You are not logged in.

#1 2004-09-13 02:47:07

dcbdbis
Member
From: Aurora, Colorado
Registered: 2004-09-10
Posts: 224

KDevelop and Automake issue

Good Evening All,

pacman'd KDevelop, and the latest automake and autoconf.

Upon instantiating a base KDE project, and issuing a "Run automake & friends"...

This is the full compiler output (not short or very short).

// begin compiler barf----------------------

cd '/home/dcbdbis/Software Development/KDBCheck/kdbcheck' && WANT_AUTOCONF_2_5="1" WANT_AUTOMAKE_1_6="1" make -f Makefile.cvs
This Makefile is only for the CVS repository
This will be deleted before making the distribution
<br />
*** YOU'RE USING automake (GNU automake) 1.9.
*** KDE requires automake 1.6
make[1]: *** [cvs] Error 1
make: *** [all] Error 2
*** Exited with status: 2 ***
// --------------------------end compiler barf

It is complaining about my versions of automake and autoconfig which are all newer. To be exact, pacman -Q reports 1.9 and 2.59 for automake/autoconf.

I went to the KDevelop site, and there was some items regarding environ varibls which I tried, but no workee in this version. But it was for a 3.04 release, not the current 3.1 release of KDEvelop.

Anyone know how to get around this issue?  :?:

Thanks!

Sincerely,

Dave Babb

Offline

#2 2004-09-13 06:50:50

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,366
Website

Re: KDevelop and Automake issue

autoreconf --force will reconfigure your config files


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#3 2004-09-13 22:40:43

dcbdbis
Member
From: Aurora, Colorado
Registered: 2004-09-10
Posts: 224

Re: KDevelop and Automake issue

Hello and thanks for the post.

I navigated to the /usr/share/libtool/libltdl directory where my configure.ac file lives, and performed a "autoreconf --force"

It found the configure.ac file, it made some changes to my system, complained about how things were underdocumented, but carried on.

In the end, no change in the symptom. Same error, same place.

Rebooted, nuked the development directory and created a fresh KDE app. The classical "Hello World" framework that most of us start with.

Same error, same location... No change.

I removed then the two environment variables in KDevelop project options, under the Make Options dialog box. These were "WANT_AUTOCONF_2_5", set with a value of "1", and WANT_AUTOMAKE_1_6", also set with a value of "1".

I also tried setting the values of these fields to "0", with the same result. In either case, KDevelop still complains with exactly the same error as originally posted. :?:

I also did an Arch install to a test machine @ my work office today, with the same results as posted here. They are very different hardware platforms, and I wanted to eliminate (although I agree that different hardware doesn't make sense in context) the off chance that something was interfering with it.

Same issue. Same error.

Any other ideas?

Thanks!


Dave Babb

Offline

#4 2004-09-15 13:18:43

Mio
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2004-09-15
Posts: 9

Re: KDevelop and Automake issue

Hi,
I had the same problem, solved editing the file $MYPROJECT/admin/cvs.sh
find the line

    automake*1.6.* | automake*1.7* | automake*1.8.* ) : ;;

and replace with this

automake*1.6.* | automake*1.7* | automake*1.8.* | automake*1.9*) : ;;

the script search for automake 'til version 1.8 but arch uses 1.9

Bye
Carlo

Offline

#5 2004-09-16 02:26:14

dcbdbis
Member
From: Aurora, Colorado
Registered: 2004-09-10
Posts: 224

Re: KDevelop and Automake issue

Thank you for your post...

I'm off to the races! And it works well.

Interesting... the cvs.sh script in the opt/kde/share ~ tree already had your suggested entries there....

It was the cvs.sh specific to my project that needed the tweaking.....

I'll keep this one handy..

Thanks again!

Sincerely,


Dave........

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB