You are not logged in.

#1 2008-11-14 12:09:39

gpan
Member
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2008-11-14
Posts: 32

[SOLVED] Virtualbox host interface (bridging) problem

I'm about to use host interface networking (the Arch way) in order to make communication feasible between my pc and the various virtual hosts. Previously, I have read the wiki guide: http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Virtualbox but with no result.
I have the bridge-utils package installed and vboxnet daemon loaded, as mentioned at the wiki.

First, I edited the /etc/conf.d/bridges file and removed the #s from:

bridge_br0="eth0" 
BRIDGE_INTERFACES=(br0)

Afterwards, I set up the following interfaces in /etc/vbox/interfaces file:

vbox0 root br0  --> I don't know if it's necessary 
vbox0 gpan br0

and I also added the above users in the vboxusers group.

Finally, I configured the eth0 to have static address and the br0 interface to obtain ip address automatically (dhcp), so I have made the following changes in my /etc/rc.conf

eth0="eth0 192.168.178.21 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.178.255" 
INTERFACES=(eth0 br0) 
gateway="default gw 192.168.178.1"
br0="dhcp"
ROUTES=(gateway)

The problem is that when I reboot my computer, I can't get on the net and I think it's not a firewall's issue.

Last edited by gpan (2008-11-28 14:25:04)

Offline

#2 2008-11-14 12:19:59

INCSlayer
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2007-09-06
Posts: 296
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Virtualbox host interface (bridging) problem

eth0 should not have a ip it should simply say:
eth0=(eth0 up)
and then br0 should have the ip of the eth0 of you can use dhcp if you want


dovie andi se tovya sagain

Offline

#3 2008-11-14 13:12:28

gpan
Member
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2008-11-14
Posts: 32

Re: [SOLVED] Virtualbox host interface (bridging) problem

I have made the changes you told me but I still can't access the web.

Here's my rc.conf :

# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
# HARDWARE
# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
#
# MOD_AUTOLOAD: Allow autoloading of modules at boot and when needed
# MOD_BLACKLIST: Prevent udev from loading these modules
# MODULES: Modules to load at boot-up. Prefix with a ! to blacklist.
#
# NOTE: Use of 'MOD_BLACKLIST' is deprecated. Please use ! in the MODULES array.
#
MOD_AUTOLOAD="yes"
#MOD_BLACKLIST=() #deprecated
MODULES=(mii slhc via-rhine snd-mixer-oss snd-pcm-oss snd-hwdep snd-page-alloc snd-pcm snd-timer snd snd-hda-intel soundcore floppy vboxdrv bridge)

# Scan for LVM volume groups at startup, required if you use LVM
USELVM="no"

# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
# NETWORKING
# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
#
# HOSTNAME: Hostname of machine. Should also be put in /etc/hosts
#
HOSTNAME="Arch"

# Use 'ifconfig -a' or 'ls /sys/class/net/' to see all available interfaces.
#
# Interfaces to start at boot-up (in this order)
# Declare each interface then list in INTERFACES
#   - prefix an entry in INTERFACES with a ! to disable it
#   - no hyphens in your interface names - Bash doesn't like it
# 
# DHCP:     Set your interface to "dhcp" (eth0="dhcp")
# Wireless: See network profiles below
#eth0="eth0 192.168.178.21 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.178.255"

INTERFACES=(eth0 br0)

# Routes to start at boot-up (in this order)
# Declare each route then list in ROUTES
#   - prefix an entry in ROUTES with a ! to disable it
#
gateway="default gw 192.168.178.1"
eth0="eth0 up"
br0="br0 192.168.178.21 netmask 255.255.255.0 up"
ROUTES=(gateway)
 
# Enable these network profiles at boot-up.  These are only useful
# if you happen to need multiple network configurations (ie, laptop users)
#   - set to 'menu' to present a menu during boot-up (dialog package required)
#   - prefix an entry with a ! to disable it
#
# Network profiles are found in /etc/network.d
#
# This now requires the netcfg package
#
#NETWORKS=(main)

# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
# DAEMONS
# -----------------------------------------------------------------------
#
# Daemons to start at boot-up (in this order)
#   - prefix a daemon with a ! to disable it
#   - prefix a daemon with a @ to start it up in the background
#
DAEMONS=(syslog-ng network netfs @crond nfslock @nfsd @samba acpid sensors dbus @hal @alsa vboxnet rc.vboxadd rc.vboxvfs !cpufreq @cups @smartd @openntpd @sshd @gdm)

And here's my /etc/conf.d/bridges :

#
# Settings for layer-2 bridges
#
# For each bridge interface declared in INTERFACES (in rc.conf), declare
# a bridge_${IF} variable that contains the real ethernet interfaces that
# should be bridged together.
#
# Then list the bridge interface name in the BRIDGE_INTERFACES array.
#

# example:
#
# in /etc/rc.conf:
#    eth0="eth0 up"
#    eth1="eth1 up"
#    br0="br0 192.168.178.21 netmask 255.255.255.0 up"
#    INTERFACES=(lo eth0 eth1 br0)
#
# in /etc/conf.d/bridges
#    bridge_br0="eth0 eth1"
#    BRIDGE_INTERFACES=(br0)
#

bridge_br0="eth0"
BRIDGE_INTERFACES=(br0)

Last edited by gpan (2008-11-14 13:19:07)

Offline

#4 2008-11-14 19:41:19

gpan
Member
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2008-11-14
Posts: 32

Re: [SOLVED] Virtualbox host interface (bridging) problem

I prefer the common way if it's possible! sad

Offline

#5 2008-11-15 09:39:24

gpan
Member
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2008-11-14
Posts: 32

Re: [SOLVED] Virtualbox host interface (bridging) problem

Finally, I have found the sollution by myself. The /etc/rc.conf should look like this:

lo="lo 127.0.0.1"
br0="dhcp"             # or if you want static ip, then br0="br0 192.168.178.2 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.178.255"
eth0="eth0 0.0.0.0 promisc"
bridge_br0=(eth0)
BRIDGE_INTERFACES=(br0)
INTERFACES=(lo br0 eth0)

gateway="default gw 192.168.178.1"
ROUTES=(gateway)

The above command order fixed my problem and it's not necessary to edit /etc/conf.d/bridges and remove #s ! :p

Last edited by gpan (2008-11-15 15:20:42)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB