. At any rate, when I run --testing or --unstable, the script still insists on going back to those 5 unbuild packages from core.

Along these same lines, it would be good if I could tell pacbuilder that I want to leave some unbuilt packages as they are, an ignore package option, in other words. Maybe you've already got this and I missed it.

Thanks again. I think this has a lot of potential, as you can probably tell by the interest it's generated.

first of all, you can edit PKGBUILD by adding --edit!!!
Well, it should ask to resume or not, if you answer no then it shouldn't goes back using the 5 packages


Murrine Creator - GNOME Developer

Offline

#67 2008-05-23 10:27:17

klixon
Member
From: Nederland
Registered: 2007-01-17
Posts: 525

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

another name suggestion: powerpill_pacman cool


Stand back, intruder, or i'll blast you out of space! I am Klixon and I don't want any dealings with you human lifeforms. I'm a cyborg!

Offline

#68 2008-05-23 10:38:10

pyther
Member
Registered: 2008-01-21
Posts: 1,395
Website

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

Is there any way to reduce the timeout time for downloading packages? For what ever reason one of the sourceforge mirrors will not let me download, causing a ton of packages not to build. I know that reduce the time won't fix the package compiling but it waits like (5+ minutes) before going onto the next package


Website - Blog - arch-home
Arch User since March 2005

Offline

#69 2008-05-23 10:46:55

dhave
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Outside the matrix.
Registered: 2005-05-15
Posts: 1,112

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

Cimi wrote:

first of all, you can edit PKGBUILD by adding --edit!!!

O.K., that's a nice feature. Thanks.

Cimi wrote:

Well, it should ask to resume or not, if you answer no then it shouldn't goes back using the 5 packages

I am dumber than a duck. I was inputing simply "n" instead of "no", even though the prompt clearly says "yes/no". When I input "no" instead of "n", the script responds correctly.

Sorry!


Donate to Arch!

Tired? There's a nap for that. --anonymous

Offline

#70 2008-05-23 10:53:32

hrist
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-01-07
Posts: 61
Website

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

pyther:

If this problem is related to the use of "dl.sourceforge.net" instead of "downloads.sourceforge.net" you can simply add

sed -i -e "s/dl.sourceforge.net/downloads.sourceforge.net/" PKGBUILD

between "edit_pkgbuild" in line 242 and "get_pkginfo" in line 243, worked for me.

This is of course a temporary solution because it's not the job of a package management tool to fix the mistakes the packagers made wink


two - Arch64 | dwm | nvidia
three - Arch64 | dwm | nvidia

Offline

#71 2008-05-23 20:51:24

Cimi
Member
From: Padova, Italy
Registered: 2006-01-16
Posts: 301
Website

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

the dependency check&build should work muuuch better
please test it!


Murrine Creator - GNOME Developer

Offline

#72 2008-05-23 20:53:58

aRcHaTe
Member
Registered: 2006-10-24
Posts: 646

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

Cimi wrote:

the dependency check&build should work muuuch better
please test it!

been waiting for this wink
great!


Its a sick world we live in....

Offline

#73 2008-05-23 22:06:42

Barrucadu
Member
From: York, England
Registered: 2008-03-30
Posts: 1,158
Website

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

Brilliant smile
Recompiling splashy with this resulted in not being able to run mkinitcpio without getting millions of errors. Recompiling splashy with the latest version made it all work big_smile

Offline

#74 2008-05-24 12:11:41

Cimi
Member
From: Padova, Italy
Registered: 2006-01-16
Posts: 301
Website

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

the output should be much better now when taking into account dependencies.
Also, I've fixed all the checks behind dependencies, so when it fails it will print what was wrong (missing dependency, makepkg error, general error...)

Last edited by Cimi (2008-05-24 12:12:50)


Murrine Creator - GNOME Developer

Offline

#75 2008-05-24 12:17:39

roadboy
Member
From: Turkey
Registered: 2007-06-23
Posts: 38
Website

Re: New pacman utility, rebuild and optimize packages from source

How about powerpac? roll

Last edited by roadboy (2008-05-24 12:34:32)


in /dev/null no one can hear your scream...

Turkish Archlinux & KDEmod Mirror Administrator
http://server.elsistech.com/archlinux/ ~ http://server.elsistech.com/archlinux/kdemod/

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB