You are not logged in.

#1 2008-06-28 23:10:23

Falcata
Member
From: Michiana
Registered: 2008-01-23
Posts: 501
Website

Wine Direct3D

Is there any way I can speed up the shader performance of Wine's Direct3D library?  Are there any patches or compiler flags I can build it with, or settings in the wine registry I can change?

Offline

#2 2008-06-28 23:33:07

Procyon
Member
Registered: 2008-05-07
Posts: 1,819

Re: Wine Direct3D

I don't know if it's related, but I do know one trick that makes my Counter Strike Source faster: in regedit HKEY_CURRENT_USER/wine/Direct3D set "UseGLSL" to "disabled".

Offline

#3 2008-06-28 23:42:19

Falcata
Member
From: Michiana
Registered: 2008-01-23
Posts: 501
Website

Re: Wine Direct3D

Thanks.  I'll see if that has any effect on Elder Scrolls IV.

EDIT: It didn't work.  Just makes the game crash when I load up a saved game.

Last edited by Falcata (2008-06-28 23:45:36)

Offline

#4 2008-06-29 04:08:03

jarryson
Member
Registered: 2007-02-18
Posts: 298

Re: Wine Direct3D

you mean cedega?

Offline

#5 2008-06-29 04:14:42

iBertus
Member
From: Greenville, NC
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 2,228

Re: Wine Direct3D

jarryson wrote:

you mean cedega?

You don't need cedega for D3D support. It's part of standard Wine now.

@OP:

Have you checked the usual Wine AppDB and the various linux gaming sites for configuration tips? I notice that your game is rated Gold, so it should work fairly well. What hardware are you using?

Offline

#6 2008-06-29 11:41:23

Falcata
Member
From: Michiana
Registered: 2008-01-23
Posts: 501
Website

Re: Wine Direct3D

Unfortunately, I am using a GeForce 8500 GT, which is not considered a serious gaming card.  I was going to go for the 8600, but for reasons I don't know, I went with the 8500.

Offline

#7 2008-06-29 11:50:34

moljac024
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2008-01-29
Posts: 2,676

Re: Wine Direct3D

I believe you can now get a 9600gt pretty cheap (150 €) and it seems to be a good card for gaming.

someone correct me If I'm wrong ...


The day Microsoft makes a product that doesn't suck, is the day they make a vacuum cleaner.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
But if they tell you that I've lost my mind, maybe it's not gone just a little hard to find...

Offline

#8 2008-06-29 13:44:03

Falcata
Member
From: Michiana
Registered: 2008-01-23
Posts: 501
Website

Re: Wine Direct3D

Maybe I'll use that in the computer I'm planning to build.  Can't upgrade to that on my current system, because it doesn't have PCI-Express 2.0

BTW: Nice signature, moljac.

Offline

#9 2008-06-29 14:06:01

INCSlayer
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2007-09-06
Posts: 296
Website

Re: Wine Direct3D

PCI-Express 2.0 is backwords compatible with PCI-Express 1.0
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PCI_Expres … xpress_2.0

also i can recommend the sparkle calibre 9600GT very quiet very good

Last edited by INCSlayer (2008-06-29 14:06:59)


In Life or Death no one Shall have what is Black Jack Lee's

windoze: "for people that can't spell windows"

Offline

#10 2008-06-29 15:24:12

Falcata
Member
From: Michiana
Registered: 2008-01-23
Posts: 501
Website

Re: Wine Direct3D

So, a PCI-E 2.0 card would work in a PCE-E 1.0 slot?

Offline

#11 2008-06-29 15:38:17

moljac024
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2008-01-29
Posts: 2,676

Re: Wine Direct3D

Falcata wrote:

So, a PCI-E 2.0 card would work in a PCE-E 1.0 slot?

No, it won't. A PCI-E 1.0 card will work in a PCI-E 2.0 slot.


The day Microsoft makes a product that doesn't suck, is the day they make a vacuum cleaner.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
But if they tell you that I've lost my mind, maybe it's not gone just a little hard to find...

Offline

#12 2008-06-29 16:47:49

Falcata
Member
From: Michiana
Registered: 2008-01-23
Posts: 501
Website

Re: Wine Direct3D

Well, I checked wikipedia after replying to INCSlayer's post, and the PCI Express article said that 2.0 cards would work in 1.0 slots, except in cases with specific cards.  Although, understandably they wouldn't perform as well in a 1.0 slot as they would in a 2.0 slot.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB