You are not logged in.

#1 2004-08-29 10:32:47

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,837

Starting wdm at boot

Fairly new to Arch, well used to Linux. I've got xorg and xfce4 going on my laptop, running from startx at the moment.

I went looking for the xdm package, but it seems Arch doesn't have one, for whatever reason, so I installed wdm instead. Was I wrong to expect a default wdm script to be installed in /etc/rc.d? Or do I have to write my own?

Offline

#2 2004-08-29 11:21:54

mak
Member
Registered: 2004-03-08
Posts: 47
Website

Re: Starting wdm at boot

hiho.

xdm is part of the xorg-pkg, so u just would have had to modify the initab.

maybe u should check the >xdm-archlinux 0.2-1< package in incoming,
one of the best themes for xdm ... at least for arch. wink


mak.

ps. i'm sorry can't help u with the wdm-prob. sad


$ wget -c -r -l inf -i what_the_hel.l

Offline

#3 2004-08-29 11:44:48

kpiche
Forum Fellow
From: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Registered: 2004-03-30
Posts: 246
Website

Re: Starting wdm at boot

There appears to be no startup script for wdm as you suspected.  I've never used it myself but you could try changing your inittab based on these directions: http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Sta … 0at%20boot

Then set the last line to:

x:5:respawn:/usr/bin/wdm -nodaemon -config /etc/wdm/wdm-config

The -config is necessary because the package seems to be configured to look in /usr/etc/wdm for it's files.    If this works you should update the wiki pages.  Good luck.

Offline

#4 2004-08-29 17:40:09

patrix
Member
Registered: 2004-08-27
Posts: 51

Re: Starting wdm at boot

also note that in addition to the above modification, you have to change your default runlevel to 5, in /etc/inittab.

top of the file, there's a line that reads

id:3:initdefault:

that's the default runlevel. Change the 3 to 5 and it will start wdm or xdm or gdm or whatever you define on the x: line at the end

Offline

#5 2004-08-29 22:12:24

nggalai
Member
From: Switzerland
Registered: 2004-08-01
Posts: 215
Website

Re: Starting wdm at boot

Hi there,

I wrote my own wdm script for /etc/rc.d which looks as follows:

exec /usr/bin/wdm -config /etc/wdm/wdm-config

i.e. nothing to write home about. wink Works like a charm, though. Just start it with adding "wdm" to your daemons in rc.conf, that should do the trick.

93,
-Sascha.rb

Offline

#6 2004-08-31 00:12:57

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,837

Re: Starting wdm at boot

Thanks for the replies folks.

I was only trying to get wdm going because I couldn't find xdm - now that mak has pointed me in the right direction, I'll stick with that.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB