You are not logged in.

#1 2003-07-16 13:49:47

DanEE
Member
From: Fribourg, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-07-10
Posts: 43

XFree86 upgrade (4.3.0-5) broke my X-server

I recently installed Arch-Linux (it is great btw...)
Today I wanted to make a pacman -Syu and it asked me if I wanted to upgrade xfree86 (from 4.3.0-4 to 4.3.0-5).
I said yes.
First I thought the installation was good (although it said me that it couldn't find fc-cache...)
Then for the next reboot of the X-Server nothing happened it was just giving me errors.
I found out that the the /usr/X11R6/bin directory was empty (in fact all the files that xfree86-4.3.0-5 should install in the /usr/X11R6 directory disappeard...) and I don't know why...

I reinstalled xfree86-4.3.0-4 from the Installation-CD and it does work now (as bevore).

Did I do something wrong or do you know where the problem is?

Thx in advance
Dani

Offline

#2 2003-07-16 15:28:47

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: XFree86 upgrade (4.3.0-5) broke my X-server

interesting, fwiw i installed the xfree86 package you mentioned last night and i seem to have had no troubles...yet.

(i am not saying you did anything wrong just stating that on this end everything went okay. but perhaps we should wait to see if anyone else has had this trouble)


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#3 2003-07-16 15:52:00

deepfreeze
Member
From: NJ
Registered: 2002-12-27
Posts: 86

Re: XFree86 upgrade (4.3.0-5) broke my X-server

I also upgraded last night with no issues...it did find and upgrade fc-cache for me.


My hovercraft is full of eels.

Offline

#4 2003-07-16 15:53:29

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: XFree86 upgrade (4.3.0-5) broke my X-server

I also had no problem.  A couple of things to check type 'pacman -Ql xfree86' and see if it lists files (those are the files in the package).  Also try redownloading the package (I know, it's big...) by and and reinstalling it with a 'pacman -U xfree86-4.3.0-5.pkg.tar.gz' to see if that fixes your problem.

You might also want to check the file in /var/cache/pacman/pkg/xfree86-4.3.0-5.pkg.tar.gz to see if it contains the proper files...


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#5 2003-07-16 16:31:48

hApy
Member
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-04-13
Posts: 194
Website

Re: XFree86 upgrade (4.3.0-5) broke my X-server

For me the upgrade messed with all my fonts.. which is mildly annoying. Now my Konsole font is just slightly too small whereas it was fine before. and gaim wouldn't start because it couldn't find verdana 10. I was able to get it running again by adding my fonts with KDE's font installer. But again, the fonts are slightly off. weird. tongue

Hapy.

Offline

#6 2003-07-16 17:17:04

altair
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2002-12-05
Posts: 13

Re: XFree86 upgrade (4.3.0-5) broke my X-server

I also had font issues when I upgraded to the latest xfree. Konsole had the wrong fonts, and everything else in KDE was using a much smaller font than usual. I checked my XF86Config, and uncommented the FontPath lines regarding TrueType fonts... ran fc-cache -f and fc-ache -v, and then restarted X.

Most stuff was fixed by that, but Mozilla still chokes on (oddly enough) some of the fonts on the Archlinux homepage :? 

Other than that, it works fine smile

Offline

#7 2003-07-16 17:25:10

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: XFree86 upgrade (4.3.0-5) broke my X-server

That's really weird.  I believe the only change that was made (Judd, correct me if I'm wrong) was fc-cache being added to the xfree86.install file.  fc-cache and ldconfig... but yeah, neither of those should damage your font setup, unless you've done something all custom like (warning: this is coming from someone who knows very little about fonts in X)


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#8 2003-07-16 17:36:02

altair
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2002-12-05
Posts: 13

Re: XFree86 upgrade (4.3.0-5) broke my X-server

Yeah, I'll freely admit to being pretty clueless about how fonts work.

I dunno why some fonts work now, and others don't... maybe someone with perfectly working fonts could post their XF86Config file somewhere wink

Angela

Offline

#9 2003-07-16 17:54:22

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: XFree86 upgrade (4.3.0-5) broke my X-server

bah it's probably the result of kde tongue


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#10 2003-07-16 19:36:46

jlvsimoes
Member
From: portugal
Registered: 2002-12-23
Posts: 392
Website

Re: XFree86 upgrade (4.3.0-5) broke my X-server

na na na na kde works just fine and the upgrade to xfree worked fine here


-----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK-----
Version: 3.1
GU/ d- s: a- C L U P+ L+++ E--- W+
N 0+ K- W-- !O !M V-- PS+ PE- V++ PGP T 5 Z+ R* TV+ B+
DI-- D- G-- e-- h! r++ z+ z*
------END GEEK CODE BLOCK------

Offline

#11 2003-07-16 20:03:08

neri
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, Canada
Registered: 2003-05-04
Posts: 552

Re: XFree86 upgrade (4.3.0-5) broke my X-server

jlvsimoes wrote:

na na na na kde works just fine and the upgrade to xfree worked fine here

Hmm, evrything is fine here, too. I havn't even qt installed...

bye neri

Offline

#12 2003-07-16 21:24:07

DanEE
Member
From: Fribourg, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-07-10
Posts: 43

Re: XFree86 upgrade (4.3.0-5) broke my X-server

I removed the file from the cache and simply redownloaded it. And now everything works fine.
I think the first download was anyhow corrupted. I tried it to install several times with no succes. Although the file listing with 'pacman --query --list ...' seemed to be fine. But the files in the /usr/X116R/ directory didn't get installed somehow.
I even downloaded the new file from the same server and it installed without problems now. The fonts looks as good as always  big_smile

Offline

#13 2003-07-16 22:42:50

hApy
Member
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-04-13
Posts: 194
Website

Re: XFree86 upgrade (4.3.0-5) broke my X-server

altair wrote:

Most stuff was fixed by that, but Mozilla still chokes on (oddly enough) some of the fonts on the Archlinux homepage :? 

Other than that, it works fine smile

ewww I had that problem as well.. (if it's the same one as I am thinking of) there's like a garbage character between each real character (or a space) ??

the problem has since gone away (I am using firebird now and the latest version seems to have 'fixed' it) but a temporary fix is to choose "always use my fonts" under your fonts&colors config.

or else you are experiencing an entirely different problem in which case you can ignore me. wink

Hapy.

Offline

#14 2003-07-17 00:29:29

apeiro
Daddy
From: Victoria, BC, Canada
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 771
Website

Re: XFree86 upgrade (4.3.0-5) broke my X-server

Xentac wrote:

That's really weird.  I believe the only change that was made (Judd, correct me if I'm wrong) was fc-cache being added to the xfree86.install file.  fc-cache and ldconfig... but yeah, neither of those should damage your font setup, unless you've done something all custom like (warning: this is coming from someone who knows very little about fonts in X)

Correct, the only change was that 'fc-cache' is automatically run after upgrade...  This shouldn't break any fonts.  In fact, if the fonts themselves didn't change (which they shouldn't) then the cache won't even be touched.

Offline

#15 2003-07-17 15:44:24

andy
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2002-10-11
Posts: 374

Re: XFree86 upgrade (4.3.0-5) broke my X-server

DanEE, about your /usr/X11R6/bin directory being empty - did you run out of disk space during upgrade ? Any "no space left on device" in any log ? When I had this happen, all kind of weird things, similar to your experience happened.

About the font issues, I would guess that those of  you who had font issues, had some non-standard font setup, and never ran fc-cache. I would guess if you had run fc-cache, then the fonts would have changed similarly. Disclaimer : I am probably in the same boat and still have to say yes to the xfree update ;-) ... mostly because I'm afraid of my fonts not being as they are now :-) .... and I also have never really played with fc-cache ...

Offline

#16 2003-07-18 01:03:58

Gyroplast
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2002-09-03
Posts: 166
Website

Re: XFree86 upgrade (4.3.0-5) broke my X-server

I had the exact same problem on a machine here; The downloaded file size of the xfree package was correct, but when I installed it, it always messed things up in funny ways. Then I tried comparing the downloaded package to the package I installed on my other machine, where it worked just fine, and I'll just show you the output for laughs:

[gyroplast@fennec gyroplast]$ md5sum xfree86-4.3.0-5.pkg.tar.gz
5f9a545b960e6ed52cef58419d28576f  xfree86-4.3.0-5.pkg.tar.gz
[gyroplast@fennec gyroplast]$ md5sum xfree86-4.3.0-5.pkg.tar.gz
a58dc96017fc9c182f76ee690bb29143  xfree86-4.3.0-5.pkg.tar.gz
[gyroplast@fennec gyroplast]$ md5sum xfree86-4.3.0-5.pkg.tar.gz
ca8ec889885e9054bfc18d8c4a9799b8  xfree86-4.3.0-5.pkg.tar.gz
[gyroplast@fennec gyroplast]$

None of these values is equal to the working package's md5sum, btw. smile

Well, obviously my RAM was b0rken, so that decompression filled the lousy 64MB quite easily, thus corrupting the installation in new and exciting ways. Maybe that's worth being mentioned.

Greets,
  Dennis


"That's the problem with good advice. Nobody wants to hear it."
-- Dogbert

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB