You are not logged in.

#1 2004-08-30 22:19:35

khazdar
Member
From: ohio
Registered: 2003-11-06
Posts: 123

pacman is not upgrading

pacman isnt seeing package updates. i tried doing a pacman -Vcc, pacman -S. nothing. I tried to upgrade the HWD package and it says  hwd-2.4-1: is up to date.  Upgrade anyway? [Y/n]
even though 3.0 of hwd is available.

this is what i get when i do a pacman -Syu

[root@entropy etc]# pacman -Syu
:: Synchronizing package databases...
nptl                     [#############################################################################################] 100%       0K     3.1K/s  00:00:00
current                  [#############################################################################################] 100%      38K    67.1K/s  00:00:00
extra                    [#############################################################################################] 100%     147K    41.5K/s  00:00:03
:: gdm-2.6.0.4-1: local version is newer
:: gnome-common-2.4.0-4: local version is newer
:: gnome-python-2.0.3-1: local version is newer
:: gstreamer-0.8.5-1: local version is newer
:: guile-1.6.4-2: local version is newer
:: kernel26-2.6.7-1: ignoring package upgrade (2.6.8.1-3)
:: mplayer-plugin-2.66-1: local version is newer
:: Above packages will be skipped.  To manually upgrade use 'pacman -S <pkg>'

#
# /etc/pacman.conf
#
# NOTE: If you find a mirror that is geographically close to you, please
#       move it to the top of the server list, so pacman will choose it
#       first.
#
# To re-sort your mirror lists by ping/traceroute results, use the
# /usr/bin/sortmirrors.pl script.  It requires the "netselect" package.
#
#     # sortmirrors.pl </etc/pacman.conf >pacman.conf.new
#

# See the pacman manpage for option directives

#
# GENERAL OPTIONS
#
[options]
LogFile     = /var/log/pacman.log
NoUpgrade   = etc/passwd etc/group etc/shadow
NoUpgrade   = etc/fstab etc/raidtab etc/ld.so.conf
NoUpgrade   = etc/rc.conf etc/rc.local
NoUpgrade   = etc/modprobe.conf etc/modules.conf
NoUpgrade   = etc/lilo.conf boot/grub/menu.lst
IgnorePkg   = kernel26
HoldPkg     = pacman glibc
#XferCommand = /usr/bin/wget --passive-ftp -c -O %o %u

#
# REPOSITORIES
#   - can be defined here or included from another file
#   - pacman will search repositories in the order defined here.
#   - local/custom mirrors can be added here or in separate files
#

[nptl]
Server = ftp://ftp.archlinux.org/nptl

[current]
# Add your preferred servers here, they will be used first
Include = /etc/pacman.d/current

[extra]
# Add your preferred servers here, they will be used first
Include = /etc/pacman.d/extra

#Include = /etc/pacman.d/unstable

# An example of a custom package repository.  See the pacman manpage for
# tips on creating your own repositories.
#[custom]
#Server = file:///home/custompkgs
                                                                                          

Offline

#2 2004-08-30 23:24:14

jsutnoni
Member
Registered: 2004-02-07
Posts: 105

Re: pacman is not upgrading

I had this same problem yesterday. If fixed it simply by useing a different server to download. May not be the same as you, but its a shot.


-=JsutNoni=-

Offline

#3 2004-08-31 03:00:14

ravster
Member
From: Queen's U, Kingston, Canada
Registered: 2004-05-02
Posts: 285
Website

Re: pacman is not upgrading

I had this problem too, but it happened after I had upgraded pacman after a week or two of no activity. I think this was the time when the pacman.conf was made to link to /etc/pacman.d.

Basically, I did a 'pacman -Syu' with ftp.archlinux.org as the first server(default), and after that I changed the server to archlinux.antesis.org, and have since then used 'pacman -Syu'. I think this 'problem' occured since the mirror is not as up-to-date as the main server and therefore I had newer packages than on the antesis mirror(the packages already downloaded from the main server). This resolved itself in a few days as the mirror was updated.

I've not had these messages since.

Offline

#4 2004-08-31 04:00:41

jsutnoni
Member
Registered: 2004-02-07
Posts: 105

Re: pacman is not upgrading

basicly what happened to me in a few more words. i jsut use archlinux.org as my default server now on both current and extra.


-=JsutNoni=-

Offline

#5 2004-08-31 06:54:14

Bobonov
Member
From: Roma - Italy
Registered: 2003-05-07
Posts: 295

Re: pacman is not upgrading

This is due to the fact that most ftp server do not allow to push changes, so you have to wait untill they update the mirror and some of them don't do it often.
Unless you need critical updates it is suggest to use a mirror.
Some time ago Jud had some money problem because of the increasing bandwith demand.
Save archlinux.org just for emergency.
Some of the mirror update each 24h more or less.

Offline

#6 2004-08-31 14:00:05

khazdar
Member
From: ohio
Registered: 2003-11-06
Posts: 123

Re: pacman is not upgrading

thanks for the help  8)

Offline

#7 2004-08-31 14:07:28

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: pacman is not upgrading

Bobonov wrote:

This is due to the fact that most ftp server do not allow to push changes, so you have to wait untill they update the mirror and some of them don't do it often.
Unless you need critical updates it is suggest to use a mirror.
Some time ago Jud had some money problem because of the increasing bandwith demand.
Save archlinux.org just for emergency.
Some of the mirror update each 24h more or less.

and some much less frequent than that (yesterday i managed to find kde 3.2.3 on one!!!!)

maybe someone should make a list of the times of server frequency to update


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB