You are not logged in.

#1 2008-12-16 21:28:47

jai134
Member
Registered: 2008-11-26
Posts: 234

transparecy rxvt [SOLVED]

Hello. I have followed this from Arch wiki:
Urxvt in the background

With Openbox, running a terminal as desktop background is easy. You won't need devilspie here.

First you must enable transparency, open your .Xdefaults file (if it doesn't exist yet, create it in your home folder).
URxvt*transparent:true
URxvt*scrollBar:false
URxvt*geometry:124x24    #I don't use the whole screen, if you want a full screen term don't bother with this and see below.
URxvt*borderLess:true
URxvt*foreground:Black   #Font color. My wallpaper is White, you may wish to change this to White.

Then edit your .config/openbox/rc.xml file :
<application name="urxvt">
  <decor>no</decor>
  <focus>yes</focus>
  <position>
    <x>center</x>
    <y>20</y>
  </position>
  <layer>below</layer>
  <desktop>all</desktop>
  <maximized>true</maximized> #Only if you want a full size terminal.
</application>

I have also changed my autostart.sh so it looks like this:
# Run the system-wide support stuff
. $GLOBALAUTOSTART

# Programs to launch at startup
hsetroot -solid "#006400" &
rxvt &
xcompmgr -c -t-5 -l-5 -r4.2 -o.55 &

# SCIM support (for typing non-english characters)
#export LC_CTYPE=ja_JP.utf8
#export XMODIFIERS=@im=SCIM
#export GTK_IM_MODULE=scim
#export QT_IM_MODULE=scim
#scim -d &

# Programs that will run after Openbox has started
(sleep 2 && cairo-dock) &

When starting X I have a fullscreen white rxvt and not my green bg-color. Shouldn't rxvt be transparent so the green color could be seen through it.
Its nice with a term as bg but the white color is really killing my eyes. What am I doing wrong.

Last edited by jai134 (2008-12-18 13:32:14)

Offline

#2 2008-12-16 21:37:45

string
Member
Registered: 2008-11-03
Posts: 286

Re: transparecy rxvt [SOLVED]

Is your Xdefaults file getting parsed? Try changing the rxvt foreground color to red or somesuch (in Xdefaults) -- see if it takes effect.

Last edited by string (2008-12-16 21:38:59)

Offline

#3 2008-12-16 22:09:11

brisbin33
Member
From: boston, ma
Registered: 2008-07-24
Posts: 1,796
Website

Re: transparecy rxvt [SOLVED]

.Xdefaults should get read when you startx.  nevertheless, i have

xrdb $HOME/.Xdefaults

in my .xinitrc anyway, just incase. 

you can run that command in a terminal to update any changes you make when testing too; run it now then reopen rxvt, see if your green et all takes effect then if it does put that in your .xinitrc and you should be good to go.

i also have spaces between the variable: and the value like this:

URxvt*foreground: Black

but i doubt very much that that matters

edit: removed my idiot rxvt vs urxvt comment, thanks oliwer

Last edited by brisbin33 (2008-12-17 14:49:39)

Offline

#4 2008-12-17 00:09:19

oliwer
Member
From: Paris
Registered: 2007-06-30
Posts: 153
Website

Re: transparecy rxvt [SOLVED]

True ! rxvt and urxvt are totally different programs. Don't mix them up !

Offline

#5 2008-12-17 12:55:25

jai134
Member
Registered: 2008-11-26
Posts: 234

Re: transparecy rxvt [SOLVED]

I have urxvt installed and it was right that to get black foreground color I had to have space before argument. Now it is green but isn't below other apps. It is over all other and I cannot insert any text.

Offline

#6 2008-12-17 13:41:40

capnmoney
Member
From: ~
Registered: 2008-10-17
Posts: 108
Website

Re: transparecy rxvt [SOLVED]

URxvt*borderLess:true

try a # in front of this line, I don't think it works with the new X.org

Offline

#7 2008-12-17 13:42:44

capnmoney
Member
From: ~
Registered: 2008-10-17
Posts: 108
Website

Re: transparecy rxvt [SOLVED]

*EDIT*
accidental double post, sorry

Last edited by capnmoney (2008-12-17 13:43:30)

Offline

#8 2008-12-17 14:17:20

dolby
Member
From: 1992
Registered: 2006-08-08
Posts: 1,581

Re: transparecy rxvt [SOLVED]

you can delete posts you know..

edit: you cant for some reason. must be a recent change.

Last edited by dolby (2008-12-17 14:18:03)


There shouldn't be any reason to learn more editor types than emacs or vi -- mg (1)
[You learn that sarcasm does not often work well in international forums.  That is why we avoid it. -- ewaller (arch linux forum moderator)

Offline

#9 2008-12-17 14:43:01

brisbin33
Member
From: boston, ma
Registered: 2008-07-24
Posts: 1,796
Website

Re: transparecy rxvt [SOLVED]

jai134 wrote:

Now it is green

ok, that means your .Xdefaults setup is working

jai134 wrote:

but isn't below other apps

this is controlled by the openbox rc.xml file... are you running `openbox --reconfigure` when you make changes? if so double and triple check your syntax; openbox --reconfigure will catch most errors but you may be calling it by the wrong name or something...

do `xprop` from a terminal while urxvt is open; then click on the urxvt window.  this will display its WM properties.  i believe what you want to find is WM_CLASS or WM_ROLE; i can't remember.  the app name you find is what goes in <application name=""> xml field.  doing this told me to use amarokapp instead of amarok and browser instead of firefox; you _may_ have to call it "rxvt-unicode" or something, i dunno.

jai134 wrote:

I cannot insert any text.

i got nothin for this

lightbulb! i have issues starting some programs [with|before] openbox, which is what your [u]rxvt & line does.  comment that out and put (sleep 3 && urxvt ) & instead, i'd give that a 60% chance of fixing your problems.

good luck

Last edited by brisbin33 (2008-12-17 14:48:03)

Offline

#10 2008-12-18 12:01:42

jai134
Member
Registered: 2008-11-26
Posts: 234

Re: transparecy rxvt [SOLVED]

It doesn't help. I cannot write anything in urxvt. If I start it without those files active i can use it without problem. When starting it with .Xdefaults and rc.xml enabled it is over everything and dead. I'm now tying to do the same with aterm and eterm. Aterm is transparent but there I cannot write swedish characters (åäö). Eterm is not transparent and doesn't write åäö. Both of them are in the background, though.

Could it be UTF-8 thats the poblem and what can I do to check that?

Offline

#11 2008-12-18 13:31:08

jai134
Member
Registered: 2008-11-26
Posts: 234

Re: transparecy rxvt [SOLVED]

It had to be a conflict between .Xdefaults and .config/openbox/rc.xml. When I edited the line "<maximized>true</maximized> to false I can write and it opens below other apps.:D

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB