You are not logged in.

#1 2004-09-18 10:11:30

longhornxtreme
Member
Registered: 2004-07-10
Posts: 131

Gaim 1.0.0 is out!!!!

Congrats to the Gaim team!

http://gaim.sourceforge.net/

Offline

#2 2004-09-18 10:23:44

oscar
Member
From: Linköping, Sweden
Registered: 2004-08-13
Posts: 457

Re: Gaim 1.0.0 is out!!!!

is there any reason to upgrade?
I have everything I want and need - filetransfers, buddy icons and every protocol I use, in one great application smile


To err is human... to really foul up requires the root password.

Offline

#3 2004-09-18 10:31:05

longhornxtreme
Member
Registered: 2004-07-10
Posts: 131

Re: Gaim 1.0.0 is out!!!!

I'm probly going to build it sometime later today and see if it feels any different... I haven't been able to get the file transfers to work across aolIM and my comp is set up on the DMZ portion of my router... hoping this has fixed it but i haven't read the changelog yet...

Offline

#4 2004-09-18 22:39:36

contrasutra
Member
From: New Jersey
Registered: 2003-07-26
Posts: 507

Re: Gaim 1.0.0 is out!!!!

This is just a versioning change. There's no big improvements, they're just using a new x.y.z system.


"Contrary to popular belief, penguins are not the salvation of modern technology.  Neither do they throw parties for the urban proletariat."

Offline

#5 2004-09-19 02:16:17

neotuli
Lazy Developer
From: San Francisco, CA
Registered: 2004-07-06
Posts: 1,201
Website

Re: Gaim 1.0.0 is out!!!!

contrasutra wrote:

This is just a versioning change. There's no big improvements, they're just using a new x.y.z system.

Oh, hey, that explains the sudden 0.82.1 to 1.0.0 version change that I was wondering about.


The suggestion box only accepts patches.

Offline

#6 2004-09-19 10:04:33

oscar
Member
From: Linköping, Sweden
Registered: 2004-08-13
Posts: 457

Re: Gaim 1.0.0 is out!!!!

longhornxtreme wrote:

I'm probly going to build it sometime later today and see if it feels any different... I haven't been able to get the file transfers to work across aolIM and my comp is set up on the DMZ portion of my router... hoping this has fixed it but i haven't read the changelog yet...

this is a bit off topic, but why place your computer in a DMZ?
place it behind your router, and forward any ports necessary to your computer, and you won't be reachable from the outside smile


To err is human... to really foul up requires the root password.

Offline

#7 2004-09-19 12:58:13

kleptophobiac
Member
From: Sunnyvale, CA
Registered: 2004-04-25
Posts: 481

Re: Gaim 1.0.0 is out!!!!

What if he wants to be reachable...?

Offline

#8 2004-09-19 13:01:53

oscar
Member
From: Linköping, Sweden
Registered: 2004-08-13
Posts: 457

Re: Gaim 1.0.0 is out!!!!

kleptophobiac wrote:

What if he wants to be reachable...?

he might want to host a webserver on his computer -
fine, forward all trafic on port 80 to the machine.
ssh? port 22.
bf 1942 server? 14567.
msn? 6891-6900.

it's far better to be protected behind a nat than beeing exposed to the internet directly, esp if you run windows.


To err is human... to really foul up requires the root password.

Offline

#9 2004-09-19 16:42:48

longhornxtreme
Member
Registered: 2004-07-10
Posts: 131

Re: Gaim 1.0.0 is out!!!!

I have reasons for being in the DMZ  wink

And I really don't care if anyone 'gets into' this here comp... they're not going to find anything of monetary value...

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB