You are not logged in.

#1 2008-11-05 07:21:32

Xiong Chiamiov
Member
From: central coast, california
Registered: 2008-06-18
Posts: 142
Website

new 2nd monitor - xrandr & awesome

I just bought another monitor (yay craigslist!) with the intention of having a workspace stretched across the two of them.  Both are 17-in that support 1280x1024.  I've got one plugged into the VGA port on my nvidia card, with the other plugged into the DVI (through a DVI-to-VGA converter, since it's VGA as well).

When I'm not running X, output gets cloned to the 2nd screen.  When X starts, though, it goes into powersave.  Xrandr only shows one monitor:

pearson ~  $  xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 240, current 1280 x 1024, maximum 1280 x 1024
default connected 1280x1024+0+0 0mm x 0mm
   1280x1024      50.0*    51.0     52.0  
   1280x960       53.0  
   1280x800       54.0  
   1280x768       55.0  
   1280x720       56.0  
   1152x864       57.0  
   1152x768       58.0  
   1024x768       59.0     60.0     61.0  
   960x600        62.0  
   840x525        63.0  
   832x624        64.0  
   800x600        65.0     66.0     67.0     68.0     69.0     70.0  
   800x512        71.0  
   720x450        72.0  
   640x512        73.0     74.0  
   640x480        75.0     76.0     77.0     78.0  
   640x400        79.0  
   640x384        80.0  
   576x432        81.0  
   576x384        82.0  
   512x384        83.0     84.0     85.0  
   416x312        86.0  
   400x300        87.0     88.0     89.0     90.0  
   320x240        91.0     92.0     93.0

Here is my original xorg.conf that works with one monitor:

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "X.org Configured"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
    RgbPath      "/usr/share/X11/rgb"
    ModulePath   "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/misc"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/TTF"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/Type1"
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load  "record"
    Load  "xtrap"
    Load  "extmod"
    Load  "glx"
    Load  "GLcore"
    Load  "dbe"
    Load  "dri"
    Load  "freetype"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier  "Keyboard0"
    Driver      "kbd"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier  "Mouse0"
    Driver      "mouse"
    Option        "Protocol" "auto"
    Option        "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option        "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier   "Monitor0"
    VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
    ModelName    "Monitor Model"
EndSection

Section "Device"
        ### Available Driver options are:-
        ### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
        ### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
        ### [arg]: arg optional
        #Option     "ShadowFB"               # [<bool>]
        #Option     "DefaultRefresh"         # [<bool>]
        #Option     "ModeSetClearScreen"     # [<bool>]
    Identifier  "Card0"
    Driver      "nvidia"
    VendorName  "nVidia Corporation"
    BoardName   "G70 [GeForce 7600 GS]"
    BusID       "PCI:5:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device     "Card0"
    Monitor    "Monitor0"
    SubSection "Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     1
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     4
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     8
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     15
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     16
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

and here is what I was trying to get working with both monitors:

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "X.org Configured"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
    RgbPath      "/usr/share/X11/rgb"
    ModulePath   "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/misc"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/TTF"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/Type1"
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load  "record"
    Load  "xtrap"
    Load  "extmod"
    Load  "glx"
    Load  "GLcore"
    Load  "dbe"
    Load  "dri"
    Load  "freetype"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier  "Keyboard0"
    Driver      "kbd"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier  "Mouse0"
    Driver      "mouse"
    Option        "Protocol" "auto"
    Option        "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option        "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier   "Monitor0"
    VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
    ModelName    "Monitor Model"
EndSection

Section "Device"
        ### Available Driver options are:-
        ### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
        ### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
        ### [arg]: arg optional
        #Option     "ShadowFB"               # [<bool>]
        #Option     "DefaultRefresh"         # [<bool>]
        #Option     "ModeSetClearScreen"     # [<bool>]
    Identifier  "Card0"
    Driver      "nvidia"
    VendorName  "nVidia Corporation"
    BoardName   "G70 [GeForce 7600 GS]"
    BusID       "PCI:5:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device     "Card0"
    Monitor    "Monitor0"
    SubSection "Display"
        Depth     24
        Virtual 1280 2536
    EndSubSection
EndSection

which is essentially the same, except trying to follow phrakture's instructions here.  This results in a desktop that's the proper size, but only on one monitor - moving the mouse over scrolls the screen sideways.

URandR doesn't support the nvidia driver, and zarfy seems like it would work ok, except it only shows one monitor.

I'm not particularly tied to xrandr - xinerama or somesuch would be ok, but I read that xinerama is deprecated and I should use xrandr, so that's what I'm trying.

Offline

#2 2008-11-05 11:17:05

FALK
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 2008-03-24
Posts: 95

Re: new 2nd monitor - xrandr & awesome

Tried nvidia-settings?

Offline

#3 2008-11-05 13:50:51

Frots
Member
Registered: 2008-10-02
Posts: 57

Re: new 2nd monitor - xrandr & awesome

I think you have to add the other monitor....
Here is my xorg.conf: http://rafb.net/p/l7dkzH47.html

Offline

#4 2008-11-05 17:30:37

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: new 2nd monitor - xrandr & awesome

Yeah xinerama is kinda crap these days. xrandr is better.

HOWEVER, I've noticed that, at least with ratpoison, it is easier for me just to use two different Screens. That is, I have both montiors in xorg.conf and both are listed in the ServerLayout section.

I find this easier to work with, and might be something you're interested in if you just want to distinct screens

Offline

#5 2008-11-05 22:49:25

Xiong Chiamiov
Member
From: central coast, california
Registered: 2008-06-18
Posts: 142
Website

Re: new 2nd monitor - xrandr & awesome

FALK wrote:

Tried nvidia-settings?

Oh my, that's wonderful!

phrakture wrote:

I find this easier to work with, and might be something you're interested in if you just want to distinct screens

I think this is what I want, as well.  Right now, via nvidia-settings, it's working great, except for the fact that nvidia-settings doesn't recognize 1280x1024 as a valid resolution for the 2nd monitor, even though it's the recommended resolution for it.  I managed to set it using xrandr, though, and it seems to be working fine.

EDIT:
...until I rebooted.  It's stuck at 1024x768, and xrandr won't set it higher because it's "not found in available modes".

Normally I'd just add a section to the xorg.conf, but I'm a bit lost as to what's happening in it.  Here is the appropriate section:

Section "Screen"

# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT-1: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT-1: nvidia-auto-select @1280x1024 +0+0"
    Identifier     "Screen1"
    Device         "Device1"
    Monitor        "Monitor1"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TwinView" "0"
    Option         "metamodes" "CRT-1: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

I tried changing it such, but it didn't seem to help:

Section "Screen"

# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT-1: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT-1: nvidia-auto-select @1280x1024 +0+0"
    Identifier     "Screen1"
    Device         "Device1"
    Monitor        "Monitor1"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TwinView" "0"
#    Option         "metamodes" "CRT-1: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    Modes       "1280x1024"
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Last edited by Xiong Chiamiov (2008-11-05 22:58:27)

Offline

#6 2008-11-05 23:29:37

FALK
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 2008-03-24
Posts: 95

Re: new 2nd monitor - xrandr & awesome

What about

Option         "metamodes" "CRT-0: nvidia-auto-select +0+0, CRT-1: nvidia-auto-select +1280+0"

Offline

#7 2008-11-05 23:49:41

Xiong Chiamiov
Member
From: central coast, california
Registered: 2008-06-18
Posts: 142
Website

Re: new 2nd monitor - xrandr & awesome

FALK wrote:

What about

Option         "metamodes" "CRT-0: nvidia-auto-select +0+0, CRT-1: nvidia-auto-select +1280+0"

That zooms in the screen, and distorts it.  Having +1280+1024 keeps the right proportions, but it's about twice as big.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB