You are not logged in.

#1 2004-08-19 13:17:19

Lovechild
Member
From: Århus, Denmark
Registered: 2003-09-24
Posts: 64

[FIX] Making Monodevelop work and slight mono touch ups

Monodevelop doesn't start because there's a Mozilla variable that's unset for gecko-sharp

add to the gecko-sharp PKGBUILD file

install -D -m755 ../geckosharp.sh $startdir/pkg/etc/profile.d/geckosharp.sh

*remember adding to source and md5sum as well

geckosharp.sh being:

export MOZILLA_FIVE_HOME=/opt/mozilla

Also the mono PKGBUILD needs to replace
--with-nptl=no with --with-tls=pthread

due to --with-nptl being deprecated

when we get nptl glibc by default that needs to be --with-tls=__thread


I'm proud to be a a freedomloving infidel piece of treehugging eurotrash.

Offline

#2 2004-08-19 15:59:02

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: [FIX] Making Monodevelop work and slight mono touch ups

Shouldn't the MOZILLA_FIVE_HOME be set by mozilla or whatever gecko based browser you have installed?


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#3 2004-08-19 16:32:56

Lovechild
Member
From: Århus, Denmark
Registered: 2003-09-24
Posts: 64

Re: [FIX] Making Monodevelop work and slight mono touch ups

Xentac wrote:

Shouldn't the MOZILLA_FIVE_HOME be set by mozilla or whatever gecko based browser you have installed?

I was thinking that as well, but Mozilla doesn't appear to need that variable, only gecko-sharp needs it set as far as I can tell.. at least everything ran before I set it, except MonoDevelop (well gecko-sharp really)

But as long as it actually gets set I would be happy, and I agree for correctness it should probably be the Mozilla package that sets it.


I'm proud to be a a freedomloving infidel piece of treehugging eurotrash.

Offline

#4 2004-08-19 19:43:43

zeppelin
Member
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2004-03-05
Posts: 807
Website

Re: [FIX] Making Monodevelop work and slight mono touch ups

ppllzz  ppuutt  aann  eecchhoo  ""sseett  yyoouurr  $$BBRROOWWSSEERR  ttoo  tthhee  mmoozziillllaa  ppaatthh  oorr  sstthh""

Offline

#5 2004-08-19 21:16:36

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: [FIX] Making Monodevelop work and slight mono touch ups

Checking the /opt/mozilla/bin/mozilla script, it would have side effects.  Maybe not important ones, but side effects all the same:

# honor MOZILLA_FIVE_HOME if it's there
if [ -n "$MOZILLA_FIVE_HOME" ] ; then
  dist_bin="$MOZILLA_FIVE_HOME"
else
...


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#6 2004-08-19 23:08:57

Lovechild
Member
From: Århus, Denmark
Registered: 2003-09-24
Posts: 64

Re: [FIX] Making Monodevelop work and slight mono touch ups

Xentac wrote:

Checking the /opt/mozilla/bin/mozilla script, it would have side effects.  Maybe not important ones, but side effects all the same:

# honor MOZILLA_FIVE_HOME if it's there
if [ -n "$MOZILLA_FIVE_HOME" ] ; then
  dist_bin="$MOZILLA_FIVE_HOME"
else
...

just setting it to point the correct place once and for all can't be all that harmful I think.. either way without a correctly set MOZILLA_FIVE_HOME MonoDevelop doesn't start, which is unacceptable.

People who are smarter than me tell me that we should point it to ~/.mozilla instead though, since user can't write to /opt/mozilla/.


I'm proud to be a a freedomloving infidel piece of treehugging eurotrash.

Offline

#7 2004-08-20 02:18:09

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: [FIX] Making Monodevelop work and slight mono touch ups

Well, I was worried more for mozilla-firefox's sake, but it looks like MOZILLA_FIVE_HOME doesn't affect mozilla-firefox in the same way.


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB