You are not logged in.

#1 2004-08-14 16:01:51

phunni
Member
From: Bristol, UK
Registered: 2003-08-13
Posts: 671

runlevel 3 for one user and 5 for the other...

I want to set it up so that my wife, when she logs in goes straight into KDE as soon as she has logged in.  I want to, ideally, remain in a console after loggin in - is this possible?

Offline

#2 2004-08-14 16:22:52

contrasutra
Member
From: New Jersey
Registered: 2003-07-26
Posts: 507

Re: runlevel 3 for one user and 5 for the other...

One simple solution is to put "startkde" in the ~/.bash_login file for your wife (and boot using init 3).

You can't have multiple runlevels at the same time though, because those levels are for THE MACHINE rather than the user.


"Contrary to popular belief, penguins are not the salvation of modern technology.  Neither do they throw parties for the urban proletariat."

Offline

#3 2004-08-15 14:16:06

phunni
Member
From: Bristol, UK
Registered: 2003-08-13
Posts: 671

Re: runlevel 3 for one user and 5 for the other...

putting startkde in the ~/.bash_login didn't work - does that file need to be executable?

Offline

#4 2004-08-15 15:09:51

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: runlevel 3 for one user and 5 for the other...

try kdm and add kdm to rc.conf dameons list
or before you do that
run as root:
/etc/rc.d/kdm start
STRG+ALT+F(1-6) to get a console login or it's also possible from kdm to get a console login

Offline

#5 2004-08-15 15:38:55

phunni
Member
From: Bristol, UK
Registered: 2003-08-13
Posts: 671

Re: runlevel 3 for one user and 5 for the other...

Hmmm.... kdm would make things easier in some ways, but I'd rather have a console login for us both, but X (KDE) is automatically started when my wife logs in.

IS there a script that gets run when a specific user logs in?  I could add startkde to that... (.bash_login doesn't seem to do it...)

Offline

#6 2004-08-15 15:41:57

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,261

Re: runlevel 3 for one user and 5 for the other...

i have read a thread about this in the forum
perhaps it has been added to wiki

Offline

#7 2004-08-15 19:10:21

neocephas
Member
From: orange, ca
Registered: 2004-02-14
Posts: 30

Re: runlevel 3 for one user and 5 for the other...

I don't know if this is exactly the proper way to do this, but you can put startkde at the bottom of your .bash_profile.  I think this file is executed/sourced every time you login.  It works for xfce4, it should for kde.

EDIT:
Also, if you wanted, you can create a .bash_login and simply add the following to the bottom of your .bash_profile

[ -f ~/.bash_login ] && . ~/.bash_login

which will check whether or not .bash_login exists, and if it does, it will source the file

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB