You are not logged in.

#76 2008-05-26 08:55:12

Kane
Member
Registered: 2006-10-08
Posts: 220

Re: Arch Linux and Splashy, a big update

is there anyway to have a boot splash without having to use an initial ramdisk?

thanks

Offline

#77 2008-05-26 11:54:12

SiD
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-09-21
Posts: 729

Re: Arch Linux and Splashy, a big update

brynjolf wrote:

Seems the repository is down, at least for me.

Just installed splashy from the i686 repo. For me it worked.

First time I tested it.
Great work!!

I noticed some things.
1.
I get the "black pixel" at top of screen after starting the WM. After logging out and in again (using SLiM) the pixels dissapear.

2.
Don't know if this was mentioned already, but when I reboot or shutdown, the "normal" console is shown (maybe a second) before the splashy screen appears.

3.
If I boot into runlevel 3, the system freezes at the point where the Login-Manager is loaded normaly when booting into runlevel 5.

P.S.
I updated the darch theme in AUR.
wink

Last edited by SiD (2008-05-26 11:56:09)

Offline

#78 2008-05-26 13:36:12

rasat
Forum Fellow
From: Finland, working in Romania
Registered: 2002-12-27
Posts: 2,176
Website

Re: Arch Linux and Splashy, a big update

SiD wrote:

I get the "black pixel" at top of screen after starting the WM. After logging out and in again (using SLiM) the pixels dissapear.

Week ago in my Dell Inspiron 9400 I removed splashy because of the "black pixels" at top of screen. Annoying when having to restart X for my graphic designing work. If this new splashy package does same, what's the cause?

Offline

#79 2008-05-26 14:09:43

lexiw
Member
Registered: 2008-04-29
Posts: 46

Re: Arch Linux and Splashy, a big update

Thank you guys for still testing the program, I've worked hard in the last couple of days and I'm still working hard to fix it. Don't worry, I will not rest till it's done.
Unfortunately real life is keeping me busy today but expect a new version in 2/3 days.

Offline

#80 2008-05-26 18:03:45

May-C
Member
Registered: 2007-12-28
Posts: 83

Re: Arch Linux and Splashy, a big update

This is just awesome work!

Where can I download the themes. The link on the first page is dead...

Offline

#81 2008-05-26 18:42:32

luciferin
Member
Registered: 2007-05-10
Posts: 144

Re: Arch Linux and Splashy, a big update

May-C wrote:

This is just awesome work!

Where can I download the themes. The link on the first page is dead...

If you're installing from the repo the themes come installed with it.  Just check the '/usr/share/splashy/themes/' directroy.

Offline

#82 2008-05-26 22:22:46

LTSmash
Member
From: Aguascalientes - Mexico
Registered: 2008-01-02
Posts: 348
Website

Re: Arch Linux and Splashy, a big update

Well, this isn't working. I guess its because it says that vga=791 isn't a valid resolution... so I MUST use vga=773, does anybody has an idea of how to fix this?


Proud Ex-Arch user.
Still an ArchLinux lover though.

Currently on Kubuntu 9.10

Offline

#83 2008-05-27 00:24:19

SpookyET
Member
Registered: 2008-01-27
Posts: 410

Re: Arch Linux and Splashy, a big update

Same here, but I use vga=792. I don't know how radeonfb boot options map to modprobe.conf.

Offline

#84 2008-05-27 08:26:58

aralbald
Member
Registered: 2007-10-23
Posts: 3

Re: Arch Linux and Splashy, a big update

Thanks for your efforts. Cheers. smile

Some observations:

Using the vesafb.
Splash at boot is ok but it kicks in a little later. Thats because i place the splashy hook at the and of the hooks array in mkinitcpio.conf. If i place it anywhere else it doesnt work at all - splashy shows some error messages like this:

Splashy ERROR: libsplashy: Framebuffer is not configured properly please see http://tinyurl.com/339h67
Splashy ERROR: Couldn't splashy_start_splashy(). Error -2

Splash at shutdown is buggy. it is shown for a few seconds and then it disappears. Then the shutdown procedure goes as normal.
Also there is a black square at the top left corner of the screen under X, which is a known problem with splashy.

Using uvesafb
Doesnt work at all smile I don't have a clue whats wrong here... It's just error messages or flashing framebuffer on boot and terminal switching/framebuffer flashing on shutdown. I will post more info if i find someting that may help.

Last edited by aralbald (2008-05-27 13:58:06)

Offline

#85 2008-05-27 13:49:04

SpookyET
Member
Registered: 2008-01-27
Posts: 410

Re: Arch Linux and Splashy, a big update

You're not supposed to put it in rc.conf, but mkinitcpio.conf.

Offline

#86 2008-05-28 15:27:45

SpookyET
Member
Registered: 2008-01-27
Posts: 410

Re: Arch Linux and Splashy, a big update

I'm not sure it plays well with SLIM.

Offline

#87 2008-05-29 15:07:38

Statix
Member
From: Hangzhou, China
Registered: 2008-02-16
Posts: 240

Re: Arch Linux and Splashy, a big update

SpookyET wrote:

I'm not sure it plays well with SLIM.

I was having problems with this until version 3 as well. Slim simply wouldn't show up, and I had to manually restart it to get it to show up. (/etc/rc.d/slim restart) It's fine now though.


Madly in love with Arch64, Openbox, DotA, and of course... penguins!
Happy to help if you're not a Help Vampire. Use your wonderful resources like ArchWiki, Google, and our wonderful search page.

Offline

#88 2008-05-29 15:17:48

SpookyET
Member
Registered: 2008-01-27
Posts: 410

Re: Arch Linux and Splashy, a big update

Statix wrote:
SpookyET wrote:

I'm not sure it plays well with SLIM.

I was having problems with this until version 3 as well. Slim simply wouldn't show up, and I had to manually restart it to get it to show up. (/etc/rc.d/slim restart) It's fine now though.

The only reason why I installed slim is because gdm in arch is buggy on shutdown resulting in failure message. So, the splash is turned off. However, with SLIM, shutdown and reboot menu options are gone. For a manager calling itself "SLIM" it takes a while to start.

Offline

#89 2008-05-29 15:28:14

lexiw
Member
Registered: 2008-04-29
Posts: 46

Re: Arch Linux and Splashy, a big update

After a week of hard work I'm ready for a new release. I've worked together with Luis Mondesi from splashy to find and fix the artifacts issue. We haven't came up with a solution but we agreed that's related to directfb and how ArchLinux handle the boot. Anyway, splashy 0.3.10 is out and today when i was preparing the PKGBUILD for it I got an inspiration and finally found a workaround that works. The problem isn't fixed but the workaround should be enough for most people with black artifacts.
The files are here: http://slexiw.netsons.org/files/splashy-stuff7.tar.gz
By the way, the SPLASH variable in rc.conf isn't needed anymore unless you install another splash that supports the new initscripts-splash (currently only splashy is supported).

A big thanks goes to Cimi and Luis Mondesi for helping me and for the patience they had listening to my insanity during the nights i spent debugging the problem.

Enjoy wink

Offline

#90 2008-05-29 15:35:18

SpookyET
Member
Registered: 2008-01-27
Posts: 410

Re: Arch Linux and Splashy, a big update

I noticed that stuff7 does not have sysvinit-mod any more. Is it not needed?
Is it trully possible to have one PKGBUILD -- splashy -- and override in functions.d and get rid of initscripts-splash?

Offline

#91 2008-05-29 15:37:20

SpookyET
Member
Registered: 2008-01-27
Posts: 410

Re: Arch Linux and Splashy, a big update

Consider adding backup=() to the splashy PKGBUILD to not overwrite the conf file.

Offline

#92 2008-05-29 15:51:35

lexiw
Member
Registered: 2008-04-29
Posts: 46

Re: Arch Linux and Splashy, a big update

SpookyET wrote:

I noticed that stuff7 does not have sysvinit-mod any more. Is it not needed?
Is it trully possible to have one PKGBUILD -- splashy -- and override in functions.d and get rid of initscripts-splash?

Now initscripts-splash depends on sysvinit-mod. My initial plan was to completely remove the dependency from initscripts-splash but my goals has changed.
I realized that it's good to have a shared script that other packages could use without rewriting (or copying from splashy) a totally new script. Anyway my new goal is to make intiscripts-splash and initscripts work together (i.e. you will need both because initscripts-splash will not conflict/replace initscripts) and you could remove initscripts-splash without worrying about reinstalling initscripts. We are almost there thanks to the latest commits to git. The only file that need to be patched (against the initscripts git version) is rc.shutdown but a change to the sysvinit-mod package could avoid that patch.
I will add the backup field to splashy in the next version. Thanks.

Offline

#93 2008-05-29 16:24:49

SpookyET
Member
Registered: 2008-01-27
Posts: 410

Re: Arch Linux and Splashy, a big update

I am having trouble making uswsusp (suspend) work with splashy. It keeps whining that it can't find libsplashy.

Offline

#94 2008-05-29 16:30:52

lexiw
Member
Registered: 2008-04-29
Posts: 46

Re: Arch Linux and Splashy, a big update

SpookyET wrote:

I am having trouble making uswsusp (suspend) work with splashy. It keeps whining that it can't find libsplashy.

Is splashy working for you right now? I just need to know if every known problem is gone before moving to the next milestone.

Offline

#95 2008-05-29 17:42:23

SpookyET
Member
Registered: 2008-01-27
Posts: 410

Re: Arch Linux and Splashy, a big update

lexiw wrote:
SpookyET wrote:

I am having trouble making uswsusp (suspend) work with splashy. It keeps whining that it can't find libsplashy.

Is splashy working for you right now? I just need to know if every known problem is gone before moving to the next milestone.

stuff3 did work after I moved it to the end of the array. I think it needs 'filesystems' to read the theme. I don't know how it works for you after udev. That said stuff2 did work after udev. I'm going to try stuff7 and let you know about the black spots. I've been messing with emacs all day. I discovered that it has a cool PKGBUILD-mode that can update md5sums, build tar balls or binary package and a few other things.

Offline

#96 2008-05-29 18:11:09

LTSmash
Member
From: Aguascalientes - Mexico
Registered: 2008-01-02
Posts: 348
Website

Re: Arch Linux and Splashy, a big update

Excellent, now it got to work, however I'm not using neither the framebuffer driver nor the vga=791 kernel parameter, but instead is use the vga=773.

Just a question: Is it normal for splashy to show up with "ugly colors" or it has something to do with config?
Thanks in advance an keep up the great job.

Last edited by LTSmash (2008-05-29 18:11:47)


Proud Ex-Arch user.
Still an ArchLinux lover though.

Currently on Kubuntu 9.10

Offline

#97 2008-05-29 18:20:08

INCSlayer
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2007-09-06
Posts: 296
Website

Re: Arch Linux and Splashy, a big update

when you use 773 you only use 256 colors instead of the 64000 colors that your supposed to and get if you use 791 to have therefor it has "ugly" colors

Last edited by INCSlayer (2008-05-29 18:21:18)


In Life or Death no one Shall have what is Black Jack Lee's

windoze: "for people that can't spell windows"

Offline

#98 2008-05-29 19:10:21

SiD
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-09-21
Posts: 729

Re: Arch Linux and Splashy, a big update

lexiw wrote:

After a week of hard work I'm ready for a new release.
...
The files are here: http://slexiw.netsons.org/files/splashy-stuff7.tar.gz

I've done some testing with the new packages.

The black artifacts are gone. smile


using SLiM started as daemon in rc.conf

works without any Problems.


using SLiM started via inittab

On reboot or halt, the login-prompt on vc/1 is shown (for maybe a second) before the Splash-Screen appears.


booting into runlevel 3 (using no Login-Manager)

After booting the Splash Screen dissappears and I get a black screen. I have to press a key to get the login prompt on vc/1.

On reboot or halt (executed from an X-Term) vc/1 is shown with "The System is going down for reboot / system halt NOW!" and the system freezes! I have to use the power button...

Executing "reboot" or "halt" from console (without running X) works.

Offline

#99 2008-05-29 19:36:17

SpookyET
Member
Registered: 2008-01-27
Posts: 410

Re: Arch Linux and Splashy, a big update

I can confirm that the black pixels are gone.
What are its hook dependencies to figure out how early in the array we can place it?

Offline

#100 2008-05-29 19:52:16

lexiw
Member
Registered: 2008-04-29
Posts: 46

Re: Arch Linux and Splashy, a big update

SpookyET wrote:

I can confirm that the black pixels are gone.
What are its hook dependencies to figure out how early in the array we can place it?

udev, base and v86d (if you use it). filesystems isn't needed.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB