You are not logged in.

#1 2008-08-01 08:53:04

thunderogg
Member
From: Rio de Janeiro
Registered: 2008-07-13
Posts: 172

Gnome and KDE 4.1 without mixing?

I'm running Gnome and love it, but wanted to give KDE 4.1 a chance so I installed it too. When logging in (GDM) I choose whether I want to run Gnome or KDE 4.1,  but when I boot KDE the kde menus are full Gnome stuff, and when I boot Gnome, the menus are full of KDE stuff. It's a mix I don't like. hmm Either I run Gnome or KDE.
Is there a way to stop the Gnome menus scanning the KDE apps and the KDE menus to stop scanning the Gnome apps?
Besides that, when I'm in Gnome and open a nautilus bookmark from the "Places" menu, Konquerer starts up happily and makes me think, "What a mess. Is this the way it's supposed to work?"
If I want to run Gnome only and KDE only, do I need to make a dual boot with two separate Arch installations?

Last edited by thunderogg (2008-08-01 08:54:02)

Offline

#2 2008-08-01 12:29:26

Endperform
Member
From: Atlanta GA, USA
Registered: 2007-09-04
Posts: 94
Website

Re: Gnome and KDE 4.1 without mixing?

The menu "problem" is due to both desktops using the standard menu item location (Freedesktop.org, I believe defines this).  If you want completely separate, you don't have to dual boot with two separate Arch installs, just create a new user and make a shared data location that your KDE and Gnome user can access.  For example:

/home/thunderogg could be thunderogg, your Gnome user
/home/kthunderogg could be kthunderogg, your KDE user

Create a new /home/shared folder with permissions for both users and save your documents there.  That's the only way that I know of to have both installed and not have a menu mess.

Offline

#3 2008-08-01 18:03:35

thunderogg
Member
From: Rio de Janeiro
Registered: 2008-07-13
Posts: 172

Re: Gnome and KDE 4.1 without mixing?

Doesn't that mess up the menus anyway? (Why am I asking? Well, I got so fed up with having Konquerer popping up instead of Nautilus, so I deleted KDE 4.1. I'm sorry. I had no patience.) The whole menu stuff takes part outside ~/. So if KDE and Gnome both are installed, all users will always have items from both desktops. Maybe am I wrong? I don't think I have the patience to download all that KDE 4.1 stuff again just to find out that there is no way around this menu mess. Thanks anyway.

Offline

#4 2008-08-01 18:45:46

kishd
Member
Registered: 2006-06-14
Posts: 399

Re: Gnome and KDE 4.1 without mixing?

These two packages in AUR might be helpful gnome-menu-extended & kmenu-gnome.


---for there is nothing either good or bad, but only thinking makes it so....
Hamlet, W Shakespeare

Offline

#5 2008-08-01 19:00:01

thunderogg
Member
From: Rio de Janeiro
Registered: 2008-07-13
Posts: 172

Re: Gnome and KDE 4.1 without mixing?

Hm, thanks. Will try. That might fix the menu mess, but what about Konquerer? Anybody got any idea why it takes Nautilus place in Gnome?

Offline

#6 2008-08-01 19:38:50

wrc1944
Member
From: Gainesville, Florida
Registered: 2007-10-07
Posts: 117

Re: Gnome and KDE 4.1 without mixing?

AFAIK, this is actually a "feature," present in kde/gnome for years, and it's by design that they can both access some of each others apps. If you don't desire this, I suppose you can always edit the menus in both manually. Personally, I too never cared for it much, but it was ocassionally convenient to be able to access gnome file managers or file editors when kde got hopelessly messed up.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB