You are not logged in.

#1 2008-12-29 03:18:35

pyther
Member
Registered: 2008-01-21
Posts: 1,395
Website

Hal/policykit status?

Has the hal/policykit stuff get fixed in testing yet?

That is what's keeping me back from testing


Website - Blog - arch-home
Arch User since March 2005

Offline

#2 2008-12-29 03:27:35

bangkok_manouel
Member
From: indicates a starting point
Registered: 2005-02-07
Posts: 1,554

Re: Hal/policykit status?

pyther wrote:

Has the hal/policykit stuff get fixed in testing yet?

That is what's keeping me back from testing

what's the result of this:

$ pyther --verbose | grep 'my hal/policykit problem is'

because nothing seems to be borked here...


All design goals must be phrased in such a way that it is hard to use them as slogans to justify stupidity.

Offline

#3 2008-12-29 03:39:00

pyther
Member
Registered: 2008-01-21
Posts: 1,395
Website

Re: Hal/policykit status?

Hehe, there was a problem with hal automatically mounting usb flash media.

More specifically this: http://bugs.archlinux.org/task/12221


Website - Blog - arch-home
Arch User since March 2005

Offline

#4 2008-12-29 04:50:17

sand_man
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2008-06-10
Posts: 2,164

Re: Hal/policykit status?

I was having problems with this recently until I went back to an older version of HAL. Hope this gets fixed soon too.


neutral

Offline

#5 2008-12-29 05:01:30

bangkok_manouel
Member
From: indicates a starting point
Registered: 2005-02-07
Posts: 1,554

Re: Hal/policykit status?

Bug reported......................................[OK]
Fix/Workaround in comments..............[OK] (well, works for me...)
Machine's usability back to normal.......[OK]

No offense Pyther but if you're waiting for bugs to be fixed before enabling [testing] then it's [stable] you want to use...


All design goals must be phrased in such a way that it is hard to use them as slogans to justify stupidity.

Offline

#6 2008-12-29 05:07:58

pyther
Member
Registered: 2008-01-21
Posts: 1,395
Website

Re: Hal/policykit status?

I don't mind the bugs, however that is a really nice feature to have working and I didn't have much time at the moment to work on fixing it, the reason I reverted back to core/extra.

BTW which work around are you referring to?


Website - Blog - arch-home
Arch User since March 2005

Offline

#7 2008-12-29 06:48:53

bangkok_manouel
Member
From: indicates a starting point
Registered: 2005-02-07
Posts: 1,554

Re: Hal/policykit status?

pyther wrote:

BTW which work around are you referring to?

Comment by Filip Wojciechowski (fwojciec) - Sunday, 30 November 2008, 14:28 GMT-5
OK -- I solved this one, at least on my machines. Here is what I did:

1) Add "session optional pam_ck_connector.so" to /etc/pam.d/login
2) Every session started from .xinitrc must have ck-launch-session pre-appended, like so:
exec ck-launch-session openbox-session
or exec ck-launch-session start-wmii.sh

When all this is done the permissions seem to work as they should.

worked for me.

edit/ on 2 different machines FWIW

Last edited by bangkok_manouel (2008-12-29 06:51:40)


All design goals must be phrased in such a way that it is hard to use them as slogans to justify stupidity.

Offline

#8 2008-12-29 07:26:40

jacko
Member
Registered: 2007-11-23
Posts: 840

Re: Hal/policykit status?

bangkok_manouel wrote:
pyther wrote:

BTW which work around are you referring to?

Comment by Filip Wojciechowski (fwojciec) - Sunday, 30 November 2008, 14:28 GMT-5
OK -- I solved this one, at least on my machines. Here is what I did:

1) Add "session optional pam_ck_connector.so" to /etc/pam.d/login
2) Every session started from .xinitrc must have ck-launch-session pre-appended, like so:
exec ck-launch-session openbox-session
or exec ck-launch-session start-wmii.sh

When all this is done the permissions seem to work as they should.

worked for me.

edit/ on 2 different machines FWIW

doesn't do anything here, every other solution in that thread fails too except for telling policykit to mount no matter what user is logged in and that is nothing more then a 'hack'

Hal/policykit is broken. If it works for you then feel lucky, because it's still broken here and the fix you posted has been tried by a few people who still insist the same as me, that this issue is still not resolved. Just read the bug report.

$ cat ~/.xinitrc 
#! bin/bash

numlockx &
sh ~/.fehbg &
touch .Xauthority
pypanel &

#exec startxfce4
#exec startlxde
exec ck-launch-session openbox-session]
$ cat /etc/pam.d/login | grep pam_ck_connector
session         optional        pam_ck_connector.so

I use testing so I can offer help, but there isn't much to be done when no effort is being put into tracking down the issue.

Offline

#9 2008-12-29 07:33:26

jacko
Member
Registered: 2007-11-23
Posts: 840

Re: Hal/policykit status?

Here is my everything.log, the device is recognized, the icon in pcmanfm shows up. As soon as I click on the drive 'ERRORS' can't access drive, No such file or directory. This locks the device and won't allow the device to be turned off, it must be manually removed from the usb port before it turns off.

The device works correctly and as expected if mounted manually.

Dec 29 02:23:56 kermit Initializing USB Mass Storage driver...
Dec 29 02:23:56 kermit scsi6 : SCSI emulation for USB Mass Storage devices
Dec 29 02:23:56 kermit usb-storage: device found at 3
Dec 29 02:23:56 kermit usb-storage: waiting for device to settle before scanning
Dec 29 02:23:56 kermit usbcore: registered new interface driver usb-storage
Dec 29 02:23:56 kermit USB Mass Storage support registered.
Dec 29 02:24:01 kermit scsi 6:0:0:0: Direct-Access     NIKON    NIKON DSC E3100  1.00 PQ: 0 ANSI: 2
Dec 29 02:24:01 kermit sd 6:0:0:0: [sdb] 31808 512-byte hardware sectors: (16.2 MB/15.5 MiB)
Dec 29 02:24:01 kermit sd 6:0:0:0: [sdb] Write Protect is off
Dec 29 02:24:01 kermit sd 6:0:0:0: [sdb] Mode Sense: 18 00 00 08
Dec 29 02:24:01 kermit sd 6:0:0:0: [sdb] Assuming drive cache: write through
Dec 29 02:24:01 kermit sd 6:0:0:0: [sdb] 31808 512-byte hardware sectors: (16.2 MB/15.5 MiB)
Dec 29 02:24:01 kermit sd 6:0:0:0: [sdb] Write Protect is off
Dec 29 02:24:01 kermit sd 6:0:0:0: [sdb] Mode Sense: 18 00 00 08
Dec 29 02:24:01 kermit sd 6:0:0:0: [sdb] Assuming drive cache: write through
Dec 29 02:24:01 kermit sdb: sdb1
Dec 29 02:24:01 kermit sd 6:0:0:0: [sdb] Attached SCSI removable disk
Dec 29 02:24:01 kermit sd 6:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg2 type 0
Dec 29 02:24:01 kermit usb-storage: device scan complete
Dec 29 02:24:02 kermit sd 6:0:0:0: [sdb] Result: hostbyte=0x00 driverbyte=0x08
Dec 29 02:24:02 kermit sd 6:0:0:0: [sdb] Sense Key : 0x3 [current] 
Dec 29 02:24:02 kermit Info fld=0x20
Dec 29 02:24:02 kermit sd 6:0:0:0: [sdb] ASC=0x11 ASCQ=0x0
Dec 29 02:24:02 kermit end_request: I/O error, dev sdb, sector 32
Dec 29 02:24:02 kermit Buffer I/O error on device sdb, logical block 4
Dec 29 02:24:02 kermit Buffer I/O error on device sdb, logical block 5
Dec 29 02:24:02 kermit Buffer I/O error on device sdb, logical block 6
Dec 29 02:24:02 kermit Buffer I/O error on device sdb, logical block 7
Dec 29 02:24:02 kermit Buffer I/O error on device sdb, logical block 8
Dec 29 02:24:02 kermit Buffer I/O error on device sdb, logical block 9
Dec 29 02:24:02 kermit Buffer I/O error on device sdb, logical block 10
Dec 29 02:24:02 kermit Buffer I/O error on device sdb, logical block 11
Dec 29 02:24:02 kermit sd 6:0:0:0: [sdb] Result: hostbyte=0x00 driverbyte=0x08
Dec 29 02:24:02 kermit sd 6:0:0:0: [sdb] Sense Key : 0x3 [current] 
Dec 29 02:24:02 kermit Info fld=0x40
Dec 29 02:24:02 kermit sd 6:0:0:0: [sdb] ASC=0x11 ASCQ=0x0
Dec 29 02:24:02 kermit end_request: I/O error, dev sdb, sector 64
Dec 29 02:24:02 kermit Buffer I/O error on device sdb1, logical block 4
Dec 29 02:24:02 kermit Buffer I/O error on device sdb1, logical block 5
Dec 29 02:24:02 kermit sd 6:0:0:0: [sdb] Result: hostbyte=0x00 driverbyte=0x08
Dec 29 02:24:02 kermit sd 6:0:0:0: [sdb] Sense Key : 0x3 [current] 
Dec 29 02:24:02 kermit Info fld=0x40
Dec 29 02:24:02 kermit sd 6:0:0:0: [sdb] ASC=0x11 ASCQ=0x0
Dec 29 02:24:02 kermit end_request: I/O error, dev sdb, sector 64
Dec 29 02:24:18 kermit usb 1-2: USB disconnect, address 3

Offline

#10 2008-12-29 08:00:30

venky80
Member
Registered: 2007-05-13
Posts: 996

Re: Hal/policykit status?

how to make it work in KDE4?...I am having the same issue!


DELL XPS 1640 with ATI Mobility Radeon  HD 3670. Arch Linux KDE Minimal Install

Offline

#11 2008-12-29 08:53:39

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: Hal/policykit status?

i don't know what DE you have but if you have gnome you need hal from testing


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#12 2008-12-29 08:56:01

bangkok_manouel
Member
From: indicates a starting point
Registered: 2005-02-07
Posts: 1,554

Re: Hal/policykit status?

@ jacko: i can feel rage here smile
anyway, just 2 random, non-tech, mother-in-law (sorry jacqueline) style remarks:
- IIRC, you're not the first one having this problem unsolved using pcmanfm. did you try out thunar out of curiosity?
- seems to be a digital camera you're trying to hotplug. i once had problems hotplugging my D40x directly to my machine (wouldn't mount) but inserting the SD card directly would work perfectly. Gentoo had a kernel patch (arch did too for a short period of time) for this problem. Does the problem still exist with a generic usb stick or the SD card or any other device?


All design goals must be phrased in such a way that it is hard to use them as slogans to justify stupidity.

Offline

#13 2008-12-29 16:04:50

Pierre
Developer
From: Bonn
Registered: 2004-07-05
Posts: 1,950
Website

Re: Hal/policykit status?

Afaik this only works with KDM or GDM "out-of-the-box". Those using other methods to login have to manually start the consolekit-daemon.

Offline

#14 2008-12-29 16:46:20

bangkok_manouel
Member
From: indicates a starting point
Registered: 2005-02-07
Posts: 1,554

Re: Hal/policykit status?

Pierre wrote:

Afaik this only works with KDM or GDM "out-of-the-box". Those using other methods to login have to manually start the consolekit-daemon.

i'm using plain ol' startx...


All design goals must be phrased in such a way that it is hard to use them as slogans to justify stupidity.

Offline

#15 2008-12-29 16:52:59

venky80
Member
Registered: 2007-05-13
Posts: 996

Re: Hal/policykit status?

I am using KDM in kdemod4 i cannot still mount my usb stick automatically...I have HAL from testing and policykit


DELL XPS 1640 with ATI Mobility Radeon  HD 3670. Arch Linux KDE Minimal Install

Offline

#16 2008-12-29 17:00:15

Pierre
Developer
From: Bonn
Registered: 2004-07-05
Posts: 1,950
Website

Re: Hal/policykit status?

You have to use KDE from testing/extra; kdemod is not supported. They should have their own testing repo.

Offline

#17 2008-12-30 19:24:42

anrxc
Member
From: Croatia
Registered: 2008-03-22
Posts: 834
Website

Re: Hal/policykit status?

Is policykit a must have for hal now? Will users be able to create/compile their own hal package without consolekit and policykit?


You need to install an RTFM interface.

Offline

#18 2009-01-01 11:27:21

ST.x
Member
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2008-01-25
Posts: 363
Website

Re: Hal/policykit status?

Editing /etc/PolicyKit/PolicyKit.conf with new rules worked for me.

Offline

#19 2009-01-01 18:15:54

venky80
Member
Registered: 2007-05-13
Posts: 996

Re: Hal/policykit status?

what did you put in the file?


DELL XPS 1640 with ATI Mobility Radeon  HD 3670. Arch Linux KDE Minimal Install

Offline

#20 2009-01-02 07:59:35

ST.x
Member
From: Sydney, Australia
Registered: 2008-01-25
Posts: 363
Website

Re: Hal/policykit status?

venky80 wrote:

what did you put in the file?

http://github.com/stxza/arch-linux-conf … cyKit.conf

Offline

#21 2009-01-02 19:25:22

xaiviax
Member
From: Michigan
Registered: 2008-11-04
Posts: 282

Re: Hal/policykit status?

ST.x wrote:
venky80 wrote:

what did you put in the file?

http://github.com/stxza/arch-linux-conf … cyKit.conf

Works great here, using startx.

Offline

#22 2009-01-02 21:45:01

venky80
Member
Registered: 2007-05-13
Posts: 996

Re: Hal/policykit status?

Does not work for me here..iam using KDEMOD4 with KDM

ST.x wrote:
venky80 wrote:

what did you put in the file?

http://github.com/stxza/arch-linux-conf … cyKit.conf


DELL XPS 1640 with ATI Mobility Radeon  HD 3670. Arch Linux KDE Minimal Install

Offline

#23 2009-01-02 23:55:10

ghostHack
Member
From: Bristol UK
Registered: 2008-02-29
Posts: 261

Re: Hal/policykit status?

venky80 wrote:

Does not work for me here..iam using KDEMOD4 with KDM

Did you see Pierre's post earlier in the thread?

Offline

#24 2009-01-03 01:39:55

venky80
Member
Registered: 2007-05-13
Posts: 996

Re: Hal/policykit status?

ah ok ...sorry ya I thought the policy kit conf solved it...ok will wait then!


DELL XPS 1640 with ATI Mobility Radeon  HD 3670. Arch Linux KDE Minimal Install

Offline

#25 2009-01-03 23:56:25

Raccoon1400
Member
From: Ontario, Canada
Registered: 2008-04-14
Posts: 853

Re: Hal/policykit status?

I'm using hal in testing because of a bug in the stable hal causing me to not be able to use standby/hibernate. Hal in testing works fine for me.


Fustrated Windows users have two options.
1. Resort to the throwing of computers out of windows.
2. Resort to the throwing of windows out of computers.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB