You are not logged in.

#1 2004-09-23 19:52:22

matto
Member
From: Münster/germany
Registered: 2004-06-03
Posts: 88
Website

0.6 base, laptop -> unexpected reboot

hi there
i was trying to install arch from my base 0.6 cd, on my laptop (K6-III),
which worked on 2 other pc too.
Booting from cd worked fine!
then the boot prompt appears and i pressed "enter" ;-)
ok but the first vmlinuz.... line is written on the screen
then a second one and a short third (i think something like "ready.")
then suddenly my laptop reboots.....
how do i install arch in this case (mandrake/gnome/suse/lycoris working well!!!!)
greetings matto


// DAMNiAM //

Offline

#2 2004-09-23 20:11:54

xerxes2
Member
From: Malmoe, Sweden
Registered: 2004-04-23
Posts: 1,249
Website

Re: 0.6 base, laptop -> unexpected reboot

is it an i686 cpu?


arch + gentoo + initng + python = enlisy

Offline

#3 2004-09-23 20:21:02

matto
Member
From: Münster/germany
Registered: 2004-06-03
Posts: 88
Website

Re: 0.6 base, laptop -> unexpected reboot

hi!
yes i think!
i asked this question some time ago here in this forum
matto


// DAMNiAM //

Offline

#4 2004-09-23 20:27:19

xerxes2
Member
From: Malmoe, Sweden
Registered: 2004-04-23
Posts: 1,249
Website

Re: 0.6 base, laptop -> unexpected reboot

is there a way to pass  boot options to the kernel,
like acpi=force or noapic , this is just like voodoo to me so it's best some other experts answer it  big_smile
hope you manage it...

Edit: look here Matto http://murix.sourceforge.net/modulo-gcc.php
it looks like it is an i586, try fc3 instead.


arch + gentoo + initng + python = enlisy

Offline

#5 2004-09-23 21:04:44

matto
Member
From: Münster/germany
Registered: 2004-06-03
Posts: 88
Website

Re: 0.6 base, laptop -> unexpected reboot

hi again
here is my old topic
http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php? … highlight=
how do i pass boot options to the kernel??

try fc3 instead

??? smile what is fc3?
greetings matto


// DAMNiAM //

Offline

#6 2004-09-27 11:51:00

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,835

Re: 0.6 base, laptop -> unexpected reboot

fc3 is Fedora Core 3, which xerxes thinks will suit you better because your CPU is not i686. Remember, Arch is optimised for i686.

Whether it's fc3 or something else, you definitely need some distro other than Arch for that laptop.

Offline

#7 2004-09-29 01:45:43

matto
Member
From: Münster/germany
Registered: 2004-06-03
Posts: 88
Website

Re: 0.6 base, laptop -> unexpected reboot

ok, i finally downloaded all the fc3 iso files.....
but i am missing pacman :-) arent there some pacman-similar tools for i586s around ?
greetings matto


// DAMNiAM //

Offline

#8 2004-09-29 12:00:22

combo
Member
Registered: 2004-09-22
Posts: 28

Re: 0.6 base, laptop -> unexpected reboot

Hi!
i586 and i686 are Intel standards. Your AMD CPU is not 100% compatible with i686, but it's better, than an i586. So you can't use i686 apps, which use these not supported (by your CPU) commands. And most i686-optimized progz use these. So unfortunately you can only use i586 optimized apps. Of course the best is that you use k6 optimized progs, but then you will compile them yourself with mcpu and march=k6 option.
Some info in my forum: http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?t=6956

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB