You are not logged in.

#1 2004-09-28 17:51:30

ActionNews
Member
From: Augsburg (Germany)
Registered: 2004-02-24
Posts: 150
Website

How can i find out if udev works or devfs is still used

Hello!

I'm interrested in running udev instead of devfs, so i used the udev howto from the wiki to change to udev. Now there were no error messages, but how do i know udev is running? /dev/ still seems to look like it looked with /devfs. And ArchLinux bootscreen shows still " Starting devfs deamon ..... [done]".

My lilo.conf looks like this so devfs should be deactivated, or not?

#
# /etc/lilo.conf
#

boot=/dev/discs/disc0/disc append="devfs=nomount"
# This line often fixes L40 errors on bootup
# disk=/dev/discs/disc0/disc bios=0x80

bitmap=/boot/arch-lilo.bmp
bmp-colors=1,0,8,3,8,1
bmp-table=185p,140p,1,18
bmp-timer=400p,345p,3,8,1

vga=791
default=WindowsXP
timeout=300
lba32
prompt

#image=/boot/vmlinuz26
#        label=failsave
#        root=/dev/discs/disc0/part5
#        read-only

image=/boot/vmlinuz267bs
 label=ArchLinux
 root=/dev/discs/disc0/part5
 append="video=vesafb:ywrap,mtrr splash=silent" 
 initrd=/boot/initrd.splash
 read-only

other=/dev/discs/disc0/part1
        label=WindowsXP

# End of file

CU ActionNews


[URL=http://www.nethands.de/athlon/show.php3?user=actionnews]My System[/URL] - one click ahead!

Offline

#2 2004-09-28 17:56:24

colnago
Member
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2004-03-25
Posts: 438

Re: How can i find out if udev works or devfs is still used

You are not using it yet.  You need to add `devfs=nomount' to the append= line in the kernel section of lilo.  I don't know what it does at the place where you have it.

append="video=vesafb:ywrap,mtrr splash=silent devfs=nomount"

You should see udev starting at the next boot.   `ps -ef | grep udevd` to check.

Offline

#3 2004-09-28 17:59:13

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: How can i find out if udev works or devfs is still used

try this instead:

 #
# /etc/lilo.conf
#

boot=/dev/discs/disc0/disc
# This line often fixes L40 errors on bootup
# disk=/dev/discs/disc0/disc bios=0x80

bitmap=/boot/arch-lilo.bmp
bmp-colors=1,0,8,3,8,1
bmp-table=185p,140p,1,18
bmp-timer=400p,345p,3,8,1

vga=791
default=WindowsXP
timeout=300
lba32
prompt

#image=/boot/vmlinuz26
#        label=failsave
#        root=/dev/discs/disc0/part5
#        read-only

image=/boot/vmlinuz267bs
 label=ArchLinux
 root=/dev/discs/disc0/part5
 append="video=vesafb:ywrap,mtrr splash=silent devfs=nomount"
 initrd=/boot/initrd.splash
 read-only

other=/dev/discs/disc0/part1
        label=WindowsXP

# End of file

I changed the boot and append lines from your original.  Also, remember to run lilo.

Dusty

Offline

#4 2004-09-28 19:01:40

rasat
Forum Fellow
From: Finland, working in Romania
Registered: 2002-12-27
Posts: 2,176
Website

Re: How can i find out if udev works or devfs is still used

To answer your actual question "How can i find out if udev works", take a look at /dev directory (if it looks organized then udev is running smile )

Offline

#5 2004-09-29 15:07:21

ActionNews
Member
From: Augsburg (Germany)
Registered: 2004-02-24
Posts: 150
Website

Re: How can i find out if udev works or devfs is still used

Well ok i changed my lilo.config, after reboot devfs isn't loaded anymore ... BUT udev isn't loaded either big_smile. During boot i get a "Mounting swap ..... [FAILED]" and some additional errors. There is no bash or kdm so i can't  do anything, except Ctrl+Alt+Del sad.
Fixed this by booting from the ArchLinux-CD, set mountpoints, changed lilo.conf again to boot with devfs and then reinstalled the bootloader.

Well ... what went wrong? Possible problem: i'm using the initscripts-bootsplash (brice-repo). But shouldn't influence, as they are the offical ArchLinux initscripts with enhancement for bootsplash.

I did everything as it was discribed in the ArchLinux udev howto :?.

CU ActionNews


[URL=http://www.nethands.de/athlon/show.php3?user=actionnews]My System[/URL] - one click ahead!

Offline

#6 2004-09-29 15:11:24

ActionNews
Member
From: Augsburg (Germany)
Registered: 2004-02-24
Posts: 150
Website

Re: How can i find out if udev works or devfs is still used

colnago wrote:

You are not using it yet.  You need to add `devfs=nomount' to the append= line in the kernel section of lilo.  I don't know what it does at the place where you have it.

append="video=vesafb:ywrap,mtrr splash=silent devfs=nomount"

You should see udev starting at the next boot.   `ps -ef | grep udevd` to check.

Realized later yesterday, that the second append overwrites the global settings sad. But as mentioned udev dosn't seem to load after reboot:(.

CU ActionNews


[URL=http://www.nethands.de/athlon/show.php3?user=actionnews]My System[/URL] - one click ahead!

Offline

#7 2004-09-29 17:05:55

xerxes2
Member
From: Malmoe, Sweden
Registered: 2004-04-23
Posts: 1,249
Website

Re: How can i find out if udev works or devfs is still used

do you have the latest rc.sysinit?


arch + gentoo + initng + python = enlisy

Offline

#8 2004-09-29 18:31:51

ActionNews
Member
From: Augsburg (Germany)
Registered: 2004-02-24
Posts: 150
Website

Re: How can i find out if udev works or devfs is still used

How can i test that?

CU ActionNews


[URL=http://www.nethands.de/athlon/show.php3?user=actionnews]My System[/URL] - one click ahead!

Offline

#9 2004-09-29 18:50:12

xerxes2
Member
From: Malmoe, Sweden
Registered: 2004-04-23
Posts: 1,249
Website

Re: How can i find out if udev works or devfs is still used

if you don't have it as an IgnorePkg you have it if you got a -syued system.

€ vim /etc/rc.sysinit

in the beginning you can see how the device systems are selected,

# mount /proc and /sys
mount -n -t proc none /proc
[ "`grep sysfs /proc/filesystems`" ] && mount -n -t sysfs none /sys

if [ -e /dev/.devfsd -a -x /sbin/devfsd ]; then
    # Looks like devfs is running, use it
    status "Starting DevFS Daemon" /sbin/devfsd /dev
elif [ -x /etc/start_udev -a -d /sys/block ]; then
    # We have a start_udev script and /sys appears to be mounted, use UDev
    status "Starting UDev Daemon" /etc/start_udev
else
    # Static /dev, our last resort
    status "Using static /dev filesystem" /bin/true

I'm using my own kernel that don't have devfs, but it should work with arch kernel also,


arch + gentoo + initng + python = enlisy

Offline

#10 2004-09-29 19:13:48

ActionNews
Member
From: Augsburg (Germany)
Registered: 2004-02-24
Posts: 150
Website

Re: How can i find out if udev works or devfs is still used

Hmm .... this might be the problem: rc.sysinit seems to be a bootsplash-modified version:

#!/bin/sh
#
# /etc/rc.sysinit
#

. /etc/rc.conf
. /etc/rc.d/functions

echo " "
printhl "Arch Linux v0.6 $C_OTHER(${C_H2}Widget$C_OTHER)n"
printhl "${C_H2}http://www.archlinux.org"
printhl "Copyright 2002-2004 Judd Vinet"
printhl "Distributed under the GNU General Public License (GPL)"
printsep

# start up our mini logger until syslog takes over
/sbin/minilogd

# get ready for bootsplash
/bin/mount -n -t proc none /proc
if grep -qs silent /proc/splash; then
    BOOTSPLASH_NUMBER=$((`echo ${DAEMONS[@]} | sed 's/![^ t]*//g' | wc -w` + 
        `cat /etc/rc.{sysinit,multi,local} | grep -c -e status -e stat_busy`))
    BOOTSPLASH_DELTA=$((60000 / $BOOTSPLASH_NUMBER))
    BOOTSPLASH_PROGRESS=$((65535 - $BOOTSPLASH_NUMBER * $BOOTSPLASH_DELTA))
    [ -w /proc/splash ] && echo "show $BOOTSPLASH_PROGRESS" > /proc/splash
fi

# anything more serious than KERN_WARNING goes to the console
/bin/dmesg -n 3

if [ -e /dev/.devfsd -a -x /sbin/devfsd ]; then
    status "Starting DevFS Daemon" /sbin/devfsd /dev
fi

if [ "$USELVM" = "yes" -o "$USELVM" = "YES" ]; then
    if [ -f /etc/lvmtab -a -x /sbin/vgchange ]; then
        # Kernel 2.4.x, LVM1 groups
        stat_busy "Activating LVM1 groups"
        /sbin/vgchange -a y
        stat_done
    elif [ -x /sbin/lvm ]; then
        # Kernel 2.6.x, LVM2 groups
        /bin/mount -n -t sysfs none /sys
        stat_busy "Activating LVM2 groups"
        /sbin/lvm vgchange --ignorelockingfailure -a y
        stat_done
        umount /sys
    fi
fi

status "Activating Swap" /sbin/swapon -a

status "Mounting Root Read-only" /bin/mount -n -o remount,ro /

if [ -x /sbin/fsck ]; then
    stat_busy "Checking Filesystems"
    /sbin/fsck -A -T -C -a
    if [ $? -gt 1 ]; then
        stat_fail
        echo
        echo "*****************  FILESYSTEM CHECK FAILED  ****************"
        echo "*                                                          *"
        echo "*  Please repair manually and reboot. Note that the root   *"
        echo "*  file system is currently mounted read-only. To remount  *"
        echo "*  it read-write type: mount -n -o remount,rw /            *"
        echo "*  When you exit the maintenance shell the system will     *"
        echo "*  reboot automatically.                                   *"
        echo "*                                                          *"
        echo "************************************************************"
        echo
        /sbin/sulogin -p
        echo "Automatic reboot in progress..."
        /bin/umount -a
        /bin/mount -n -o remount,ro /
        /sbin/reboot -f
        exit 0
    fi
    stat_done
fi

stat_busy "Mounting Local Filesystems"
/bin/umount /proc
/bin/mount -n -o remount,rw /
/bin/rm -f /etc/mtab*
/bin/mount /proc
/bin/mount -a -t nonfs,nosmbfs,noncpfs
stat_done

stat_busy "Configuring System Clock"
if [ "$HARDWARECLOCK" = "UTC" ]; then
    /sbin/hwclock --utc --hctosys
else
    /sbin/hwclock --localtime --hctosys
fi
if [ ! -f /var/lib/hwclock/adjtime ]; then
    echo "0.0 0 0.0" > /var/lib/hwclock/adjtime
fi
if [ "$TIMEZONE" != "" ]; then
    /bin/ln -sf /usr/share/zoneinfo/$TIMEZONE /etc/localtime
fi
stat_done

stat_busy "Removing Leftover Files"
/bin/rm -f /etc/nologin &> /dev/null
/bin/rm -f /etc/shutdownpid &> /dev/null
/bin/rm -f /var/locks/* &> /dev/null
/bin/rm -f /var/run/*.pid &> /dev/null
/bin/rm -f /var/run/daemons/* &>/dev/null
/bin/rm -rf /tmp/* /tmp/.* &> /dev/null
: > /var/run/utmp
stat_done

status "Updating Shared Library Links" /sbin/ldconfig

if [ "$HOSTNAME" != "" ]; then
    status "Setting Hostname: $HOSTNAME" /bin/hostname $HOSTNAME
fi

kernel_version=`uname -r`
if [ -e "/lib/modules/$kernel_version/modules.dep" ]; then
    new_mods=`/usr/bin/find /lib/modules/$kernel_version -type f -newer /lib/modules/$kernel_version/modules.dep`
    if [ ! -z "$new_mods" ]; then
        status "Updating Module Dependencies" /sbin/depmod -a
    fi
else
    status "Updating Module Dependencies" /sbin/depmod -a
fi

if [ -f /var/run/random-seed ]; then
    stat_busy "Initializing Random Seed"
    /bin/cat /var/run/random-seed >/dev/urandom
    stat_done
fi

if [ "$KEYMAP" != "" ]; then
    status "Loading Keyboard Map: $KEYMAP" /bin/loadkeys -q $KEYMAP
fi

if [ "$CONSOLEFONT" != "" ]; then
    stat_busy "Loading Console Font: $CONSOLEFONT" 
    for i in `seq 1 12`; do 
        /usr/bin/setfont $CONSOLEFONT -C /dev/vc/${i}; 
    done
    stat_done
fi

# Load modules from the MODULES array defined in rc.conf
stat_busy "Loading Modules"
for mod in "${MODULES[@]}"; do
    if [[ `echo $mod | grep '^[^!]' | wc -l` -eq 1 ]]; then
        /sbin/modprobe $mod
    fi
done
stat_done

# Screen blanks after 15 minutes idle time
/usr/bin/setterm -blank 15

# set things up for bootsplash in rc.multi
if [ "$BOOTSPLASH_NUMBER" -a "$BOOTSPLASH_PROGRESS" ]; then
 let "BOOTSPLASH_NUMBER -= `grep -c -e status -e stat_busy /etc/rc.sysinit`"
 BOOTSPLASH_DELTA=$(((65535 - $BOOTSPLASH_PROGRESS) / $BOOTSPLASH_NUMBER))
 BOOTSPLASH_PROGRESS=$((65535 - $BOOTSPLASH_NUMBER * $BOOTSPLASH_DELTA))
 [ -w /proc/splash ] && echo "show $BOOTSPLASH_PROGRESS" > /proc/splash
 echo "export BOOTSPLASH_PROGRESS=$BOOTSPLASH_PROGRESS" > /tmp/bootsplash_env
 echo "export BOOTSPLASH_DELTA=$BOOTSPLASH_DELTA" >> /tmp/bootsplash_env
fi

# End of file

Well then i'll stick with devfs. It works.

CU ActionNews


[URL=http://www.nethands.de/athlon/show.php3?user=actionnews]My System[/URL] - one click ahead!

Offline

#11 2004-09-29 19:20:11

xerxes2
Member
From: Malmoe, Sweden
Registered: 2004-04-23
Posts: 1,249
Website

Re: How can i find out if udev works or devfs is still used

ok,
well, it's nice to find the problem anyway,
maybe you can put udev in it....


arch + gentoo + initng + python = enlisy

Offline

#12 2004-12-18 17:06:51

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: How can i find out if udev works or devfs is still used

A comment concerning the udev wiki...

Performing the procedure as provided in the wiki...verbatim...calls for the append to be added exactly as was done by the original post in this thread.

Perhaps the wiki needs attention!


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#13 2004-12-18 17:30:49

i3839
Member
Registered: 2004-02-04
Posts: 1,185

Re: How can i find out if udev works or devfs is still used

You can set the udev_root variable in /etc/udev/udev.conf to something else than /dev, like /udev. That way you can make sure it works and has all the devices you need, before actually depending on udev.

Offline

#14 2004-12-18 17:43:12

z4ziggy
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2004-03-29
Posts: 573
Website

Re: How can i find out if udev works or devfs is still used

have u checked /etc/fstab to make sure they reflect the new partitions  names?

Offline

#15 2004-12-19 12:32:14

z4ziggy
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2004-03-29
Posts: 573
Website

Re: How can i find out if udev works or devfs is still used

and regarding the initial question, maybe "ps ax | grep udevd" is sufficient?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB