You are not logged in.

#1 2004-08-23 19:30:44

The Analog Kid
Member
From: Pennsylvania, USA
Registered: 2004-01-05
Posts: 27

Alsa and Gnome

I just finsihed installing Arch, and I installed Gnome, I also tried to get Alsa running, and it runs only thing is the gnome volume control doesn't work and rythembox also does work. It tells me "Failed to create volume element" What am I doing wrong? XMMS does work though.

Offline

#2 2004-08-23 19:46:40

oz
Member
Registered: 2004-05-20
Posts: 67

Re: Alsa and Gnome

I had the same problem until I installed some package.  Possibly "gnome-media" or "gnome-audio".  Whatever it is, you don't get it if you just install "gnome".

Offline

#3 2004-08-23 20:36:58

campylobacter
Member
From: Austria
Registered: 2004-04-12
Posts: 60
Website

Re: Alsa and Gnome

run "gst-register"

Offline

#4 2004-08-23 22:31:25

The Analog Kid
Member
From: Pennsylvania, USA
Registered: 2004-01-05
Posts: 27

Re: Alsa and Gnome

Neither worked, but both /dev/dsp and /dev/mixer are present.

Offline

#5 2004-08-23 22:52:32

oz
Member
Registered: 2004-05-20
Posts: 67

Offline

#6 2004-08-23 23:54:19

tranquility
Member
From: Portugal
Registered: 2004-08-06
Posts: 136

Re: Alsa and Gnome

Try restarting your /etc/rc.d/alsasound. Worked for me. I was having the same problem.

Offline

#7 2004-08-24 03:57:38

The Analog Kid
Member
From: Pennsylvania, USA
Registered: 2004-01-05
Posts: 27

Re: Alsa and Gnome

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB