You are not logged in.

#1 2008-12-04 05:31:42

tony5429
Member
Registered: 2006-03-28
Posts: 956
Website

64Bit Flashplugin

I am just wondering when the 64 bit version 10 flashplugin will be switched to the extra repo; it's been sitting in testing for a while with only the 32-bit flashplugin available in extra..... Does anyone know what the hold up is?


Krondi: the free and ad-free music-streaming app.

Offline

#2 2008-12-04 05:42:03

jcci
Member
From: China / Germany
Registered: 2007-06-10
Posts: 185

Re: 64Bit Flashplugin

Hey man, thanks for the tip!
It is in AUR and installing with Yaourt is not so troublesome... smile

Offline

#3 2008-12-04 06:35:41

tony5429
Member
Registered: 2006-03-28
Posts: 956
Website

Re: 64Bit Flashplugin

Yeah, I just enable the testing repo in /etc/pacman.conf for a moment, install it, and then disable it again. But I was wondering when it would be switched to the extra repo.


Krondi: the free and ad-free music-streaming app.

Offline

#4 2008-12-04 07:00:22

jcci
Member
From: China / Germany
Registered: 2007-06-10
Posts: 185

Re: 64Bit Flashplugin

So far I can tell that for the first time all my critical Flash sites work well! I also didn't experience any crazy CPU usage anymore. Just a feedback after short term usage.

Offline

#5 2008-12-04 11:07:58

dolby
Member
From: 1992
Registered: 2006-08-08
Posts: 1,581

Re: 64Bit Flashplugin

Yeah thatd be great & since there is no other flashplugin package in extra for x86_64 i dont see the problem. Even if its in alpha state.
You might as well make a feature request on the bug tracker.

Last edited by dolby (2008-12-04 11:08:39)


There shouldn't be any reason to learn more editor types than emacs or vi -- mg (1)
[You learn that sarcasm does not often work well in international forums.  That is why we avoid it. -- ewaller (arch linux forum moderator)

Offline

#6 2008-12-04 11:35:30

pressh
Developer/TU
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2005-08-14
Posts: 1,719

Re: 64Bit Flashplugin

dolby wrote:

i dont see the problem.

legal issues

Offline

#7 2008-12-04 11:47:38

bangkok_manouel
Member
From: indicates a starting point
Registered: 2005-02-07
Posts: 1,554

Re: 64Bit Flashplugin

tony5429 wrote:

Yeah, I just enable the testing repo in /etc/pacman.conf for a moment, install it, and then disable it again. But I was wondering when it would be switched to the extra repo.

you could just grab it from any ftp server directly...


All design goals must be phrased in such a way that it is hard to use them as slogans to justify stupidity.

Offline

#8 2008-12-04 12:02:07

dolby
Member
From: 1992
Registered: 2006-08-08
Posts: 1,581

Re: 64Bit Flashplugin

pressh wrote:
dolby wrote:

i dont see the problem.

legal issues

Legal issues that arent a problem having it testing?
Weird..

Last edited by dolby (2008-12-04 12:02:36)


There shouldn't be any reason to learn more editor types than emacs or vi -- mg (1)
[You learn that sarcasm does not often work well in international forums.  That is why we avoid it. -- ewaller (arch linux forum moderator)

Offline

#9 2008-12-04 12:25:40

pressh
Developer/TU
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2005-08-14
Posts: 1,719

Re: 64Bit Flashplugin

dolby wrote:
pressh wrote:
dolby wrote:

i dont see the problem.

legal issues

Legal issues that arent a problem having it testing?
Weird..

no they are, we are figuring out what we will/'have to' do with the package.

Offline

#10 2008-12-04 12:29:18

dolby
Member
From: 1992
Registered: 2006-08-08
Posts: 1,581

Re: 64Bit Flashplugin

i guess similar to acrobat. sad to hear. although swfdec is a decent replacement, at least for me


There shouldn't be any reason to learn more editor types than emacs or vi -- mg (1)
[You learn that sarcasm does not often work well in international forums.  That is why we avoid it. -- ewaller (arch linux forum moderator)

Offline

#11 2008-12-04 12:47:19

iBertus
Member
From: Greenville, NC
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 2,228

Re: 64Bit Flashplugin

It's pretty easy to install a plugin without a package for the individual user by putting it in ~/.firefox/plugins or some such. I guess if Adobe is going to raise a stink about the package (which from looking doesn't even contain the plugin but rather downloads it after the fact), it could goto the AUR where people could just build themselves if having that one .so file managed by pacman is important.

Offline

#12 2008-12-04 13:08:59

dolby
Member
From: 1992
Registered: 2006-08-08
Posts: 1,581

Re: 64Bit Flashplugin

Handling everything with pacman is the ideal for many reasons.
Only exception would be some custom scripts you can put to ~/bin or something

Just for the record swfdec works better than the flashplugin blob. Ill switch to it full time.

Last edited by dolby (2008-12-04 13:10:24)


There shouldn't be any reason to learn more editor types than emacs or vi -- mg (1)
[You learn that sarcasm does not often work well in international forums.  That is why we avoid it. -- ewaller (arch linux forum moderator)

Offline

#13 2008-12-04 17:07:35

dolby
Member
From: 1992
Registered: 2006-08-08
Posts: 1,581

Re: 64Bit Flashplugin

I spoke way too soon just by viewing a couple of videos on youtube.
Swfdec crashes or pathetically slows down firefox everytime. hmm


There shouldn't be any reason to learn more editor types than emacs or vi -- mg (1)
[You learn that sarcasm does not often work well in international forums.  That is why we avoid it. -- ewaller (arch linux forum moderator)

Offline

#14 2008-12-04 17:51:42

tony5429
Member
Registered: 2006-03-28
Posts: 956
Website

Re: 64Bit Flashplugin

Yeah, I wish swfdec or gnash could compare to the blob but I've tried both and neither come close. So... how exactly do I go about requesting that the 64bit flashplugin be moved from testing to extra?


Krondi: the free and ad-free music-streaming app.

Offline

#15 2008-12-04 18:36:32

dolby
Member
From: 1992
Registered: 2006-08-08
Posts: 1,581

Re: 64Bit Flashplugin

Well, if what pressh said it true, which i bet it is, if the plugin stays on the official repos and decided that there is no problem with the license, it will be moved to extra.
But if you want you can make feature request on the bug tracker just in case.


There shouldn't be any reason to learn more editor types than emacs or vi -- mg (1)
[You learn that sarcasm does not often work well in international forums.  That is why we avoid it. -- ewaller (arch linux forum moderator)

Offline

#16 2008-12-07 18:30:15

tony5429
Member
Registered: 2006-03-28
Posts: 956
Website

Re: 64Bit Flashplugin

I posted it at http://bugs.archlinux.org/task/12355 but got the message "Not a bug, not a feature request, we are talking about this on the arch developer ML. Please follow that, but posting this request isn't going to make things move faster. " What is the "ML?"


Krondi: the free and ad-free music-streaming app.

Offline

#17 2008-12-07 19:12:31

peart
Member
From: Kanuckistan
Registered: 2003-07-28
Posts: 510

Re: 64Bit Flashplugin

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB