You are not logged in.

#1 2004-09-29 17:44:31

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: London, UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,428
Website

can't switch to console with ctrl+alt+f? anymore

i installed the lastest xorg packages and i am using fluxbox-cvs and i can't switch to console with ctrl+alt+f? anymore - any ideas?

Offline

#2 2004-09-29 17:49:48

oscar
Member
From: Linköping, Sweden
Registered: 2004-08-13
Posts: 457

Re: can't switch to console with ctrl+alt+f? anymore

tried any other WM?
I think fluxbox is a over grown bug tihi :]


To err is human... to really foul up requires the root password.

Offline

#3 2004-09-29 18:15:22

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: can't switch to console with ctrl+alt+f? anymore

a bug tihi?

Offline

#4 2004-09-29 19:10:58

oscar
Member
From: Linköping, Sweden
Registered: 2004-08-13
Posts: 457

Re: can't switch to console with ctrl+alt+f? anymore

tihi is a evil form of "hhihihihhihhih".


To err is human... to really foul up requires the root password.

Offline

#5 2004-09-29 19:46:40

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: can't switch to console with ctrl+alt+f? anymore

you mean CTRL+ALT+F1
right?


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#6 2004-09-29 20:30:02

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: can't switch to console with ctrl+alt+f? anymore

oscar wrote:

tihi is a evil form of "hhihihihhihhih".

got it.... i was thinking like Hawaii-speak....
tihi laki mauii (i made that up)

Offline

#7 2004-09-29 20:42:19

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: can't switch to console with ctrl+alt+f? anymore

phrakture wrote:

tihi laki mauii (i made that up)

You made it up? It means head like a big island. (I made that up)

Dusty

Offline

#8 2004-09-29 20:57:11

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: can't switch to console with ctrl+alt+f? anymore

dibble:
some things to check:

run a "ps aux" and check to see if you have 6 gettys running... one for each terminal.

switch over to non-X runlevel (init 3) and see if you can switch there...

run the x key program (whos name escapes me at the moment) and hit F1, F2,etc and make sure your keyboard is still sending the right signals...

did you change your keymap or modmap any keys recently?

Offline

#9 2004-09-29 21:45:20

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: London, UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,428
Website

Re: can't switch to console with ctrl+alt+f? anymore

no, but i did have to make that switch from keyboard to kbd to satisfy the new xorg config...i'll try all that but i am away from my box at the mo smile

thanks for the on topic post smile

(as much as i would like to flame oscar about his/her choice of wm...i can't be f*cked.  aside from the slit hang problem i have not seen a bug in cvs that has remained for any significant time at all.  besides, it's pre 1.0, it's allowed to be buggy)

.:after thought:.
fluxbox = overgrown bug
kde and gnome = overgrown

.:after after thought:.
i see you are a gnome user, how ironic you are,  lol  lol  lol  lol  lol  lol  lol  lol  lol

ah...flame war!  tongue

Offline

#10 2004-09-30 03:13:05

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: can't switch to console with ctrl+alt+f? anymore

The window/desktop manager debate always ends with ion and/or wmi. We'll just end this one right here, shall we?

Now, lets not start the ion vs wmi debate...

:-D

Offline

#11 2004-09-30 20:10:02

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: London, UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,428
Website

Re: can't switch to console with ctrl+alt+f? anymore

doh!

saw this - had seen it ebfore but not made the leap - i have been ill...

(EE) Couldn't load XKB keymap, falling back to pre-XKB keymap

i really don't want to break anything right now some advice would be lovely smile

it works ok in run level 3 wink

Offline

#12 2004-09-30 20:26:51

bogomipz
Member
From: Oslo, Norway
Registered: 2003-11-23
Posts: 169

Re: can't switch to console with ctrl+alt+f? anymore

dibblethewrecker wrote:

besides, it's pre 1.0, it's allowed to be buggy

I've never really understood this argument. How does it matter whether the version number is bigger or smaller than one? Is aterm (which is at version 0.4.2) considerably more buggy than alsa-lib (post 1.0)?

For commercial software, the version number is often abused to communicate somthing about the quality of the product. When it comes to free software OTOH, my experience is that it's sole purpose is versioning.

(This question wanted to get out, sorry)
-bogo


All of your mips are belong to us!!

Offline

#13 2004-09-30 20:33:25

bogomipz
Member
From: Oslo, Norway
Registered: 2003-11-23
Posts: 169

Re: can't switch to console with ctrl+alt+f? anymore

More on topic; I never changed my keyboard section after I moved from xfree86 to xorg, it still looks like this:

Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier      "Keyboard"
        Driver          "keyboard"
        Option          "XkbOptions" "ctrl:nocaps"
EndSection

Hope this helps. (It doesn't, does it?)
-bogomipz


All of your mips are belong to us!!

Offline

#14 2004-09-30 20:43:59

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: London, UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,428
Website

Re: can't switch to console with ctrl+alt+f? anymore

if you have the latest xorg maybe...

i am using fluxbox-cvs, you can;t deny the right of that to buggy at least a few days of the week?

i think i have seen the fact that Arch is pre-1.0 used in it's defense of not being foolproof?

Offline

#15 2004-10-11 08:55:02

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: London, UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,428
Website

Re: can't switch to console with ctrl+alt+f? anymore

it was because i did not have write permission to /var/tmp as user so it could not write a keymap - no idea how it happened but it is fixed now!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB