You are not logged in.

#1 2004-07-23 10:30:36

tmadhavan
Member
From: Wales :D
Registered: 2004-03-26
Posts: 441

[Request] [Rosegarden]

Hi all.

I realise Rosegarden has been mentioned here before, but I don't believe it's in the repositories yet, and there seem to be numerous problems compiling it (and Lilypond).

I'd quite like to be able to use these two apps together for music notation.

Any news on progress/non-progress of these two?

[EDIT]
I see there are some other notation apps (Denemo, Notedit) available, perhaps they would be easier to create packages for? I don't know. Just want to see what the notation capabilities are for Linux music apps.

Thanks

T

Offline

#2 2004-07-23 11:26:22

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,824

Re: [Request] [Rosegarden]

Have you tried package for rosegarden in incoming

Mr Green


Mr Green

Offline

#3 2004-07-24 00:51:13

tmadhavan
Member
From: Wales :D
Registered: 2004-03-26
Posts: 441

Re: [Request] [Rosegarden]

Nope, but I'm going to now big_smile

Kinda need Lilypond to go with it tho, I'm gonna try compiling it for now, see if it's any good.

Sorry bout that, should have checked incoming really. I'll check it out.

T

Offline

#4 2004-07-24 01:06:26

tmadhavan
Member
From: Wales :D
Registered: 2004-03-26
Posts: 441

Re: [Request] [Rosegarden]

Well, can't compile Rosegarden, or half the stuff needed for lilypond.

Also, I can't use the package from incoming - think the prob's the same with all my custom packages at the moment. If I do

pacman -A rosegarden-4-0.9.5.tar.gz

I get an error back saying

loading package data... load_pkg: missing package info file in rosegarden-4-0.9.5.tar.gz

Any ideas why that could be?

T

Offline

#5 2004-07-24 01:11:58

Haakon
Member
From: Bergen, Norway
Registered: 2004-05-09
Posts: 109

Re: [Request] [Rosegarden]

Unpack that tar.gz, and on the inside you should find a pkg.tar.gz, which is what you should feed pacman.


Jabber: haakon@jabber.org

Offline

#6 2004-07-24 07:02:45

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,824

Re: [Request] [Rosegarden]

Yeah you want to load the pkg

 pacman -A rosegarden <version> .pkg.tar.gz

that will do the trick...

Welcome to ABS  smile

Mr Green


Mr Green

Offline

#7 2004-07-24 10:38:48

tmadhavan
Member
From: Wales :D
Registered: 2004-03-26
Posts: 441

Re: [Request] [Rosegarden]

Ahhhhh sorry

/dick

Try that now, thanks.

Offline

#8 2004-07-24 11:33:47

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,824

Re: [Request] [Rosegarden]

np

Don't worry

need any help let me know

Mr Green  wink


Mr Green

Offline

#9 2004-07-25 10:30:24

tmadhavan
Member
From: Wales :D
Registered: 2004-03-26
Posts: 441

Re: [Request] [Rosegarden]

Hey

Installed the package - get a seg fault on startup, which kills the sequencer part of Rosegarden, dunno why. There's a patch here as well, a .patch file. How do I apply this? Do I need to?

Thanks for the help anyway, it seems to be kinda working big_smile Hopefully a new pkg for version 0.9.8 will be out soon, I'll try that. Need to get lilypond working too at some point.

Cheers
T

Offline

#10 2004-07-25 10:36:32

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,824

Re: [Request] [Rosegarden]

Hi,

Take a look at

http://freshmeat.net/projects/rosegarden/

it shows 0.9.8 is out

maybe update PKGBUILD and try again  wink

Hang in there....

Mr Green


Mr Green

Offline

#11 2004-07-25 22:39:50

tmadhavan
Member
From: Wales :D
Registered: 2004-03-26
Posts: 441

Re: [Request] [Rosegarden]

Aye I know it's out big_smile

But I meant an Arch package. I hear making your own packages is easy, but I've never actually tried it :S

Might give it a try with this.

T

Offline

#12 2004-07-31 17:44:19

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,377
Website

Re: [Request] [Rosegarden]

0.9.9 is out and i will try to make it a pkg for extra, as it sounds to be very usefull


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#13 2004-07-31 19:33:26

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,377
Website

Re: [Request] [Rosegarden]

till now, i have this PKGBUILD:

# $Id: $
# Maintainer: damir <damir@archlinux.org>
#Contributor: Robert Emil Berge <robert@rebi.no>

pkgname=rosegarden
origver=0.9.9
pkgver=4.0.9.9
pkgrel=1
pkgdesc="audio and MIDI sequencer, score editor, and general-purpose music composition and editing application."
url="http://www.rosegardenmusic.com/"
depends=('kdemultimedia' 'alsa-lib' 'jack-audio-connection-kit' 'ladspa')
source=(http://unc.dl.sourceforge.net/sourceforge/rosegarden/$pkgname-4-$origver.tar.gz)
provides=('rosegarden-4')
replaces=('rosegarden-4')

build() {
  cd $startdir/src/$pkgname-4-$origver

  # make it gcc 3.4 compilable:

  sed -i '129s|};|}|g' sound/LADSPAPluginInstance.h
  sed -i '35s|};|}|g'  gui/audiocommands.h

 # grr ... i had to search the API: KStdAccel::key is depreached in kde 3.2
 # http://developer.kde.org/documentation/library/3.2-api/kdeui/html/deprecated.html
 # http://developer.kde.org/documentation/library/cvs-api/kdecore/html/namespaceKStdAccel.html#a110
  sed -i 's|KStdAccel::key(|KStdAccel::shortcut(|g' gui/editviewbase.cpp

  # should be gcc3.4-compatible now :-)

  ./configure --prefix=/opt/kde
  make || return 1
  make prefix=$startdir/pkg/opt/kde install
}

but unfortunately it still has trouble:

cc1plus: warning: command line option "-Wmissing-prototypes" is valid for C/ObjC but not for C++
/opt/qt/include/qcanvas.h: In member function `virtual void EditViewBase::setupActions(QString, bool)':
/opt/qt/include/qcanvas.h:419: error: `QCanvasPixmap::QCanvasPixmap(const QCanvasPixmap&)' is private
editviewbase.cpp:215: error: within this context
/opt/qt/include/qcanvas.h:419: error: `QCanvasPixmap::QCanvasPixmap(const QCanvasPixmap&)' is private
editviewbase.cpp:220: error: within this context
/opt/qt/include/qcanvas.h:419: error: `QCanvasPixmap::QCanvasPixmap(const QCanvasPixmap&)' is private
editviewbase.cpp:225: error: within this context
make[3]: *** [editviewbase.o] Error 1

the part we have the problem with is this:

gui/editviewbase.cpp [166-241]

void EditViewBase::setupActions(QString rcFileName, bool haveClipboard)
{
    setRCFileName(rcFileName);

    // Actions all edit views will have

    KStdAction::showToolbar(this, SLOT(slotToggleToolBar()),
                                       actionCollection(), "options_show_toolbar");
    
    KStdAction::showStatusbar(this, SLOT(slotToggleStatusBar()),
                                         actionCollection(), "options_show_statusbar");

    KStdAction::preferences(this,
                            SLOT(slotConfigure()),
                            actionCollection());

    KStdAction::keyBindings(this,
                            SLOT(slotEditKeys()),
                            actionCollection());

    KStdAction::configureToolbars(this,
                                  SLOT(slotEditToolbars()),
                                  actionCollection());


    // File menu
    KStdAction::save (this, SIGNAL(saveFile()),      actionCollection());
    KStdAction::close(this, SLOT(slotCloseWindow()), actionCollection());

    if (haveClipboard) {
    KStdAction::cut     (this, SLOT(slotEditCut()),    actionCollection());
    KStdAction::copy    (this, SLOT(slotEditCopy()),   actionCollection());
    KStdAction::paste   (this, SLOT(slotEditPaste()),  actionCollection());
    }

    new KToolBarPopupAction(i18n("Und&o"),
                            "undo",
                            KStdAccel::key(KStdAccel::Undo),
                            actionCollection(),
                            KStdAction::stdName(KStdAction::Undo));

    new KToolBarPopupAction(i18n("Re&do"),
                            "redo",
                            KStdAccel::key(KStdAccel::Redo),
                            actionCollection(),
                            KStdAction::stdName(KStdAction::Redo));

    QString pixmapDir = KGlobal::dirs()->findResource("appdata", "pixmaps/");

    QIconSet icon = QIconSet(QCanvasPixmap(pixmapDir + "/toolbar/matrix.xpm"));
    new KAction(i18n("Open in Matri&x Editor"), icon, 0, this,
                SLOT(slotOpenInMatrix()), actionCollection(),
                "open_in_matrix");

    icon = QIconSet(QCanvasPixmap(pixmapDir + "/toolbar/notation.xpm"));
    new KAction(i18n("Open in &Notation Editor"), icon, 0, this,
                SLOT(slotOpenInNotation()), actionCollection(),
                "open_in_notation");

    icon = QIconSet(QCanvasPixmap(pixmapDir + "/toolbar/eventlist.xpm"));
    new KAction(i18n("Open in &Event List Editor"), icon, 0, this,
                SLOT(slotOpenInEventList()), actionCollection(),
                "open_in_event_list");

    new KAction(i18n("Set Segment Start Time..."), 0, this,
        SLOT(slotSetSegmentStartTime()), actionCollection(),
        "set_segment_start");

    new KAction(i18n("Set Segment Duration..."), 0, this,
        SLOT(slotSetSegmentDuration()), actionCollection(),
        "set_segment_duration");

    // add undo and redo to edit menu and toolbar
    getCommandHistory()->attachView(actionCollection());
    
}

any idea what's wrong?


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#14 2004-07-31 22:42:17

tmadhavan
Member
From: Wales :D
Registered: 2004-03-26
Posts: 441

Re: [Request] [Rosegarden]

I've no idea :S

My skills aren't that l337 just yet, heh. Thanks for the effort tho (tho I realise it's not just me who wants it big_smile ) -- it would be a really useful thing.

GL,
Thom

Offline

#15 2004-07-31 22:47:02

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,377
Website

Re: [Request] [Rosegarden]

i asked the author of rosegarden

hopefully they can help --- it seems that they are not gcc3.4, not kde 3.2 and most probably not qt 3.3 compatible in their code in the 0.9.9 release - hopefully it will be solved in 4.1.0.0


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB