You are not logged in.

#1 2008-07-06 05:31:46

otacon
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2008-06-29
Posts: 170
Website

wow error

Ok I am trying to run World of Warcraft on linux with my Macbook.

The problem is that when I start up World of warcraft the FPS are slow.
An error comes up when loading wow
this:
[otacon@arch World of Warcraft]$ wine Wow.exe
libGL error: open DRM failed (Operation not permitted)
libGL error: reverting to (slow) indirect rendering
fixme:advapi:SetSecurityInfo stub
archive Data\patch.MPQ opened
archive Data\enUS\patch-enUS.MPQ opened
archive Data\enUS\patch-enUS-2.MPQ opened
archive Data\patch-2.MPQ opened
archive Data\expansion.MPQ opened
archive Data\common.MPQ opened
archive Data\enUS\locale-enUS.MPQ opened
archive Data\enUS\speech-enUS.MPQ opened
archive Data\enUS\expansion-locale-enUS.MPQ opened
archive Data\enUS\expansion-speech-enUS.MPQ opened
fixme:win:EnumDisplayDevicesW ((null),0,0x33eda4,0x00000000), stub!
fixme:win:EnumDisplayDevicesW ((null),0,0x33ec94,0x00000000), stub!
fixme:win:EnumDisplayDevicesW ((null),0,0x33f42c,0x00000000), stub!
fixme:win:EnumDisplayDevicesW ((null),0,0x33f5a8,0x00000000), stub!
fixme:win:EnumDisplayDevicesW ((null),0,0x33f5a0,0x00000000), stub!
fixme:win:EnumDisplayDevicesW ((null),0,0x33f57c,0x00000000), stub!
fixme:win:EnumDisplayDevicesW ((null),0,0x33f144,0x00000000), stub!
fixme:wininet:InternetSetOptionW Option INTERNET_OPTION_CONNECT_TIMEOUT (5000): STUB           

the error is in the second and third line ( a problem with LibGL) so it switches my rendering to a lower setting.

Is there any way to fix this?

Also to help with the FPS I follow a guide to make this:

#!/bin/sh

export WOW_PATH=~/".wine/drive_c/Program Files/World of Warcraft" # Installation path

X :3 -ac -terminate &   # Launch on a new X session on display 3
cd "${WOW_PATH}"        # Goto WoW dir
sleep 2
DISPLAY=:3 `which wine` Wow.exe -opengl # Launches WoW

It is a file to start wow in a new xorg that I guess makes wow run better, but this is not a file specifically for Arch so I was wondering if you guys could help me figure our what i need to change. When I use this as-is it will start the new xorg but will not start wow. also if you know of a way for me to exit this xorg I would appreciate it since ctrl alt delete doesn't work since the file auto restart the xorg again.


http://remcycle.net
Cheap Web Hosting and Even Cheaper Domain Registration

Offline

#2 2008-07-06 13:53:07

Factory
Member
Registered: 2008-02-24
Posts: 108

Re: wow error

otacon wrote:

Also to help with the FPS I follow a guide to make this:

#!/bin/sh

export WOW_PATH=~/".wine/drive_c/Program Files/World of Warcraft" # Installation path

X :3 -ac -terminate &   # Launch on a new X session on display 3
cd "${WOW_PATH}"        # Goto WoW dir
sleep 2
DISPLAY=:3 `which wine` Wow.exe -opengl # Launches WoW

It is a file to start wow in a new xorg that I guess makes wow run better, but this is not a file specifically for Arch so I was wondering if you guys could help me figure our what i need to change. When I use this as-is it will start the new xorg but will not start wow. also if you know of a way for me to exit this xorg I would appreciate it since ctrl alt delete doesn't work since the file auto restart the xorg again.

This fix never did anything performance wise for me when I used to play WoW. I honestly wouldn't bother with it. Just run wine from the regular window.

This is the guide that I followed when I installed WoW with wine: http://www.wowwiki.com/Linux/Wine <--- Found with a google search for "wine wow".

Make sure you follow all of the steps necessary, including the registry hacks. They really do make the difference.

Offline

#3 2008-07-06 13:59:11

finferflu
Forum Fellow
From: Manchester, UK
Registered: 2007-06-21
Posts: 1,899
Website

Re: wow error

Moving to "Multimedia and Games", it's more likely to get more responses.


Have you Syued today?
Free music for free people! | Earthlings

"Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away." -- A. de Saint-Exupery

Offline

#4 2008-07-06 14:50:58

Hohoho
Member
Registered: 2007-06-23
Posts: 222

Re: wow error

Not sure what video card your Macbook has, but open-source radeon driver is not capable of providing direct rendering on multiple X sessions, fglrx though can, if its an Nvidia or Intel chipset you need to check for yourself.
Run

startx -- :1

in a terminal then in the new X session run

glxinfo | grep direct

to check.

Offline

#5 2008-07-06 16:32:50

otacon
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2008-06-29
Posts: 170
Website

Re: wow error

I am running an Intel GMA 950 GPU.
when I use the code glxinfo | grep direct I get the same error:

[otacon@arch ~]$ glxinfo | grep direct
libGL error: open DRM failed (Operation not permitted)
libGL error: reverting to (slow) indirect rendering
direct rendering: No (If you want to find out why, try setting LIBGL_DEBUG=verbose)

The Thing is that I checked this before I started installing WoW and it use to say something like
direct rendering=yes

so I am wondering why it has changed.

I put in the code Libgl_debug=verbose but that doesn't seem to do anything.


http://remcycle.net
Cheap Web Hosting and Even Cheaper Domain Registration

Offline

#6 2008-07-07 14:14:50

Factory
Member
Registered: 2008-02-24
Posts: 108

Re: wow error

Just curious: did you try following the steps I posted in my link?

And with Integrated Video your not going to have the most pleasant/smooth running video for games.

Offline

#7 2008-07-20 07:04:16

sands
Member
Registered: 2008-05-19
Posts: 10

Re: wow error

Try this. It woked for me.
Previously I got Operation not permitted error while running glxgears. after this it is fine.

http://dri.freedesktop.org/wiki/DriTrou … 631482482d


If you get:

libGL error: failed to open DRM: Operation not permitted
libGL error: reverting to (slow) indirect rendering

then you are trying to run as a user that doesn't have permission to use the DRI (root is the default allowed user). To let all users access the DRI, add the following section to your xorg.conf:

Section "DRI"
    Mode 0666
EndSection

Last edited by sands (2008-07-20 07:05:50)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB