You are not logged in.

#1 2008-04-17 03:11:36

thayer
Fellow
From: Vancouver, BC
Registered: 2007-05-20
Posts: 1,560
Website

conky-cli -> awesome-client = no go?

So, I've recently switched to Awesome from Xmonad (yes, it's MUCH easier to configure, unless you know haskell of course). Everything has gone fairly well except that I can't get conky-cli to work with the awesome-client statusbar.  I'm running the patched version of conky and I've followed the tutorials on the awesome website, but for whatever reason all that appears in the statusbar are dashes used as placeholders for the textboxes. I've tried this using the non-patched conky-cli, also unsuccessfully.

I'm running awesome-git, which appears to be v2.3.rc1.25.g96fe2ec (Productivity Breaker).  The following are my sample configs (I've disabled the other conky stats until I know this is working):

[thayer@dublin:~] $ cat .conkyrc
background no
no_buffers yes
out_to_console yes
update_interval 1 
uppercase no
use_spacer none
total_run_times 0

TEXT
0 widget_tell clock ${time %a %b %d %I:%M%P}

Relevant portion of .awesomerc:

   statusbar bottom
   {
        position = bottom
        width = 0
        height = 0
        textbox clock { align = "right"    text = "-"  }
   }

If I run conky on its own, it spits out the expected text:

[thayer@dublin:~] $ conky 
0 widget_tell clock Wed Apr 16 08:04pm

And my .xinitrc file:

  ...
  conky | awesome-client &
  ...
  urxvt &
  exec awesome

Last edited by thayer (2008-04-17 03:13:54)


thayer williams ~ cinderwick.ca

Offline

#2 2008-04-17 03:23:19

cu3edweb
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2007-10-07
Posts: 291

Re: conky-cli -> awesome-client = no go?

check out amazing http://github.com/dag/amazing/wikis it was written specifically for awesome. You can come to awesome irc for any help with it.

EDIT

forgot to mention that amazing is in AUR

Last edited by cu3edweb (2008-04-17 03:25:27)

Offline

#3 2008-04-17 03:45:44

miggy
Member
From: MT
Registered: 2007-11-05
Posts: 67

Re: conky-cli -> awesome-client = no go?

Here's something that was discussed recently,

http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=46874

Offline

#4 2008-04-17 04:18:53

thayer
Fellow
From: Vancouver, BC
Registered: 2007-05-20
Posts: 1,560
Website

Re: conky-cli -> awesome-client = no go?

Thanks for the tips!

@ cu3edweb: I've read up on Amazing and while I might try it in the future, I'm too pressed for time this week and would simply like to get my clock and basic stats back to working order.

@miggy: I saw that one too...unfortunately, I'm already running the patched version of conky so that shouldn't be the issue.  Although, looking at the PKGBUILD, its not exactly the same as the one I used--I'll give it a shot too.


thayer williams ~ cinderwick.ca

Offline

#5 2008-04-17 04:23:42

thayer
Fellow
From: Vancouver, BC
Registered: 2007-05-20
Posts: 1,560
Website

Re: conky-cli -> awesome-client = no go?

Err... miggy, would you still have a copy of that patched conky package?  One of the source files in that package build is now 404'ing (http://ca.hnvc.net/awesome-git/conky_p.tar) so I can't built it myself.


thayer williams ~ cinderwick.ca

Offline

#6 2008-04-17 04:29:06

miggy
Member
From: MT
Registered: 2007-11-05
Posts: 67

Re: conky-cli -> awesome-client = no go?

"My" pkgbuild is certainly different.  I think that the patch you are using just "flushes out" conky's values...not totally sure...if you run the conky built by "my" pkgbuild it shouldn't print anything to console it pipes to awesome-client inside conky (conky.c edited by calmar?)  so you will just want to run `conky -c conkyrc &` without any pipes.

PS I'm not advocating conky over amazing, I certainly want to try out amazing once i get can get around to it, but for now conky does everything I want easily

Offline

#7 2008-04-17 04:37:27

miggy
Member
From: MT
Registered: 2007-11-05
Posts: 67

Re: conky-cli -> awesome-client = no go?

hmm, not on this computer...I will see if I have it on my computer at home...I guess they are promoting amazing.

Offline

#8 2008-04-17 05:09:12

miggy
Member
From: MT
Registered: 2007-11-05
Posts: 67

Re: conky-cli -> awesome-client = no go?

http://dl3u.savefile.com/0c0381d240c8ad … onky_p.tar

i don't know if this is compatible with newer versions of conky.

good luck!

Offline

#9 2008-04-17 05:12:35

thayer
Fellow
From: Vancouver, BC
Registered: 2007-05-20
Posts: 1,560
Website

Re: conky-cli -> awesome-client = no go?

Thanks miggy, I'll check it out and let you know!


thayer williams ~ cinderwick.ca

Offline

#10 2008-04-17 06:41:33

Gigamo
Member
Registered: 2008-01-19
Posts: 394

Re: conky-cli -> awesome-client = no go?

I think amazing can also do what you want it to do with almost no time spent.

Here's what you can do:

- Get amazing-git pkgbuild off the AUR and install
- Make a ~/.amazing directory
- Put this in a file called config.yml inside ~/.amazing:

awesome:
    0:
        bottom clock:
            type: clock
            interval: 1
            format: '"text #@time"'
            time_format: "%H:%M:%S %d.%m.%Y"

Note: this assumes that your statusbar where the clock widget is on, is named "bottom".

This also assumes that you are using 2.3-rc1. For 2.2, do it like this:

awesome:
    0:
        clock:
            type: clock
            interval: 1
            time_format: "%H:%M:%S %d.%m.%Y"

Last edited by Gigamo (2008-04-17 06:42:59)

Offline

#11 2008-04-17 07:13:45

Corsair
Member
Registered: 2007-01-28
Posts: 52
Website

Re: conky-cli -> awesome-client = no go?

My solution is writing a shell script to capture info from conky then format it so that awesome-client will accept it properly.


Fear is the path to the darkside.
{My Config}

Offline

#12 2008-04-17 15:19:28

thayer
Fellow
From: Vancouver, BC
Registered: 2007-05-20
Posts: 1,560
Website

Re: conky-cli -> awesome-client = no go?

Gigamo wrote:

I think amazing can also do what you want it to do with almost no time spent.

Here's what you can do:

- Get amazing-git pkgbuild off the AUR and install
- Make a ~/.amazing directory
- Put this in a file called config.yml inside ~/.amazing:

Thanks for the tip, Gigamo.  If I get the time I'll take a look at Amazing.  It's not that I have anything against it really, it's just that conky already does everything I could possibly want, independent of any window manager.  I loathe the idea of spending time learning all about Amazing, it's particular syntax, and converting my existing scripts to it all the while knowing that it won't do me any good outside of Awesome.


thayer williams ~ cinderwick.ca

Offline

#13 2008-04-18 13:55:41

omega_0815
Member
Registered: 2008-03-12
Posts: 3

Re: conky-cli -> awesome-client = no go?

thayer wrote:
.conkyrc

TEXT
0 widget_tell clock ${time %a %b %d %I:%M%P}

And my .xinitrc file:

  ...
  conky | awesome-client &

Hi thayer, I had the same problem a while ago, try this:
add "text" in your .conkyrc, this is needed from v2.3, like this

TEXT
0 widget_tell clock text ${time %a %b %d %I:%M%P}

That should get conky to work, if it doesn't work try starting conky without piping to awesome-client in .xinitrc.
I have conky running here with awesome-git for the same reasons you mentioned, but I will take a look at amazing this weekend.

Hope that solves your issue.

Offline

#14 2008-04-18 17:56:07

thayer
Fellow
From: Vancouver, BC
Registered: 2007-05-20
Posts: 1,560
Website

Re: conky-cli -> awesome-client = no go?

omega_0815 wrote:

That should get conky to work, if it doesn't work try starting conky without piping to awesome-client in .xinitrc.
I have conky running here with awesome-git for the same reasons you mentioned, but I will take a look at amazing this weekend.

Hope that solves your issue.

Thanks omega, I had actually tried that syntax before, but it didn't work for me.   BUT... since you mentioned that it DOES work for you, I decided to poke around a bit more and I figured out that if I add 'text' as well as the statusbar name it works fine:

0 widget_tell bottom mpd text $mpd_smart
0 widget_tell bottom spacer1 text  :: 
0 widget_tell bottom cpuload text ${cpu cpu1}% / ${cpu cpu2}% ${loadavg 1} ${loadavg 2 3}
0 widget_tell bottom spacer2 text  :: 
0 widget_tell bottom cputemp text ${i8k_cpu_temp}c ${freq_g 1}/${freq_g 2}GHz
0 widget_tell bottom spacer3 text  :: 
0 widget_tell bottom memory text $memperc% ($mem)
0 widget_tell bottom spacer4 text  :: 
0 widget_tell bottom power text ${if_empty ${exec awk '{print $2}' /proc/acpi/ac_adapter/AC/state | grep 'on-line'}}${else}${endif}$battery $battery_time
0 widget_tell bottom spacer5 text  :: 
0 widget_tell bottom network text ${if_empty ${exec ifconfig wlan0 | grep 'inet addr:'}}${downspeed eth0}K/s ${upspeed eth0}K/s${else}${exec iwconfig wlan0 | grep 'Signal level' | cut -d= -f3 | awk '{print 100+$1 "%"}'} ${exec iwgetid | cut -d\" -f2 | awk '{print  $1}'} ${downspeed wlan0}K/s ${upspeed wlan0}K/s${endif}
0 widget_tell bottom spacer6 text  :: 
0 widget_tell bottom clock text ${time %a %b %d %I:%M%P}

thayer williams ~ cinderwick.ca

Offline

#15 2008-05-15 08:19:01

hanlect
Member
Registered: 2008-05-15
Posts: 3

Re: conky-cli -> awesome-client = no go?

I am using conky-cli and awesome-git but the text doesn't show up... Here is my conkyrc

background no
no_buffers yes
out_to_console yes
update_interval 2
uppercase no
use_spacer none
total_run_times 0

TEXT
0 widget_tell mystatusbar mpd text $mpd_smart
0 widget_tell mystatusbar cpuload text ${cpu cpu1}% / ${cpu cpu2}% ${loadavg 1} ${loadavg 2 3}
0 widget_tell mystatusbar cputemp text ${freq_g 1}/${freq_g 2}GHz
0 widget_tell mystatusbar memory text $memperc% ($mem)
0 widget_tell mystatusbar power text ${if_empty ${exec awk '{print $2}' /proc/acpi/ac_adapter/ACAD/state | grep 'on-line'}}${else}${endif}
0 widget_tell mystatusbar network text ${downspeed eth0}K/s ${upspeed eth0}K/s
0 widget_tell mystatusbar clock text ${time %a %b %d %I:%M%P}

any idea?

Offline

#16 2008-05-15 18:36:32

miggy
Member
From: MT
Registered: 2007-11-05
Posts: 67

Re: conky-cli -> awesome-client = no go?

I know (b/c I use it) that this works for awesome 2.3

http://awesome.naquadah.org/wiki/index. … atus_Bar_V

I did the "alternate patch" part.

Edit:
"did" as in "applied" not "came up with"

Last edited by miggy (2008-05-15 18:37:16)

Offline

#17 2008-05-16 17:34:57

hanlect
Member
Registered: 2008-05-15
Posts: 3

Re: conky-cli -> awesome-client = no go?

that worked perfectly, thank you!

Offline

#18 2008-07-11 19:31:20

semperfiguy
Member
Registered: 2007-12-03
Posts: 224

Re: conky-cli -> awesome-client = no go?

I am having the same problem as thayer, it seems to have to do with "conky | awesome-client &" being unable to start before awesome in the .xinitrc file. Running conky | awesome-client in a terminal after awesome has started works the way it is supposed to, but I just can't seem to get it to start in my .xinitrc

Any suggestions?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB